Local Authors

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(28 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
-
We had a couple of suggestions at Open Book to have a "Local Authors" page. So, here you goI will be adding information and links as I get them.
+
Did you know there were so many writers from St. Joseph County, Michiana, and Indiana?  Support these local authors by checking out some of their books!
 +
 
 +
You will find even more books by local authors in the new [[Local Authors Collection | Local Authors Collection]] in [http://www.sjcpl.org/localhistory Local & Family History Services] at Main LibraryWe specialize in St. Joseph County authors.  (And we accept book donations!)
 +
 
=== Tasha Alexander ===
=== Tasha Alexander ===
-
St. Joseph High School grad now living in Tennessee, Tasha writes intriguing romantic suspense novels set in Victorian England.  
+
A St. Joseph High School grad now living in Tennessee, Tasha writes intriguing romantic suspense novels set in Victorian England.
 +
 
 +
Find materials by Tasha Alexander in the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=a&searcharg=alexander%2C+tasha&searchscope=2&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dGlobal+warming+--+Popular+works. catalog].
-
Find materials by Tasha Alexander in the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=a&searcharg=alexander%2C+tasha&searchscope=2&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=dGlobal+warming+--+Popular+works. catalog]
 
 +
=== Izola Bird ===
 +
Local resident and SJCPL regular Izola Bird has three books in the library's collection, ''Burning the Mattress,'' ''The Girlfriend's List'' and ''The Witch Who Stole My Husband''.  You can find them in [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/a?SEARCH=bird%2C+izola&sortdropdown=-&searchscope=2 our catalog].
=== Jeanne Dams ===
=== Jeanne Dams ===
-
Find mysteries by Jeanne Dams in the [http://tinyurl.com/ls89l catalog].
+
Find mysteries by South Bend native Jeanne Dams in the [http://tinyurl.com/ls89l catalog].  We have books from both of her acclaimed series.  The first book in Dams's Dorothy Martin series, set in England, won a prestigious Agatha Award for Best First Novel.  Dams's other series, featuring Swedish immigrant Hilda Johansson, takes place in South Bend in its heyday, the early 1900s.
-
[http://www.jeannedams.com/ Jeanne Dams] official website.
+
Find out more at [http://www.jeannedams.com/ Jeanne Dams's] official website.
Line 18: Line 24:
=== Johnnie Griffin ===
=== Johnnie Griffin ===
-
Find materials by Johnnie Griffin in the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/a?SEARCH=griffin+johnnie&searchscope=2 catalog].
+
Find novels by IUSB sociology professor Johnnie Griffin in the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/a?SEARCH=griffin+johnnie&searchscope=2 catalog].
-
 
+
=== Gene Ha ===
=== Gene Ha ===
-
Find materials illustrated by Gene Ha in the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/a?SEARCH=ha%2C+gene&searchscope=2 catalog].
+
Prominent comic artist Gene Ha has been a hit at several of SJCPL's [http://www.libraryforlife.org/openbook/ Open Book] and Free Comic Book Day events. Ha graduated from Clay High School and now lives in Chicago.  You can find materials illustrated by Gene Ha in the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/a?SEARCH=ha%2C+gene&searchscope=2 catalog].
-
Locate [http://tinyurl.com/nv32s Batman] books and comic books in the catalog.
+
You can find out more about Gene Ha and his work at [http://www.geneha.com/ his official website].
-
 
+
-
[http://www.geneha.com/ Gene Ha's] official website.
+
=== John Kovach ===
=== John Kovach ===
-
We can't get much more local than former Library employee John Kovach.  Until recently he provided valuable service in [http://www.sjcpl.org/localhistory/ Local & Family History Services], but now he'll be haunting [http://www.saintmarys.edu/~library/Archives/archives.htm Saint Mary's College Archives] instead.  When not poring over old documents, John can usually be found on a baseball diamond.  Click [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2/a?SEARCH=kovach%2C+john&searchscope=2 here] for a list of items available in the catalog.
+
We can't get much more local than former Library employee John Kovach.  Until recently he provided valuable service in [http://www.sjcpl.org/localhistory/ Local & Family History Services], but now he'll be haunting [http://www.saintmarys.edu/~library/Archives/archives.htm Saint Mary's College Archives] instead.  When not poring over old documents, John can usually be found on a baseball diamond.  Click [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2/a?SEARCH=kovach%2C+john&searchscope=2 here] for a list of his books available in the catalog.
Line 39: Line 42:
=== Patricia Pollacco ===
=== Patricia Pollacco ===
-
Children's author and illustrator from Union City, Michigan.
+
A children's author and illustrator from Union City, Michigan, Patricia Pollacco has books in the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=a&searcharg=polacco%2C+patricia&searchscope=2&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=apolacco collection].
-
 
+
-
Find materials by Patricia Pollacco in the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=a&searcharg=polacco%2C+patricia&searchscope=2&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=apolacco catalog].
+
=== John Palmer ===
=== John Palmer ===
-
Another local author with ties to the Library is John PalmerJohn also worked in [http://www.sjcpl.org/localhistory/ Local & Family History] and wrote several items about [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/a?SEARCH=palmer%2C+john+f&searchscope=2 local families] as well as [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/q?author=palmer&title=south+bend&searchscope=2 South Bend].  
+
Another local author with ties to the Library is John Palmer; John also worked in [http://www.sjcpl.org/localhistory/ Local & Family History]. He has put together several binders about [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2/X?SEARCH=(john%20palmer%20family)+and+not+(mulcahy)&SORT=D&m=b local families] and also has written books about [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/q?author=palmer&title=south+bend&searchscope=2 South Bend].  His book [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2?/aPalmer,+John+(John+Francis),+1948-/apalmer+john+john+francis+1948/-3%2C-1%2C0%2CB/frameset&FF=apalmer+john+john+francis+1948&17%2C%2C21 ''South Bend: Crossroads of Commerce''] is a well-written and well-researched introduction to the history of this area.
=== April Pulley Sayre ===
=== April Pulley Sayre ===
-
Natural history writer from South Bend.  Make sure to note the dedication in her book <i>Africa</i>:  "Thanks especially to the librarians and other staff of the St. Joseph County Public Library, my local gold mine."  Well, thank you, April!
+
Natural history children's author from South Bend.  Make sure to note the dedication in her book <i>Africa</i>:  "Thanks especially to the librarians and other staff of the St. Joseph County Public Library, my local gold mine."  Well, thank you, April!
-
Find materials by April Sayre in the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=a&searcharg=sayre%2C+april&SORT=D&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search catalog].
+
Find materials by April Sayre in the [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=a&searcharg=sayre%2C+april&SORT=D&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search catalog].  Find out more about her on [http://www.aprilsayre.com/ her website] and [http://www.aprilsayre.com/blog/ blog].
=== Franklin Sheneman ===
=== Franklin Sheneman ===
Yet another author who is also a former employee of the Library's [http://www.sjcpl.org/localhistory/ Local & Family History Services] department.  Franklin, a native of North Liberty, has written a book about that area: <i>[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2/t?SEARCH=southern+st.+joseph+county&searchscope=2 Southern St. Joseph County]</i>.  
Yet another author who is also a former employee of the Library's [http://www.sjcpl.org/localhistory/ Local & Family History Services] department.  Franklin, a native of North Liberty, has written a book about that area: <i>[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2/t?SEARCH=southern+st.+joseph+county&searchscope=2 Southern St. Joseph County]</i>.  
 +
 +
 +
=== David Small ===
 +
 +
David Small, author and illustrator, spent childhood summers in Indiana, so we're making him an honorary Hoosier. He and his wife Sarah Stewart have written (Stewart) and illustrated (Small) [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2/X?SEARCH=(sarah%20stewart%20david%20small)&SORT=D&m=b several wonderful and award-winning children's books], including favorites [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/q?author=Stewart%2C+Sarah&title=The+Library&searchscope=2 ''The Library''] and [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/q?author=Stewart%2C+Sarah&title=The+Gardener&searchscope=2 ''The Gardener''].  In addition, Small has written and illustrated many books of his own, and has worked as an illustrator with other authors.  Here's a list of [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/a?SEARCH=Small%2C+David&sortdropdown=-&searchscope=2 all his books that we have].
 +
 +
This [http://www.nccil.org/experience/artists/smalld/index.htm biography] of David Small is from the [http://www.nccil.org/ National Center for Children's Illustrated Literature].
-
=== Sarah Stewart and David Small ===
+
[http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ Local & Family History Services] has a collection of more than 235 works and is still growing.<br /><br />
-
One of my favorite author/illustrator teams of children's materials (and one that I haven't had the honor to meet yet, although I have several autographed copies of their books).
+
-
This [http://www.nccil.org/small.html biography] of David Small is from the [http://www.nccil.org/ National Center for Children's Illustrators].
+
This department long has collected books by Indiana authors, such as [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2?/ariley%2C+james+whitcomb/ariley+james+whitcomb/1%2C1%2C45%2CB/exact&FF=ariley+james+whitcomb+1849+1916&1%2C45%2C/limit? James Whitcomb Riley] and [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2?/aStratton-Porter,%20Gene,%201863-1924/astratton+porter+gene+1863+1924/1%2C1%2C27%2CB/exact&FF=astratton+porter+gene+1863+1924&1%2C27%2C/limit? Gene Stratton Porter]. Recently, we pulled those books together from a number of different spots on our shelves, and gave them their own space in our room.  We intend to add to the collection, but will concentrate on St. Joseph County authors going forward.<br /><br />
 +
We have some titles written by famed St. Joseph County mystery writers [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2?/adams%2C+jeanne/adams+jeanne/1%2C1%2C35%2CB/exact&FF=adams+jeanne+m&1%2C35%2C/limit? Jeanne Dams] and Ralph McInerny.  If you have books that you would like to donate, by these or any other St. Joseph County authors, we in Local & Family History would love to take them!  And if you are yourself a local author, please consider donating a copy of your book so that we can feature your work in our collection.<br /><br />
 +
Here are just a few of the gems of this collection:<br />
 +
*''[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2/?searchtype=t&searcharg=and+now%2C+michiana+chronicles&searchscope=2&sortdropdown=-&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=asayre%2C+april And Now, Michiana Chronicles:  Selected Radio Essays]'', a 2007 book from [http://www.iusb.edu Indiana University South Bend]'s brand-new [http://www.iusb.edu/~sbocm/mar08/wolfson.shtml Wolfson Press].
 +
*Late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Hoosier folk poet [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2/?searchtype=a&searcharg=riley%2C+james+whitcomb&searchscope=2&sortdropdown=-&SORT=DZ&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=Xriley%2C+james+whitcomb%26SORT%3DD James Whitcomb Riley]'s ''[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2?/ariley%2C+james+whitcomb/ariley+james+whitcomb/1%2C1%2C44%2CB/frameset&FF=ariley+james+whitcomb+1849+1916&3%2C%2C44/indexsort=- Complete Poetical Works]''.
 +
*Current children's author and South Bend resident [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2/?searchtype=a&searcharg=sayre%2C+april&searchscope=2&sortdropdown=-&SORT=D&extended=0&SUBMIT=Search&searchlimits=&searchorigarg=asmallzried%2C+kathleen April Pulley Sayre]'s ''[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2?/asayre%2C+april/asayre+april/1%2C1%2C47%2CB/frameset&FF=asayre+april+pulley&2%2C%2C47/indexsort=- Asia]''.
 +
*Local journalist [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/a?SEARCH=smallzried%2C+kathleen&sortdropdown=-&searchscope=2 Kathleen Ann Smallzried]'s 1942 book about the Studebaker Corporation, ''[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search~S2?/asmallzried%2C+katherine/asmallzried+katherine/-3%2C0%2C0%2CB/frameset&FF=asmallzried+kathleen+ann+1909&1%2C%2C3/indexsort=- More Than You Promise:  A Business at Work in Society]''.
-
Last updated by:  [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], August 14, 2008
 
-
[[Category:Books]]
+
[[Category:Books, Magazines, & Newspapers]] [[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]

Latest revision as of 21:11, 9 October 2013

Did you know there were so many writers from St. Joseph County, Michiana, and Indiana? Support these local authors by checking out some of their books!

You will find even more books by local authors in the new Local Authors Collection in Local & Family History Services at Main Library. We specialize in St. Joseph County authors. (And we accept book donations!)


Contents

Tasha Alexander

A St. Joseph High School grad now living in Tennessee, Tasha writes intriguing romantic suspense novels set in Victorian England.

Find materials by Tasha Alexander in the catalog.


Izola Bird

Local resident and SJCPL regular Izola Bird has three books in the library's collection, Burning the Mattress, The Girlfriend's List and The Witch Who Stole My Husband. You can find them in our catalog.

Jeanne Dams

Find mysteries by South Bend native Jeanne Dams in the catalog. We have books from both of her acclaimed series. The first book in Dams's Dorothy Martin series, set in England, won a prestigious Agatha Award for Best First Novel. Dams's other series, featuring Swedish immigrant Hilda Johansson, takes place in South Bend in its heyday, the early 1900s.

Find out more at Jeanne Dams's official website.


Julie Ferraro

Julie Ferraro, a life-long area resident, is a writer (for 35 years), an accountant, a mother, and a grandmother. A prolific author, Ferraro has written many articles for magazines and newspapers, as well as fiction and nonfiction under pseudonyms. Ferraro's nonfiction pen name is Quill Mastercraft, and we have two of these titles on our shelves. Her nom de plume for fiction is Eugenia Lucas, and you can find this writing on the website eugenialucas.8k.com.


Johnnie Griffin

Find novels by IUSB sociology professor Johnnie Griffin in the catalog.


Gene Ha

Prominent comic artist Gene Ha has been a hit at several of SJCPL's Open Book and Free Comic Book Day events. Ha graduated from Clay High School and now lives in Chicago. You can find materials illustrated by Gene Ha in the catalog.

You can find out more about Gene Ha and his work at his official website.


John Kovach

We can't get much more local than former Library employee John Kovach. Until recently he provided valuable service in Local & Family History Services, but now he'll be haunting Saint Mary's College Archives instead. When not poring over old documents, John can usually be found on a baseball diamond. Click here for a list of his books available in the catalog.


Ralph McInerny

We have books from Notre Dame Professor McInerny's two famous mystery series, Father Dowling and the Notre Dame mysteries, as well as some of his books on the Catholic faith and his recent memoir. Check our catalog.


Patricia Pollacco

A children's author and illustrator from Union City, Michigan, Patricia Pollacco has books in the collection.


John Palmer

Another local author with ties to the Library is John Palmer; John also worked in Local & Family History. He has put together several binders about local families and also has written books about South Bend. His book South Bend: Crossroads of Commerce is a well-written and well-researched introduction to the history of this area.


April Pulley Sayre

Natural history children's author from South Bend. Make sure to note the dedication in her book Africa: "Thanks especially to the librarians and other staff of the St. Joseph County Public Library, my local gold mine." Well, thank you, April!

Find materials by April Sayre in the catalog. Find out more about her on her website and blog.


Franklin Sheneman

Yet another author who is also a former employee of the Library's Local & Family History Services department. Franklin, a native of North Liberty, has written a book about that area: Southern St. Joseph County.


David Small

David Small, author and illustrator, spent childhood summers in Indiana, so we're making him an honorary Hoosier. He and his wife Sarah Stewart have written (Stewart) and illustrated (Small) several wonderful and award-winning children's books, including favorites The Library and The Gardener. In addition, Small has written and illustrated many books of his own, and has worked as an illustrator with other authors. Here's a list of all his books that we have.

This biography of David Small is from the National Center for Children's Illustrated Literature.


Local & Family History Services has a collection of more than 235 works and is still growing.

This department long has collected books by Indiana authors, such as James Whitcomb Riley and Gene Stratton Porter. Recently, we pulled those books together from a number of different spots on our shelves, and gave them their own space in our room. We intend to add to the collection, but will concentrate on St. Joseph County authors going forward.

We have some titles written by famed St. Joseph County mystery writers Jeanne Dams and Ralph McInerny. If you have books that you would like to donate, by these or any other St. Joseph County authors, we in Local & Family History would love to take them! And if you are yourself a local author, please consider donating a copy of your book so that we can feature your work in our collection.

Here are just a few of the gems of this collection:

Personal tools