Reference Desk
From SJCPLSubjectGuides
(Difference between revisions)
| Line 14: | Line 14: | ||
::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=167 Careers Internet Database]: Username: 440w, Password: future | ::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=167 Careers Internet Database]: Username: 440w, Password: future | ||
| - | ::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=191 | + | ::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=191 Auto Repair Reference Center] |
::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=62 Inspire] | ::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=62 Inspire] | ||
Revision as of 18:07, 10 January 2013
Contents |
SJCPL Online Resources
eBooks
Online Articles and Information
- Many of our databases are available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card. The databases include full-text magazine and newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, biographical information and more. These databases are particularly useful as reference sources:
- Careers Internet Database: Username: 440w, Password: future
- Facts on File World New Digest: includes an encyclopedia and an almanac
- Gale LitFinder: fulltext poems, short stories, speeches, plays and author information
Local Information
State Information
- Indiana Statewide Voter Registration Register to vote or find your polling place
Online Reference Sources
Abbreviations and Acronyms
Almanacs
Biography
Career Summaries
City Explorations
Conversions/Computations
Credit Reports (Free)
Dictionaries & Thesauri
eBooks
- Hundred Zeros: free Kindle ebooks
Encyclopedias
Fiction Reader's Advisory
- For more information for fiction readers, please see the Reader's Advisory information on our Magazines, Newspapers and Fiction Department's page.
General Reference
Internet
- Norton Safe Web: find out how trustworthy a website is
- Snopes: "the definitive Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation"
Language Learning & Translation
- Please see the Language subject guide for online language learning resources.
Movie Critiques
National, State, County, & Municipal Codes
Public Libraries
Quotations
Statistics
- Uniform Crime Reports Crime statistics from the FBI
Stock Quotes (Historical)
Subject Lists (Internet Directories)
Tax ID information
Vital Records
- Vital Records for each state from the Center for Disease Control
Voter and Government Information