Reference Desk
From SJCPLSubjectGuides
(Difference between revisions)
| Line 48: | Line 48: | ||
:[http://www.dogpile.com/ Dogpile] | :[http://www.dogpile.com/ Dogpile] | ||
:[http://www.google.com Google] | :[http://www.google.com Google] | ||
| + | :[http://lii.org/ Librarians' Internet Index] | ||
:[http://www.lycos.com/ Lycos] | :[http://www.lycos.com/ Lycos] | ||
:[http://vlib.org/ Virtual Library] - a subject list | :[http://vlib.org/ Virtual Library] - a subject list | ||
:[http://www.yahoo.com/ Yahoo!] | :[http://www.yahoo.com/ Yahoo!] | ||
Revision as of 14:49, 10 May 2007
- Dictionaries & Thesauri
- American Heritage English Dictionary
- Cambridge Klett Compact French-English Dictionary
- Cambridge Klett Compact Spanish-English Dictionary
- IM (Instant Messaging) & Computer Dictionary
- Medical Dictionary
- Merriam-Webster English Dictionary and Thesaurus
- OneLook Dictionary & Reverse Dictionary
- Roget's Thesauri
- Thesaurus.com
- Encyclopedias
- Columbia Encyclopedia
- Ethnologue: Encyclopedia of Languages
- Wikipedia
- World Book Online database
- General Reference
- Bartleby's Full-text Reference Works
- Know Play: dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia, quotations, atlas, countries, artists, & acronyms
- Nation Master: compare nations
- Old Farmer's Almanac
- Internet (not search tools)
- How can I find out who owns a web page Domain Name?
- What did a certain web page look like last year? Try Wayback Machine.
- Internet Archive includes text, moving images, audio, and software.
- Maps & Directions
- Google Earth
- Google Maps
- MapQuest
- MultiMap
- Yahoo! Maps
- Search Engines & Subject Lists
- All the Web
- Altavista
- Ask.com (formerly "Ask Jeeves")
- Clusty by Vivisimo
- dmoz
- Dogpile
- Librarians' Internet Index
- Lycos
- Virtual Library - a subject list
- Yahoo!