St. Joseph Co. Vital Records

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 7: Line 7:
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=42 Ancestry Library Edition]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use in Library only &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Ancestry.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=42 Ancestry Library Edition]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use in Library only &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Ancestry.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=30 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=30 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf Help sheet]
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=23 HeritageQuest Online] <br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;  
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=23 HeritageQuest Online]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with library card &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Heritage_Quest.pdf Help sheet]
-
Use with library card &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Heritage_Quest.pdf Help sheet]
+
'''Library Links'''
'''Library Links'''

Revision as of 22:57, 14 September 2009

SJCPL Links

Library Links

St. Joseph County Links

Indiana Links

Other Links


Contents


Finding St. Joseph County, Indiana Vital Records

By Sara Allen

Did you have family members who were born, married or died in St. Joseph County, Indiana? Are you searching for birth announcements, marriage records, or obituaries for those family members? This article collects information on the different vital records available, for which years, where the records are located, and how you may access them (in-person and long-distance). We have included information about official vital records kept by the government, as well as alternative records created around birth, marriage, and death events, such as church records, newspaper articles, funeral records, cemetery records, and much more. With so many options listed, here's hoping that you will find the information you seek.

St. Joseph County birth records

Civil birth certificates

  • Before 1882: Civil birth records were not kept.
  • 1882-1907: Between 1882 and 1907, only some birth records were recorded, while others were missed. To obtain a copy of these birth certificates, please contact the St. Joseph County Health Department.
  • October 1907-present: Beginning in October of 1907, the state of Indiana mandated the recording of births. To obtain a copy of these birth certificates, please contact the St. Joseph County Health Department or the Indiana Department of Health.
  • Delayed birth certificates: Persons whose births were not officially recorded needed a birth certificate to apply for Social Security. They were issued delayed birth certificates. To obtain copies, contact the St. Joseph County Archives.

Civil birth indexes

Church baptismal records

  • 1830s-1980s: SJCPL has church records on microfilm from over 100 local churches. See our detailed collection guide. Lookup requests from out-of-county patrons should be submitted according to these guidelines. Generally speaking, you must know the church name, the person's name and approximate date of birth for us to search the records for you. We only have those records listed in the collection guide, but we can advise you about where other records may be located. To borrow St. Joseph County church records on microfilm from the FHL (for a fee), visit your local FHC.
  • The Northern Indiana Center for History also has church records for St. Joseph County.

Birth announcements

Indexes

  • 1831-1912: SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to birth announcements that were published in several St. Joseph County newspapers (including the South Bend Tribune). Find a library near you that has this index.
  • 1858-1981: SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to birth announcements that were published in the Mishawaka Enterprise. Find a library near you that has this index.
  • 1881-1903 (most years): SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to birth announcements that were published in the South Bend Daily Times.
  • 1886-1940: SJCPL and MPHPL have indexes to birth announcements that were published in Walkerton newspapers.
  • 1932-1962: SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to birth announcements that were published in the North Liberty News.

Lookup requests from out-of-county patrons for births found in these indexes should be submitted to SJCPL according to these guidelines.

Newspapers

  • 1831-present: SJCPL and MPHPL have, on microfilm, most extant newspapers published in the county.
  • March 1998-present: If you have a valid SJCPL library card, you may search the South Bend Tribune Online Archives from home, by entering your name and library card number at the prompt. Anyone may use the South Bend Tribune Online Archives in person at any SJCPL location.

If you know the exact date of birth of an individual, out-of-county patrons may submit lookup requests for birth announcements to SJCPL according to these guidelines.

St. Joseph County marriage records

Civil marriage records

  • 1832-1921: SJCPL has copies of the marriage records for these years on microfilm. Out-of-county patrons may submit lookup requests for marriage records to SJCPL according to these guidelines. To borrow St. Joseph County marriage records on microfilm from the FHL (for a fee), visit your local FHC.
  • 1832-1988: The St. Joseph County Archives has the original copies of all pre-1989 county marriage records, except for some marriages from the city of Mishawaka.
  • 1988-present: The St. Joseph County Clerk's Office has the original copies of recent county marriage records. The Mishawaka City Clerk's Office has recent Mishawaka marriage records.
  • Mishawaka marriages, 1980-1998: The St. Joseph County Archives has the original copies of Mishawaka marriage records for these years.

Civil marriage indexes

  • 1832-1965: SJCPL has print indexes and indexes on microfilm to marriage records. These indexes provide the bride's name, groom's name, the marriage date, and the page and volume number for the actual marriage record.
  • 1832-1882: A copy of the print marriage indexes for these years is available online in the HeritageQuest database. If you have a valid SJCPL library card, you may use this database from home, by entering your name and library card number at the prompt. Anyone may use the HeritageQuest database in person at any SJCPL location or at many other public libraries nationwide. To find the St. Joseph County marriage index in the database, select the options, "Search Books" and then "Places" and then enter "Saint Joseph County" in the search box.
  • 1860-1920: SJCPL, MPHPL, NCOTPL, and ACPL all have indexes to civil marriage records for 1860 to 1920 in print and/or on microfilm. Access to these indexes is also available in the Ancestry Library Edition database which is available at all SJCPL locations or at many other public libraries nationwide.
  • 1927-1954: South Bend Area Genealogical Society has a county-wide online marriage index.
  • 1993-2002: Indiana State Library has a statewide online marriage index.

To borrow St. Joseph County marriage record indexes on microfilm from the FHL (for a fee), visit your local FHC.

Church marriage records

  • 1830s-1980s: SJCPL has a detailed collection guide for our microfilmed records from over 100 local churches. Lookup requests from out-of-county patrons should be submitted according to these guidelines. Generally speaking, you must know the church name, the couples' names, and approximate date of marriage for us to search the records for you. We only have the records for the years and churches listed in the collection guide, but we can advise you about where other records may be located. To borrow St. Joseph County church records on microfilm from the FHL (for a fee), visit your local FHC.
  • The Northern Indiana Center for History also has church records for St. Joseph County.

Marriage announcements

Indexes

  • 1831-1912: SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to marriage announcements that were published in several St. Joseph County newspapers (including the South Bend Tribune). Find a library near you that has this index.
  • 1858-1981: SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to marriage announcements that were published in the Mishawaka Enterprise. Find a library near you that has this index.
  • 1881-1903 (most years): SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to marriage announcements that were published in the South Bend Daily Times.
  • 1886-1940: SJCPL and MPHPL have indexes to marriage announcements that were published in Walkerton newspapers.
  • 1932-1962: SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to marriage announcements that were published in the North Liberty News.

Out-of-county patrons may submit lookup requests for marriages found in any of these indexes to SJCPL according to these guidelines.

Newspapers

  • 1831-present: SJCPL and MPHPL have, on microfilm, most extant newspapers published in the county.
  • March 1998-present: If you have a valid SJCPL library card, you may search the South Bend Tribune Online Archives from home, by entering your name and library card number at the prompt. Anyone may use the South Bend Tribune Online Archives in person at any SJCPL location.

St. Joseph County death records

Civil death certificates

Civil death indexes

  • 1882-1920: SJCPL, MPHPL, NCOTPL, and ACPL all have indexes to civil death records from 1882 to 1920 in print and/or on microfilm. The indexes provide the person's name, death-date, age and volume and page number for the actual death certificate. Access to these indexes is also available in the Ancestry Library Edition database which is available at all SJCPL locations or in many other public libraries nationwide. To borrow St. Joseph County death indexes on microfilm from the FHL (for a fee), visit your local FHC.
  • Coroner's index, 1879-1960s: South Bend Area Genealogical Society has an online index to the coroner's records. SJCPL also has a copy of this index. For copies of the coroner's records referred to in the index, contact the St. Joseph County Archives. Please note that the coroner's records are closed to the public for 75 years after the event.

Church death records

  • 1830s-1980s: SJCPL has a detailed collection guide for our microfilmed records from over 100 local churches. Lookup requests from out-of-county patrons should be submitted according to these guidelines. Generally speaking, you must know the church name, the person's name and approximate date of death for us to search the records for you. We only have the records for the years and churches listed in the collection guide, but we can advise you about where other records may be located. To borrow St. Joseph County church records on microfilm from the FHL (for a fee), visit your local FHC.
  • Church of the Brethren Home deaths, 1889-1968: SJCPL has a print index to the adult deaths at the Church of the Brethren Mexico Home for Old Folks and Orphans in Mexico, Indiana (Miami County). Brethren church members from all over northern Indiana lived in this home.
  • The Northern Indiana Center for History also has church records for St. Joseph County.

Obituaries

Indexes

  • 1831-1912: SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to obituaries that were published in several St. Joseph County newspapers (including the South Bend Tribune). Find a library near you that has this index.
  • 1858-1981: SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to obituaries that were published in the Mishawaka Enterprise. Find a library near you that has this index.
  • 1881-1903 (most years): SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to obituaries that were published in the South Bend Daily Times.
  • 1886-1940: SJCPL and MPHPL have indexes to obituaries that were published in Walkerton newspapers.
  • 1913-present: SJCPL has an online index to the obituaries of people with ties to St. Joseph County that were published in the South Bend Tribune.
  • 1932-1962: SJCPL and MPHPL have an index to obituaries that were published in the North Liberty News.

Lookup requests for obituaries from out-of-county patrons should be submitted to SJCPL according to these guidelines.

  • Southern St. Joseph County deaths, various years: The Bremen Public Library has scanned copies of obituaries from the Bremen Enquirer and transcribed Bremen town cemetery records online on their website. Contact the BPL for more information; they are located in Marshall County, Indiana.
  • Southeastern St. Joseph County deaths, various years: The Wakarusa Public Library has scanned copies of obituaries from area newspapers online on their website. From the main page, click on the button labeled "Historical," to find the obituaries and other local historical information. Contact the WPL for more information; they are located in Elkhart County, Indiana.

Newspapers

  • 1831-present: SJCPL and MPHPL have, on microfilm, most extant newspapers published in the county.
  • March 1998-present: If you have a valid SJCPL library card, you may search the South Bend Tribune Online Archives from home, by entering your name and library card number at the prompt. Anyone may use the South Bend Tribune Online Archives in person at any SJCPL location.

If you know the date of death for an individual, out-of-county patrons may submit lookup requests for obituaries to SJCPL according to these guidelines.

Cemetery records

  • 1830s-1990s: The South Bend Area Genealogical Society has an online index to many county cemetery records. SJCPL has print copies of this index.
  • 1830s-1990s: SJCPL has cemetery records in print format for the following cemeteries: Brotherly Love Jewish Cemetery, Cedar Grove, City Cemetery (South Bend), Hamilton, Mishawaka City, Olive Chapel, Polish burials at St. Joseph Cemetery (South Bend), Portage Manor and Southlawn Cemetery. SJCPL also has cemetery records on microfilm for the following cemeteries: Bowman, City Cemetery (South Bend), Cedar Grove, Crumstown, Fair, Hamilton, Highland, Lakeville, Lamb's Settlement, Mishawaka City, New Carlisle, North Liberty East Lawn & West Lawn, Olive Chapel, Osceola, Portage Prairie, Riverview, Rose Hill, Sacred Heart, Salem-Smith, Southlawn, St. John's Lutheran, St. Joseph (Mishawaka), Sumption Prairie, Tutt, Ullery, and Woodlawn Cemetery. If we don't have the records, we can probably tell you who does. Lookup requests from out-of-county patrons should be submitted according to these guidelines. To borrow St. Joseph County cemetery records on microfilm from the FHL (for a fee), visit your local FHC.
  • Graves Registration Project, 1830s-1938: The South Bend Genealogical Society has an online index to this project. SJCPL has a print copy of this index. This resource contains burial information for deceased adult males (with military service information for veterans) who died before 1939 and are buried in St. Joseph County. SJCPL has copies of the actual records referred to in the index. Lookup requests from out-of-county patrons should be submitted according to these guidelines.
  • Burial permits, 1910-1929: The South Bend Genealogical Society has an online index to burial permits. SJCPL has a print copy of this index. For copies of the records referred to in this index, contact the St. Joseph County Archives.

Funeral home records

  • 1910s-1960s: SJCPL has funeral home records on microfilm for various years for the following funeral homes: Doyle, Hahn, Forest G. Hay, Haynes, Hollis, Hunt, Nemeth, Orvis, Sprague, and Zahoran funeral home. Lookup requests from out-of-county patrons should be submitted according to these guidelines. To borrow St. Joseph County funeral home records on microfilm from the FHL (for a fee), visit your local FHC.


Back to the Genealogy page
Contact us and find out more about Local & Family History Services.

Created by: Sara Allen, October 2008
Last updated by: Sara Allen, September 10, 2009

Personal tools