Local History

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(25 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 3: Line 3:
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | '''Subscription Databases'''
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | '''Subscription Databases'''
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=27 Chicago Tribune (1858-1985)]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=123 Chicago Tribune (1858-1985)]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp;  [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Sanborn_Maps.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp;  [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Sanborn_Maps.pdf Help sheet]
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=30 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf Help sheet]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=114 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card  
'''St. Joseph County Links'''
'''St. Joseph County Links'''
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/1875Atlas/ 1875 Atlas Online]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=124 1875 Atlas Online]
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/1936Atlas/ 1936 Platbook Online]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=125 1936 Platbook Online]
*[http://www.iusb.edu/~libg/archives/index.shtml IUSB Archives]
*[http://www.iusb.edu/~libg/archives/index.shtml IUSB Archives]
*[http://www.hlcm.org/htlm/archives.html Lindahl Children's Museum Archives]
*[http://www.hlcm.org/htlm/archives.html Lindahl Children's Museum Archives]
-
*[http://www.mphpl.org/genealogy.htm Mishawaka-Penn-Harris Public Library]
+
*[http://www.mphpl.org/newSite/AdultServices/adult_geneaology.html Mishawaka-Penn-Harris Public Library]
*[http://www.centerforhistory.org/ Northern Indiana Center for History]
*[http://www.centerforhistory.org/ Northern Indiana Center for History]
*[http://www.nd.edu/~archives Notre Dame University Archives]
*[http://www.nd.edu/~archives Notre Dame University Archives]
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=36 Obituary Index] &nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf Help sheet]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=126 Obituary Index] &nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/ St. Joseph County Government]
*[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/ St. Joseph County Government]
*[http://www.saintmarys.edu/%7Elibrary/Archives/archives.htm Saint Mary's College Archives]
*[http://www.saintmarys.edu/%7Elibrary/Archives/archives.htm Saint Mary's College Archives]
-
*[http://www.libraryforlife.org/servicenotes/index.php Service Notes Index]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=53 Service Notes Index]
-
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=318&TS=1144846645&clientId=18373&VType=PQD&VName=PQD&VInst=PROD&pmid=7732&PageNum=1 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf Help sheet]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=114 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card  
-
*[http://www.walkerton.org/society.shtml Walkerton Area Historical Society]
+
*[http://www.walkerton.org/history.html Walkerton Area Historical Society]
'''Indiana Links'''
'''Indiana Links'''
Line 26: Line 26:
*[http://www.indianahistory.org/ Indiana Historical Society]
*[http://www.indianahistory.org/ Indiana Historical Society]
*[http://www.letrs.indiana.edu/inmh/ Indiana Magazine of History Index]
*[http://www.letrs.indiana.edu/inmh/ Indiana Magazine of History Index]
-
*[http://www.in.gov/icpr/archives/databases Indiana State Archives Databases]
+
*[http://www.in.gov/icpr/2355.htm Indiana State Archives Online Indexes]
-
*[http://www.in.gov/library/www/isl/whoweare/indiana.html Indiana State Library - History]
+
*[http://www.in.gov/library/indiana.htm Indiana State Library - Genealogy Collection]
 +
*[http://www.in.gov/library/indiana.htm Indiana State Library - Indiana Collection]
*[http://www.in.gov/ism/ Indiana State Museum]
*[http://www.in.gov/ism/ Indiana State Museum]
*[http://www.in.gov/iwm/ Indiana War Memorials]
*[http://www.in.gov/iwm/ Indiana War Memorials]
Line 34: Line 35:
|}
|}
__TOC__
__TOC__
 +
==[[About Local & Family History Services | About Local & Family History Services]]==
== Help sheets for databases ==
== Help sheets for databases ==
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 Digital Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (1867-1970) ] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Sanborn_Maps.pdf help sheet]
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 Digital Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (1867-1970) ] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Sanborn_Maps.pdf help sheet]
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=36 Obituary Index] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf help sheet]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=126 Obituary Index] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf help sheet]
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=30 South Bend Tribune Online Archives] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf help sheet]
+
Line 51: Line 52:
-
For those who want a more comprehensive look at the county pick up a copy of either Timothy Howard’s or Chapman & Co.’s histories of St. Joseph County.  The [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=history+of+st.+joseph+county+indiana+together&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Chapman history] was published in 1880 and the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/ta+history+of+st.+joseph+county+indiana/thistory+of+st+joseph+county+indiana/1%2C2%2C7%2CB/exact&FF=thistory+of+st+joseph+county+indiana&1%2C6%2C Howard history] in 1907.  While both are great research sources, Howard was written by a local resident and gives even greater detail on specifics such as early history, topography, county businesses, railroads, rivers, bridges, towns (both incorporated and unincorporated), and so much more!  Perhaps the greatest aspects to Howard’s history are the remarkable biographical sketches of county residents, including many pioneer families that were the first settlers of St. Joseph County.  Stunning photographic images accompany most of these profiles and make it a must-read for both historians and genealogists.   
+
For those who want a more comprehensive look at the county pick up a copy of either Timothy Howard’s or Chapman & Co.’s histories of St. Joseph County.  The [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=history+of+st.+joseph+county+indiana+together&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Chapman history] was published in 1880 and the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=X&searcharg=history+st.+joseph+county+indiana+timothy+howard&searchscope=2&sortdropdown=-&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=ta+history+of+st.+joseph+county+indiana Howard history] in 1907.  While both are great research sources, Howard was written by a local resident and gives even greater detail on specifics such as early history, topography, county businesses, railroads, rivers, bridges, towns (both incorporated and unincorporated), and so much more!  Perhaps the greatest aspects to Howard’s history are the remarkable biographical sketches of county residents, including many pioneer families that were the first settlers of St. Joseph County.  Stunning photographic images accompany most of these profiles and make it a must-read for both historians and genealogists.   
[[Image:danielsoncover.jpg|left]]
[[Image:danielsoncover.jpg|left]]
-
If you are interested specifically in the history of South Bend, take a look at [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tSouth+Bend+and+The+Men+Who+Made+It/tsouth+bend+and+the+men+who+made+it/-2%2C0%2C0%2CB/exact&FF=tsouth+bend+and+the+men+who+have+made+it+historical+descriptive+biographical&1%2C2%2C/indexsort=- <i>South Bend and the Men Who Have Made It</i>], compiled by Anderson and Cooley; [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=a&searcharg=danielson%2C+kay+marnon&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search <i>Images of America: South Bend, Indiana</i>], by Kay Marnon Danielson; [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=south+bend+crossroads+of+commerce&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search <i>South Bend:  Crossroads of Commerce</i>], by John Palmer; and the works of Jack Detzler: [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tSouth+Bend%2C+1900-+1910%3A+The+Awakening+of+a+Small+Town/tsouth+bend+1900+1910+the+awakening+of+a+small+town/1%2C1%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tsouth+bend+1900+1910+the+awakening+of+a+small+town&2%2C%2C2 <i>South Bend, 1900- 1910: The Awakening of a Small Town</i>], [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=South+Bend%2C+1910+%96+1920%3A+A+Decade+Dedicated+to+Reform&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search <i>South Bend, 1910 – 1920: A Decade Dedicated to Reform</i>], and [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=South+Bend%2C+1920+%96+1930%3A+The+Emergence+of+a+City&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search <i>South Bend, 1920 – 1930: The Emergence of a City</i>].
+
If you are interested specifically in the history of South Bend, take a look at [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=X&searcharg=South+Bend+Men+Made+It&searchscope=2&sortdropdown=-&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=tSouth+Bend+and+The+Men+Who+Made+It <i>South Bend and the Men Who Have Made It</i>], compiled by Anderson and Cooley; [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=a&searcharg=danielson%2C+kay+marnon&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search <i>Images of America: South Bend, Indiana</i>], by Kay Marnon Danielson; [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=south+bend+crossroads+of+commerce&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search <i>South Bend:  Crossroads of Commerce</i>], by John Palmer; and the works of Jack Detzler: [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=south+bend+1900+-+1910&searchscope=2&sortdropdown=-&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=tsouth+bend+1910+-+1920 <i>South Bend, 1900 - 1910: The Awakening of a Small Town</i>], [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=South+Bend%2C+1910+%96+1920%3A+A+Decade+Dedicated+to+Reform&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search <i>South Bend, 1910 – 1920: A Decade Dedicated to Reform</i>], and [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=South+Bend%2C+1920+%96+1930%3A+The+Emergence+of+a+City&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search <i>South Bend, 1920 – 1930: The Emergence of a City</i>].
Line 65: Line 66:
-
For more detailed information on individuals and the land they owned turn to the historic atlases of [http://www.sjcpl.org/1875atlas/ 1875], [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tStandard+atlas+of+St.+Joseph+County%2C+Indiana/tstandard+atlas+of+st+joseph+county+indiana/1%2C2%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tstandard+atlas+of+st+joseph+county+indiana+including+a+plat+book+of+the+villages+cities+and+townships+of+the+county&1%2C1%2C 1895], [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tStandard+atlas+of+St.+Joseph+County%2C+Indiana/tstandard+atlas+of+st+joseph+county+indiana/1%2C2%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tstandard+atlas+of+st+joseph+county+indiana&1%2C1%2C 1911], and [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=Atlas+and+plat+book+of+St.+Joseph+County%2C+Indiana%2C+1929&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search 1929].  The [http://www.sjcpl.org/1875atlas/ 1875 Atlas] can now be read and searched online from home--just [http://www.sjcpl.org/1875atlas click here] to see it!.  If you’re searching for individual homes or businesses go to our [http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 online database of historic Sanborn Fire Maps].  You can use this database at home too.
+
For more detailed information on individuals and the land they owned turn to the historic atlases of [http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=124 1875], [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tStandard+atlas+of+St.+Joseph+County%2C+Indiana/tstandard+atlas+of+st+joseph+county+indiana/1%2C2%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tstandard+atlas+of+st+joseph+county+indiana+including+a+plat+book+of+the+villages+cities+and+townships+of+the+county&1%2C1%2C 1895], [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tStandard+atlas+of+St.+Joseph+County%2C+Indiana/tstandard+atlas+of+st+joseph+county+indiana/1%2C2%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tstandard+atlas+of+st+joseph+county+indiana&1%2C1%2C 1911], [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=Atlas+and+plat+book+of+St.+Joseph+County%2C+Indiana%2C+1929&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search 1929], and [http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=125 1936].  The [http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=124 1875 Atlas] can now be read and searched online from home--just [http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=124 click here] to see it!.  If you’re searching for individual homes or businesses go to our [http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 online database of historic Sanborn Fire Maps].  You can use this database at home too.
Line 78: Line 79:
By John Kovach
By John Kovach
-
[[House Research | Click here to read this story.]]
+
[[House Research | Click here to read this article.]]
<br />
<br />
 +
=== [[History Homework | History Homework Help]] ===
=== [[History Homework | History Homework Help]] ===
By Libby Feil
By Libby Feil
-
[[History Homework | Click here to read this story.]]
+
[[History Homework | Click here to read this article.]]
 +
 
 +
<br />
 +
 
 +
=== [[Metal Detectors | Finding Hidden History with Metal Detectors]] ===
 +
By Libby Feil
 +
 
 +
[[Metal Detectors | Click here to read this article.]]
<br />
<br />
-
=== [[Metal Detectors | Finding Hidden History]] ===
+
=== [[Local Authors Collection]] ===
By Libby Feil
By Libby Feil
-
[[Metal Detectors | Click here to read this story.]]
+
[[Local Authors Collection | Click here to read this article.]]
<br />
<br />
<br />
<br />
-
Last updated by:  [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], February 8, 2008
+
[[About Local & Family History Services | Contact and find out more about Local & Family History Services]]<br />
 +
Created by: Libby Feil, October 2005<br />
 +
Last updated June 2, 2011
-
[[Category:Local/State Info]]
 
[[Category:Hobbies]]
[[Category:Hobbies]]
[[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]
[[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]

Revision as of 17:54, 9 June 2011

Subscription Databases

St. Joseph County Links

Indiana Links

Contents

About Local & Family History Services

Help sheets for databases


Articles

Getting Started in Local History

By Franklin Sheneman

Southbendmap1875.jpg

If you are interested in doing research on the 175 years of history of South Bend and St. Joseph County, there’s no better place to turn than the St. Joseph County Public Library! Local & Family History Services has a wealth of information to aid you in your research. From the novice historian to academic researchers there is something for everyone in our collection!


We have several books that give a variety of information on cities, towns and townships located within St. Joseph County. If you would like to start off with a quick overview of the area you might start with A Historic Background of South Bend and St. Joseph County in Northern Indiana. This 70-page book was originally published in 1927 by the local Schuyler Colfax Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution. It chronicles the early history of the area when French fur traders first came to the area and discusses the individuals and events that helped shape the community.


For those who want a more comprehensive look at the county pick up a copy of either Timothy Howard’s or Chapman & Co.’s histories of St. Joseph County. The Chapman history was published in 1880 and the Howard history in 1907. While both are great research sources, Howard was written by a local resident and gives even greater detail on specifics such as early history, topography, county businesses, railroads, rivers, bridges, towns (both incorporated and unincorporated), and so much more! Perhaps the greatest aspects to Howard’s history are the remarkable biographical sketches of county residents, including many pioneer families that were the first settlers of St. Joseph County. Stunning photographic images accompany most of these profiles and make it a must-read for both historians and genealogists.


Danielsoncover.jpg

If you are interested specifically in the history of South Bend, take a look at South Bend and the Men Who Have Made It, compiled by Anderson and Cooley; Images of America: South Bend, Indiana, by Kay Marnon Danielson; South Bend: Crossroads of Commerce, by John Palmer; and the works of Jack Detzler: South Bend, 1900 - 1910: The Awakening of a Small Town, South Bend, 1910 – 1920: A Decade Dedicated to Reform, and South Bend, 1920 – 1930: The Emergence of a City.


For information on Mishawaka, the “Princess City,” check out some of our books on the subject. Peter J. De Kever’s With Our Past: Essays on the History of Mishawaka and A Mishawaka Mosaic, edited by David Eisen, are both good sources on this topic.


Shenemancover.jpg

If information on the agricultural and rural history of St. Joseph County is what you’re after, don’t miss the following titles: The History of Harris Township, by Germaine Goff; Now & Then: A Collection of Pictures and Stories about Lakeville, Indiana, by Jeanne Geyer; "Genesis" of North Liberty, by Rev. Gaylord Saltzgaber; and Images of America: Southern St. Joseph County, by Franklin N. Sheneman II. Geyer’s, Saltzgaber’s, and Sheneman’s books deal with the townships south of South Bend, including Greene, Union, Liberty, Lincoln, and Madison townships and the farming communities located therein.


For more detailed information on individuals and the land they owned turn to the historic atlases of 1875, 1895, 1911, 1929, and 1936. The 1875 Atlas can now be read and searched online from home--just click here to see it!. If you’re searching for individual homes or businesses go to our online database of historic Sanborn Fire Maps. You can use this database at home too.


And finally, be sure to come in to the library to look at our extensive collection of newspaper clippings covering events, people, business, and daily life.


Make history come alive by utilizing these unique resources today in Local & Family History Services at the St. Joseph County Public Library!


Helpful Hints for House Histories

By John Kovach

Click here to read this article.


History Homework Help

By Libby Feil

Click here to read this article.


Finding Hidden History with Metal Detectors

By Libby Feil

Click here to read this article.


Local Authors Collection

By Libby Feil

Click here to read this article.



Contact and find out more about Local & Family History Services
Created by: Libby Feil, October 2005
Last updated June 2, 2011

Personal tools