Reference Desk

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

Revision as of 19:14, 18 July 2013 by Kim (Talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents


SJCPL Online Resources

eBooks

OverDrive

Online Articles and Information

Many of our databases are available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card. The databases include full-text magazine and newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, biographical information and more. These databases are particularly useful as reference sources:
Careers Internet Database: Username: 440w, Password: future
Auto Repair Reference Center
Inspire
Facts on File World New Digest: includes an encyclopedia and an almanac
Gale Biography Resource Center
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale LitFinder: fulltext poems, short stories, speeches, plays and author information


Local Information

City of South Bend
Make a Difference Michiana (Local Non-Profit Organizations)
Resource Guide for Re-Entry
St. Joseph County Property Taxes Online Payment
St. Joseph County Sheriff's Sales
United Religious Community of St. Joseph County, Indiana


State Information

IndianaMap
Indiana Prisoner Statistics
Indiana State Agency Database
Indiana State Government
Indiana Wage Statistics
Indiana Statewide Voter Registration Register to vote or find your polling place
Stats Indiana

Online Reference Sources

Abbreviations and Acronyms

Abbreviations.com
Acronym Finder

Almanacs

Infoplease Almanac
Old Farmer's Almanac

Art

Google Art Project

Biography

Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress
Biography.com

Career Summaries

Braintrack
Occupational Outlook Handbook Online
O*NET Online

City Explorations

Yelp

Conversions/Computations

WolframAlpha

Credit Reports (Free)

Annualcreditreport.com

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Cambridge Dictionaries Online
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
MedicineNet.com Medical Dictionary
Merriam-Webster English Dictionary and Thesaurus
Nolo’s Plain-English Law Dictionary
OneLook Dictionary & Reverse Dictionary
Roget's International Thesaurus
Thesaurus.com
Your Dictionary

eBooks

Google Books
eBooks@Adelaide
Hathitrust
Hundred Zeros: free Kindle ebooks
Online Books from the University of Pennsylvania
Open Library
OverDrive
Project Gutenberg

Encyclopedias

Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia Mythica
Encyclopedia of Earth
Encyclopedia of Life
Ethnologue: Encyclopedia of Languages
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Wikipedia

Fiction Reader's Advisory

Booklamp.org
Fantastic Fiction
FictFact
For more information for fiction readers, please see the Reader's Advisory information on our Magazines, Newspapers and Fiction Department's page.

General Reference

Bartleby's Full-text Reference Works
On This Day in History...
Public Library of Law
The Sermon Notebook
This Day in History

Internet

Criteria for Evaluating Websites
Domain Name Owners
Wayback Machine: Internet Archive
Norton Safe Web: find out how trustworthy a website is
Snopes: "the definitive Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation"

Internet Directories (Subject Lists)

DMOZ
Internet Public Library
Research Beyond Google
Virtual Library

Language Learning & Translation

Please see the Language subject guide for online language learning resources.

Movie Critiques

Metacritic
Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
Rotten Tomatoes

National, State, County, & Municipal Codes

Contact County Offices for County Code Information
Indiana Codes Online (Ex. Building, Residential, Electrical)
Indiana Legislative Code Online
National Electrical Code Online (Must Register w/ the NFPA)
South Bend Municipal Code Online

Public Libraries

Public Libraries.com
Public library locator

Quotations

LifeQuotesLib
Quotations from Bartleby.com

State Government and Agency Information

State Agency Database: Contains valuable information from state agencies for all 50 states (courts, natural resources, licensing, revenue, etc.)

Statistics

Census Township Finder
Federal MapStats
FedStats
Kids Count Data Center
NationMaster
Population Reference Bureau
Statistical Abstract of the United States
UN Data
Uniform Crime Reports Crime statistics from the FBI
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Worldometers

Stock Quotes (Historical)

Big Charts
Yahoo Finance

Tax ID information

MelissaData tax ID lookups

Vital Records

Vital Records for each state from the Center for Disease Control

Voter and Government Information

Fact Check
FedSpending.org
Govtrack.us
National Institute on Money in State Politics
On the Issues
Thomas
Personal tools