Local News Sources

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(News Database)
 
(20 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
{|
{|
|
|
-
[[Image:castle.jpg|left|110px|South Bend Library]]
 
-
"Those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it." - George Santayana<br>
 
-
"History is who we are and why we are the way we are." - David C. McCullough
 
-
 
-
Find out what happened [http://brainyhistory.com/ today in history].
 
|}
|}
{| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right"
{| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right"
|-
|-
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0"|  
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0"|  
-
 
-
''' Local News Media '''
 
-
 
-
*[http://www.radio-locator.com/cgi-bin/locate?city=South+Bend&state=IN&dx=1&locid=122912&is_lic=Y&is_fx=Y&is_fb=Y&is_cp=Y&sort=freq/ Local Radio Stations]
 
-
*[http://southbendtribune.com/ South Bend Tribune Online]
 
-
**[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://digbig.com/4ftbn SBT Archives (ProQuest)]
 
-
***[http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf How to use (pdf)]
 
-
*[http://www.webelpuente.com/ El Puente] - Hispanic Newspaper
 
-
*[http://www.whme.com/ WHME TV 46]
 
-
*[http://wndu.com/ WNDU (NBC)]
 
-
*[http://www.wnit.org/ WNIT (PBS)]
 
-
**[http://www.wnit.org/Local/index.html Locally Produced Programs]
 
-
*[http://www.wsbt.com/ WSBT (CBS)]
 
-
*[http://www.fox28.com/ WSJV (Fox)]
 
''' National News Media '''
''' National News Media '''
Line 46: Line 27:
*[http://www.nytimes.com/ New York Times]
*[http://www.nytimes.com/ New York Times]
*[http://www.nilesstar.com Niles Daily Star]
*[http://www.nilesstar.com Niles Daily Star]
 +
*[http://www.usatoday.com/ USA Today]
*[http://online.wsj.com/public/us Wall Street Journal Online]
*[http://online.wsj.com/public/us Wall Street Journal Online]
*[http://www.washingtonpost.com/ Washington Post]
*[http://www.washingtonpost.com/ Washington Post]
''' Right Now in South Bend '''
''' Right Now in South Bend '''
-
*[http://www.livethelegends.org/ Convention & Visitors Bureau]
+
*[http://www.downtownsouthbend.com/news.php Downtown South Bend]
*[http://www.wndu.com/closings School Closings - WNDU]
*[http://www.wndu.com/closings School Closings - WNDU]
-
*[http://www.wsbt.com/weather/closings/1802647.html School Closings - WSBT]
+
*[http://www.wsbt.com/weather/closings/ School Closings - WSBT]
*[http://www.in.gov/isp/2332.htm Road Conditions] or call Indiana<br> State Police at 1-800-261-7623
*[http://www.in.gov/isp/2332.htm Road Conditions] or call Indiana<br> State Police at 1-800-261-7623
*[http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/local/46601?lswe=46601&lwsa=Weather36HourBusinessTravelerCommand&from=whatwher Weather Forecast]
*[http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/local/46601?lswe=46601&lwsa=Weather36HourBusinessTravelerCommand&from=whatwher Weather Forecast]
Line 59: Line 41:
== News ==
== News ==
 +
 +
=== Community Connection ===
 +
The Library maintains a list of nonprofit and social service organizations and clubs  [http://www2.sjcpl.lib.in.us/cc/home.php Community Connection] includes information for everything from the local Kiwanis and Lion's Clubs to gardening, food pantries, and more!
 +
=== United Way ===
=== United Way ===
-
[[Image:211 logo.gif|left|100px|211 logo]] The [http://www.uwsjc.org/ United Way of St. Joseph County] has launched a new service for seniors and others who need help contacting social service agencies.  The [http://www.informationandreferral.org/ 211 Information and Referral Service] has information on locating services throughout St. Joseph and Marshall Counties.  Whether you need assistance with food, housing, clothing, or child care, just dial "211."   
+
The [http://www.uwsjc.org/ United Way of St. Joseph County] has launched a new service for seniors and others who need help contacting social service agencies.  The [http://www.informationandreferral.org/ 211 Information and Referral Service] has information on locating services throughout St. Joseph and Marshall Counties.  Whether you need assistance with food, housing, clothing, or child care, just dial "211."   
Update:  Occasionally the 2-1-1 number doesn't ring through.  When this happens, call the United Way of St. Joseph County at (574) 232-8201 and ask to be transferred to 211.
Update:  Occasionally the 2-1-1 number doesn't ring through.  When this happens, call the United Way of St. Joseph County at (574) 232-8201 and ask to be transferred to 211.
-
=== Community Connection ===
+
=== Make a Difference Michiana ===
-
The Library maintains a list of nonprofit and social service organizations and clubs  [http://www2.sjcpl.lib.in.us/cc/home.php Community Connection] includes information for everything from the local Kiwanis and Lion's Clubs to gardening, food pantries, and more!
+
-
 
+
-
=== We all want to Make a Difference ===
+
[http://makeadifferencemichiana.org/ Make a Difference Michiana] is a new website that is a central source of information about non-profit organizations in South Bend and surrounding counties.
[http://makeadifferencemichiana.org/ Make a Difference Michiana] is a new website that is a central source of information about non-profit organizations in South Bend and surrounding counties.
-
 
+
=== Local News Media ===
-
=== Conventions & Visitors ===
+
*[http://www.radio-locator.com/cgi-bin/locate?city=South+Bend&state=IN&dx=1&locid=122912&is_lic=Y&is_fx=Y&is_fb=Y&is_cp=Y&sort=freq/ Local Radio Stations]
-
The South Bend & Mishawaka [http://www.livethelegends.org/ Convention & Visitors Bureau] has information about events happening in the area.
+
*[http://southbendtribune.com/ South Bend Tribune Online]
 +
**[http://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/InfoWeb?p_product=NewsBank&p_action=explore&p_theme=aggregated5&p_nbid=T6DQ59DOMTM1MTYxOTgyMS44OTQzNjM6MToxMjo3Mi4yMi4xMDYuNDc&p_clear_search=&s_search_type=keyword&s_category=none&d_refprod=NEWSARCHIVES&f_clearContext=yes&f_clearSearch=yes&d_place=SBTS/ SBT Archives (NewsBank)]
 +
*[http://www.webelpuente.com/ El Puente] - Hispanic Newspaper
 +
*[http://www.whme.com/ WHME TV 46]
 +
*[http://wndu.com/ WNDU (NBC)]
 +
*[http://www.wnit.org/ WNIT (PBS)]
 +
**[http://www.wnit.org/local.html Locally Produced Programs]
 +
*[http://www.wsbt.com/ WSBT (CBS)]
 +
*[http://www.fox28.com/ WSJV (Fox)]
=== School Information & News ===  
=== School Information & News ===  
-
{|
 
-
|
 
-
[http://www.sbcsc.k12.in.us/ South Bend Community Schools]
 
-
[http://www.stjoehigh.com/ St. Joseph High School (South Bend)]
+
*[https://www.iusb.edu/news/ IU South Bend News]
 +
*[http://www.jgsc.k12.in.us/ John Glenn Community Schools]
 +
*[http://www.npusc.k12.in.us/ New Prairie United School Corporation]
 +
*[http://newsinfo.nd.edu/ Notre Dame News]
 +
*[http://www.phm.k12.in.us/ Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation]
 +
*[http://www.mishawaka.k12.in.us/ School City of Mishawaka]
 +
*[http://www.sbcsc.k12.in.us/ South Bend Community Schools]
 +
*[http://www.stjoe.k12.in.us/ St. Joseph High School (South Bend)]
-
[http://www.phm.k12.in.us/ Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation]
+
=== News Database ===
-
 
+
*[http://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/InfoWeb?p_product=NewsBank&p_theme=aggregated5&p_action=explore&d_loc=&d_fmt=&d_custom=AMNP&d_list=&d_place=&d_selLoc=&d_selFmt=&d_selSrc=/ America's News Magazines (NewsBank)]
-
[http://www.mishawaka.k12.in.us/ School City of Mishawaka]  
+
*[http://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/HistArchive?p_product=CTHA&p_action=keyword&p_theme=ctha&p_nbid=E64L50WFMTM1MTYyMDk0MS42MDQ5OTg6MToxMjo3Mi4yMi4xMDYuNDc&p_clear_search=&s_search_type=keyword&s_category=none&d_refprod=CTHA/ Chicago Tribune Historical Archive]
-
 
+
*[http://access.newspaperarchive.com/ NewspaperARCHIVE]
-
[http://www.jgsc.k12.in.us/ John Glenn Community Schools]
+
*[http://query.nytimes.com/search/sitesearch/?srchst=nyt&&srcht=a&srchr=n/ The New York Times (1981-present)]
-
 
+
*[http://query.nytimes.com/search/sitesearch/?srchst=p/ The New York Times (Historical)]
-
[http://www.npusc.k12.in.us/ New Prairie United School Corporation]
+
*[http://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/InfoWeb?p_product=NewsBank&p_action=explore&p_theme=aggregated5&p_nbid=T6DQ59DOMTM1MTYxOTgyMS44OTQzNjM6MToxMjo3Mi4yMi4xMDYuNDc&p_clear_search=&s_search_type=keyword&s_category=none&d_refprod=NEWSARCHIVES&f_clearContext=yes&f_clearSearch=yes&d_place=SBTS/ SBT Archives (NewsBank)]
-
|}
+
== Transportation News ==
== Transportation News ==
=== South Bend Regional Airport ===
=== South Bend Regional Airport ===
-
[http://www.sbnair.com/Airport/News.php News] and latest information about the airport expansion.  
+
*[http://www.flysbn.com/ News] and latest information about the airport expansion.
===South Shore===
===South Shore===
-
[http://www.nictd.com/ South Shore Rail Line] information and schedule.
+
*[http://www.nictd.com/ South Shore Rail Line] information and schedule.
 +
 
 +
[[Category:News & Entertainment]]

Latest revision as of 16:43, 15 August 2013

National News Media

Newspapers

Right Now in South Bend

Contents


News

Community Connection

The Library maintains a list of nonprofit and social service organizations and clubs Community Connection includes information for everything from the local Kiwanis and Lion's Clubs to gardening, food pantries, and more!

United Way

The United Way of St. Joseph County has launched a new service for seniors and others who need help contacting social service agencies. The 211 Information and Referral Service has information on locating services throughout St. Joseph and Marshall Counties. Whether you need assistance with food, housing, clothing, or child care, just dial "211."

Update: Occasionally the 2-1-1 number doesn't ring through. When this happens, call the United Way of St. Joseph County at (574) 232-8201 and ask to be transferred to 211.

Make a Difference Michiana

Make a Difference Michiana is a new website that is a central source of information about non-profit organizations in South Bend and surrounding counties.

Local News Media

School Information & News

News Database

Transportation News

South Bend Regional Airport

  • News and latest information about the airport expansion.

South Shore

Personal tools