Local Authors Collection

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 13: Line 13:
This department long has collected books by Indiana authors, such as James Whitcomb Riley and Gene Stratton Porter.  Recently, we pulled those books together from a number of different spots on our shelves, and gave them their own space in our room.  We intend to add to the collection, but will concentrate on St. Joseph County authors going forward.<br /><br />
This department long has collected books by Indiana authors, such as James Whitcomb Riley and Gene Stratton Porter.  Recently, we pulled those books together from a number of different spots on our shelves, and gave them their own space in our room.  We intend to add to the collection, but will concentrate on St. Joseph County authors going forward.<br /><br />
-
There are many gaps in our collection.  For instance, we have some but not all titles written by famed St. Joseph County mystery writers Jeanne Dams and Ralph McInerny.  (See [[Local Authors]] for more information about these prolific writers.)  If you have books by these or any other St. Joseph County authors that you would like to donate, we in Local & Family History would love to take them!  And if you are yourself a local author, please consider donating a copy of your book so that we can feature your work in our collection.<br /><br />
+
There are many gaps in our collection.  For instance, we have some but not all titles written by famed St. Joseph County mystery writers Jeanne Dams and Ralph McInerny.  (See [[Local Authors]] for more information about these prolific writers.)  If you have books that you would like to donate, by these or any other St. Joseph County authors, we in Local & Family History would love to take them!  And if you are yourself a local author, please consider donating a copy of your book so that we can feature your work in our collection.<br /><br />
Here are just a few of the gems of this collection:<br />
Here are just a few of the gems of this collection:<br />

Revision as of 00:42, 21 August 2008

Useful Links

By Libby Feil

Local & Family History Services has a new collection of books by local authors. It has more than 235 books and is still growing.

This department long has collected books by Indiana authors, such as James Whitcomb Riley and Gene Stratton Porter. Recently, we pulled those books together from a number of different spots on our shelves, and gave them their own space in our room. We intend to add to the collection, but will concentrate on St. Joseph County authors going forward.

There are many gaps in our collection. For instance, we have some but not all titles written by famed St. Joseph County mystery writers Jeanne Dams and Ralph McInerny. (See Local Authors for more information about these prolific writers.) If you have books that you would like to donate, by these or any other St. Joseph County authors, we in Local & Family History would love to take them! And if you are yourself a local author, please consider donating a copy of your book so that we can feature your work in our collection.

Here are just a few of the gems of this collection:
And Now, Michiana Chronicles: Selected Radio Essays, a 2007 book from Indiana University South Bend's brand-new Wolfson Press.
Late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Hoosier folk poet James Whitcomb Riley's Complete Poetical Works.
Current children's author and South Bend resident April Pulley Sayre's Asia.
Local journalist Kathleen Ann Smallzried's 1942 book about the Studebaker Corporation, More Than You Promise: A Business at Work in Society.

Last updated by: Libby Feil, August 20, 2008

Personal tools