Legal Information

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 24: Line 24:
*[http://www.nd.edu/~lawlib/ Kresge Law Library (ND)]
*[http://www.nd.edu/~lawlib/ Kresge Law Library (ND)]
*[http://indianajustice.org/Home/PublicWeb Indiana Legal Services]
*[http://indianajustice.org/Home/PublicWeb Indiana Legal Services]
 +
*[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/probono/public/ Indiana Pro Bono Commission]
*[http://law.nd.edu/currentstudents/academics/legal_aid.html Legal Aid Clinic (ND)]
*[http://law.nd.edu/currentstudents/academics/legal_aid.html Legal Aid Clinic (ND)]
*[http://straylight.law.cornell.edu/ Legal Information Institute (Cornell)]
*[http://straylight.law.cornell.edu/ Legal Information Institute (Cornell)]
Line 68: Line 69:
=== Legal Assistance & Answers ===
=== Legal Assistance & Answers ===
-
If you need information on '''pro-bono legal services''' or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the [http://www.sjcba.org St. Joseph County Bar Association].
+
If you need information on '''pro-bono legal services''' or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the [http://www.sjcba.org St. Joseph County Bar Association].  The [http://www.in.gov/judiciary/probono/public/ Indiana Pro Bono Commission] can also provide you with information about how you may be able to obtain a pro-bono attorney in Indiana (for civil cases only).
 +
 
 +
The State of Indiana's [http://www.in.gov/judiciary/defender/ Public Defender's Office] may be able to assist you with a '''criminal case'''.
[http://www.indianajustice.org/Home/PublicWeb Indiana Legal Services] is a nonprofit law firm that provides '''free civil legal assistance''' to eligible low-income people throughout the state of Indiana.  They provide answers to questions about Indiana law and can also assist you with finding local [http://www.indianajustice.org/Home/PublicWeb/LegalSvcs/byCounty legal assistance].
[http://www.indianajustice.org/Home/PublicWeb Indiana Legal Services] is a nonprofit law firm that provides '''free civil legal assistance''' to eligible low-income people throughout the state of Indiana.  They provide answers to questions about Indiana law and can also assist you with finding local [http://www.indianajustice.org/Home/PublicWeb/LegalSvcs/byCounty legal assistance].

Revision as of 13:26, 31 May 2007

Codes

Courts

Forms

Legal Assistance & Answers

Law Enforcement

- CASA
- Radio Frequencies

Offender Search

Other Resources

Library staff CAN:
- Direct you to legal forms and court publications.
- Direct you to law books available at the Library.
- Provide telephone numbers and links for local lawyer referral
services and legal services agencies.
Library staff CANNOT:
- Select or fill out court forms for you.
- Tell you what words to use in your court forms.
- Provide legal advice or legal interpretations.
- Advise you whether or not you should bring your case to court.
- Advise you what to say in court.

Contents

Divorce & Child Support

The Self-Service Legal Center site contains printable forms for divorce and child support issues. Please contact the office of the County Clerk for specific requirements regarding court filings. (The Monroe (IN) County Public Library has some additional court forms.)

El centro de auto-servicio legal del Sistema Judicial del estado de Indiana ofrece un formulario en español para preparar su propio divorcio simple.

SJCPL assumes no responsibility and accepts no liability for actions taken by users of these documents, including reliance on their contents. For legal advice about your case, you should contact a lawyer.

Forms

The Thomson Gale Legal Forms database provides a selection of printable forms, specific to Indiana, for a variety of topics. This resource is available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.

Legal Assistance & Answers

If you need information on pro-bono legal services or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the St. Joseph County Bar Association. The Indiana Pro Bono Commission can also provide you with information about how you may be able to obtain a pro-bono attorney in Indiana (for civil cases only).

The State of Indiana's Public Defender's Office may be able to assist you with a criminal case.

Indiana Legal Services is a nonprofit law firm that provides free civil legal assistance to eligible low-income people throughout the state of Indiana. They provide answers to questions about Indiana law and can also assist you with finding local legal assistance.

The Indiana General Assembly provides access to Indiana Codes and Acts and Indiana Sentencing Guidelines. The site includes a link to the Constitution of Indiana as well as the Indiana Register.

Wills & Probate

The St. Joseph County Probate Court is located in the Juvenile Justice Center. The court has jurisdiction over estates, trusts, adoption, paternity and all "protected" persons.

Personal tools