|
|
| Line 1: |
Line 1: |
| | {| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right" | | {| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right" |
| | |- | | |- |
| - | |bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | '''Local Law Info''' | + | |bgcolor="#e0e0e0" |'''Codes''' |
| | + | *[http://www.in.gov/legislative/iac/ Indiana Administrative Code] |
| | + | *[http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/ Indiana Code] |
| | + | *[http://library.municode.com/mcc/home.htm?infobase=13974&doc_method=cleardoc South Bend City Code] |
| | | | |
| - | *[https://secure.in.gov/serv/cji_sor Indiana Sex Offenders Registry] | + | '''Courts''' |
| - | *[http://bop.gov/ Federal Bureau of Prisons]
| + | *[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/stjoseph/ St. Joseph County Courts] |
| - | *[http://www.in.gov/indcorrection/ Indiana Dept. of Corrections] | + | *[http://users.michiana.org/probate/ St. Joseph County Probate Court] |
| - | **[http://www.in.gov/indcorrection/search.htm Offender Search]
| + | *[http://www.innb.uscourts.gov/sbdivision.htm US Bankruptcy Court - Northern<br> District of Indiana, South Bend Div.] |
| - | *Other States' Department of <br>Corrections' [http://www.in.gov/indcorrection/links.htm websites]
| + | *[http://www.ca7.uscourts.gov/ US Court of Appeals - 7th Circuit] |
| - | *[http://www.inbf.org/index2.html Indiana Bar Foundation] | + | *[http://www.innd.uscourts.gov/divisional.shtml/ US District Court<br> - Northern District of Indiana] |
| - | **[http://www.sjcba.org/ St. Joseph County Bar<br> Association]
| + | |
| - | *[http://indianajustice.org/Home/PublicWeb Indiana Legal Services], <br>(574) 234-8121
| + | |
| - | *[http://hostpub.courts.state.in.us/HostPublisher/rollatty/roa1_inp.jsp;jsessionid=A2TSHP4J3UF2SAIBTTUC4IA Indiana Roll of Attorneys] - <br>Search for a lawyer in Indiana
| + | |
| - | *[http://www.nd.edu/~lawlib/ Kresge Law Library] <br>Notre Dame Law School <br>University of Notre Dame <br>Notre Dame, IN 46556 <br>Phone: (574) 631-7024 <br>Fax: (574) 631-6371 <br>Open: Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
| + | |
| - | *Law Library, St. Joseph County <br>Courthouse Basement <br>101 S. Main St. <br>South Bend, IN 46601 <br>(574) 235-9657 <br>Open: Mon.-Fri. 9 a.m.-3 p.m.
| + | |
| - | *Legal Aid <br>Notre Dame Law School <br>725 Howard St. <br>(574) 631-7795 <br>NOTE: Not accepting new <br>referrals as of 11/10/2005.
| + | |
| - |
| + | |
| - | '''Legal Services Program <br>of Northern Indiana'''
| + | |
| - | Jefferson Center
| + | |
| - | 105 E. Jefferson Blvd.
| + | |
| - | South Bend, IN 46601
| + | |
| - | (574) 234-8121
| + | |
| - | 1 (800) 288-8121
| + | |
| | | | |
| - | '''Legal Forms''' | + | '''Forms''' |
| | + | *[http://www.innb.uscourts.gov/forms.htm Bankruptcy Forms] |
| | + | *[http://www.innb.uscourts.gov/localforms.htm Bankruptcy Local Forms] |
| | + | *[http://www.freelegalforms.net Free Legal Forms] |
| | + | *[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/forms.html Indiana Self-Service Legal Center] |
| | *[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/sout61408?db=TGLF Thomson Gale Legal Forms] | | *[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/sout61408?db=TGLF Thomson Gale Legal Forms] |
| - | *[http://www.legaldocs.com/misc-s.htm Free Legal Forms]
| |
| - | *[http://www.freelegalforms.net/index.cfm?index=forms&filename=Form15763.htm Installment Land Contract <br>Sample]
| |
| - | *[http://kaktus.com/real-estate-forms/legal-forms-lead.html Lead-Based Paint Disclosure <br>Forms]
| |
| - | *[http://www.nolo.com/ Legal Forms Books]
| |
| - | *[http://www.insiderreports.com/legalfrm/b10185.htm Quit-Claim Deed Sample]
| |
| - | *[http://totalrealestatesolutions.com/RealEstateForms/index.cfm Real Estate Forms & <br>Agreements]
| |
| - | *[http://www.freelegalforms.net/index.cfm?index=forms&filename=Form14242.htm Rental Agreement Sample]
| |
| | | | |
| - | '''Legal Links''' | + | '''Legal Assistance & Answers''' |
| | + | *[http://lp.findlaw.com/ FindLaw] |
| | + | *[http://www.nd.edu/~lawlib/ Kresge Law Library (ND)] |
| | + | *[http://indianajustice.org/Home/PublicWeb Indiana Legal Services] |
| | + | *[http://law.nd.edu/currentstudents/academics/legal_aid.html Legal Aid Clinic (ND)] |
| | + | *[http://straylight.law.cornell.edu/ Legal Information Institute (Cornell)] |
| | + | *[http://www.sjcba.org/ St. Joseph County Bar Association<br>& Law Library] |
| | + | *[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/stjoseph/ St. Joseph County Clerk] |
| | | | |
| - | *[http://www.copyright.cornell.edu/training/Hirtle_Public_Domain.htm Copyright Law]
| + | '''Law Enforcement''' |
| - | *[http://www.findlaw.com/ FindLaw] | + | *[http://www.in.gov/indcorrection/ Indiana Dept. of Corrections] |
| - | *[http://www.lawyers.com/ Lawyers.com - Find a Lawyer]
| + | *[http://www.jjconline.org/ Juvenile Justice Center] |
| - | *[http://www.consumerlaw.org/ National Consumer Law Center] | + | :[http://users.michiana.org/probate/SJC-Casa.htm - CASA] |
| - | *[http://straylight.law.cornell.edu/supct/index.html Supreme Court Decisions]
| + | *[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/directory/Judicial_Law.htm St. Joseph County Judicial<br> & Law Enforcement Offices] |
| - | *[http://lawyers.findlaw.com/ West's Legal Directory] | + | :[http://www.radioreference.com/modules.php?name=RR&ctid=763#cid-3879 - Radio Frequencies] |
| - | | + | *[http://www.stjoepros.org/index.html St. Joseph County Prosecutor's Office] |
| - | '''Crime Links'''
| + | |
| - | | + | |
| - | *[http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/dtd.htm Bureau of Justice Statistics]
| + | |
| - | *[http://ojjdp.ncjrs.org/ojstatbb/dat.html Crime Statistics]
| + | |
| - | *[http://albany.edu/sourcebook/ Sourcebook of Criminal Justice <br>Statistics]
| + | |
| - | *[http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/NACJD/ National Archive of Criminal <br>Justice Data]
| + | |
| - | *[http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/crime/ Uniform Crime Reports by <br>County]
| + | |
| - | | + | |
| - | '''Prisoner Resources'''
| + | |
| - | | + | |
| - | *[http://www.aclu.org/Prisons/ ACLU on Prisons] | + | |
| - | *[http://innocenceproject.org/ Innocence Project]
| + | |
| | | | |
| | + | '''Offender Search''' |
| | + | *[https://secure.in.gov/serv/cji_sor Indiana Sex Offenders Registry] |
| | + | *[http://www.insor.org/insasoweb/ Indiana Sex & Violent Offender Registry] |
| | + | *[http://www.mipsor.state.mi.us/ Michigan Public Sexual Offender Registry] |
| | + | *[http://www.in.gov/indcorrection/search.htm Indiana DOC Offender Search] |
| | | | |
| | + | '''Other Resources''' |
| | + | *[http://www.consumerlaw.org/ National Consumer Law Center] |
| | |} | | |} |
| - | __TOC__
| |
| - | == Using Legal Resources @ the Library ==
| |
| - |
| |
| - | The Library offers an assortment of reference sources to help you with your legal information needs.
| |
| - |
| |
| | ;'''Library staff CAN:''' | | ;'''Library staff CAN:''' |
| | :- Direct you to legal forms and court publications. | | :- Direct you to legal forms and court publications. |
| | :- Direct you to law books available at the Library. | | :- Direct you to law books available at the Library. |
| - | :- Provide telephone numbers for local lawyer referral services and legal services agencies. | + | :- Provide telephone numbers and links for local lawyer referral<br>services and legal services agencies. |
| | | | |
| | ;'''Library staff CANNOT:''' | | ;'''Library staff CANNOT:''' |
| Line 73: |
Line 57: |
| | :- Advise you whether or not you should bring your case to court. | | :- Advise you whether or not you should bring your case to court. |
| | :- Advise you what to say in court. | | :- Advise you what to say in court. |
| | + | __TOC__ |
| | + | === Divorce & Child Support === |
| | + | The [http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/forms.html Self-Service Legal Center] site contains printable forms for divorce and child support issues. Please contact the office of the [http://www.in.gov/judiciary/stjoseph/ County Clerk] for specific requirements regarding court filings. (The [http://www.monroe.lib.in.us/forms/divorce.html Monroe (IN) County Public Library] has some additional court forms.) |
| | | | |
| | + | El centro de [http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/formularios.html auto-servicio legal del Sistema Judicial] del estado de Indiana ofrece un formulario en español para preparar su propio divorcio simple. |
| | | | |
| - | If you need information on pro-bono legal services or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the [http://www.sjcba.org St. Joseph County Bar Association] which is in the lower level of the old Court House (on Main St.).
| + | ''SJCPL assumes no responsibility and accepts no liability for actions taken by users of these documents, including reliance on their contents. For legal advice about your case, you should contact a lawyer.'' |
| | | | |
| - | === Browsing our shelves === | + | === Forms === |
| | + | The [http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/sout61408?db=TGLF Thomson Gale Legal Forms] database provides a selection of '''printable forms''', specific to Indiana, for a variety of topics. This resource is available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card. |
| | | | |
| - | ;Some titles available in the library.: (Dewey Decimal System call numbers<nowiki>:</nowiki> Law ~ 340-349)
| + | === Legal Assistance & Answers === |
| - | :[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tblacks+law+dictionary/tblacks+law+dictionary/1%2C2%2C3%2CB/frameset&FF=tblacks+law+dictionary&1%2C1%2C Black's Law Dictionary]
| + | If you need information on '''pro-bono legal services''' or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the [http://www.sjcba.org St. Joseph County Bar Association]. |
| - | :[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=Y&searcharg=%28law+or+legal%29+and+form*&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Legal form templates]
| + | |
| - | :[http://www.inbar.org/content/commitees/sections/YLS/ylspage.htm#LegalStuff Legal Stuff (You Should Know)]
| + | |
| - | :[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=martindale-hubbell+law+directory&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory]
| + | |
| - | :[http://www.nolo.com/ Nolo Press Legal Forms & Guides]
| + | |
| | | | |
| | + | [http://www.indianajustice.org/Home/PublicWeb Indiana Legal Services] is a nonprofit law firm that provides '''free civil legal assistance''' to eligible low-income people throughout the state of Indiana. They provide answers to questions about Indiana law and can also assist you with finding local [http://www.indianajustice.org/Home/PublicWeb/LegalSvcs/byCounty legal assistance]. |
| | | | |
| | + | The [http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic_iac/ Indiana General Assembly] provides access to '''Indiana Codes and Acts''' and [http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title35/ar50/ Indiana Sentencing Guidelines]. The site includes a link to the [http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/const/ Constitution] of Indiana as well as the [http://www.in.gov/legislative/register/irtoc.htm Indiana Register]. |
| | | | |
| | + | === Wills & Probate === |
| | + | The [http://users.michiana.org/probate/ St. Joseph County Probate Court] is located in the Juvenile Justice Center. The court has jurisdiction over estates, trusts, adoption, paternity and all "protected" persons. |
| | | | |
| - | {|
| |
| - | |[[Image:legalforms.gif|200px|left|Thomson Gale Legal Forms]]]
| |
| - | |}
| |
| - | The [http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/sout61408?db=TGLF Thomson Gale Legal Forms] database provides a selection of printable forms for a variety of topics including real estate, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord/tenant and many others. Also included in this database is a directory of lawyers and a dictionary of legal terms. '''Available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.'''
| |
| | | | |
| - |
| |
| - |
| |
| - |
| |
| - | == Local Law Resources ==
| |
| - |
| |
| - | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=municipal+code+of+the+city+of+south+bend&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Municipal Code of the City of South Bend] (Print)
| |
| - | *[http://library.municode.com/mcc/home.htm?infobase=13974&doc_method=cleardoc South Bend City Code] (Online)
| |
| - | *[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/directory/Judicial_Law.htm St. Joseph County Judicial & Law Enforcement Offices]
| |
| - | *[http://www.stjoepros.org/index.html St. Joseph County Prosecutor's Office]
| |
| - |
| |
| - |
| |
| - | ==Indiana Law Resources==
| |
| - |
| |
| - | *[http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic_iac/ Indiana Administrative Code]
| |
| - | *[http://www.iclu.org/ Indiana Civil Liberties Union]
| |
| - | *[http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic_iac/ Indiana Code]
| |
| - | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=indiana+law+encyclopedia&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Indiana Law Encyclopedia] - explains Indiana Code
| |
| - | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=indiana+practice&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Indiana Practice] - explains Indiana Code
| |
| - | **[http://west.thomson.com/product/22073652/product.asp Essential Forms], volume 5 (download .pdf file - Table of Contents)
| |
| - | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tindiana+rules+of+court+state/tindiana+rules+of+court+state/1%2C1%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tindiana+rules+of+court+state&2%2C%2C2 Indiana Rules of Court: State]
| |
| - | *[http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title35/ar50/ Indiana Sentencing Guidelines]
| |
| - | *[http://www.state.in.us/icpr/webfile/formsdiv/index.html Indiana State Government Forms] (download .pdf files)
| |
| - | *[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/center/pubs.html#benchbooks Small Claims Court Manual] (download .pdf file)
| |
| - | *[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/about/05-casetypes.html Trial Courts: Types of Cases]
| |
| - | *West's Indiana Code Annotated - history of law & case law citations
| |
| - | **Holdings available at the Main Library only.
| |
| - |
| |
| - | ===Divorce, Child Support, and Protection Orders===
| |
| - | *The Reference Department at the Main Library has a book on filing your own divorce in Indiana, called [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=do-it-yourself+indiana+divorce+book&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search The Do-it-Yourself Indiana Divorce Book].
| |
| - | *You can download and fill out forms from the links below:
| |
| - | **[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/forms.html Indiana Divorce Forms]
| |
| - | **[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/forms/support_mod.html Modification of Child Support]
| |
| - | **[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/formularios/divorcio.html Indiana Divorce Forms in Spanish]
| |
| - | **[http://www.monroe.lib.in.us/forms/divorce.html Monroe County Public Library] has the following forms on its website (download .pdf or Word files):
| |
| - | ***Form I: Decree of Marriage Dissolution - With Separation Agreement
| |
| - | ***Form K: Separation Agreement
| |
| - | ***Form L: Motion for Summary Dissolution Decree
| |
| - | ***Forms for Legal Change of Name
| |
| - | **The Non-Military Affadavit can be found in the book [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tcollecting+child+support/tcollecting+child+support/1%2C2%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tcollecting+child+support+made+e+z&1%2C1%2C Collecting Child Support Made E-Z] on page 87.
| |
| - | *[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/rules/child_support/ Indiana Child Support Rules & Guidelines]
| |
| - | *[http://www.state.in.us/judiciary/forms/po.html Indiana Protection Order, No Contact Order, and Workplace Violence Restraining Order Forms]
| |
| - |
| |
| - | NOTE:
| |
| - | Any questions about court procedures or requirements or using the forms should be directed to the St. Joseph County Clerk (101 S. Main Street, Basement, South Bend, Indiana 46601; Voice: (574) 235-9635; Fax: (574) 235-9838).
| |
| - |
| |
| - | Other counties in Indiana may have different requirements. If you do not live in St. Joseph County, Indiana, you should contact the office of the County Clerk in your county.
| |
| - |
| |
| - | SJCPL assumes no responsibilities and accepts no liability for actions taken by users of these documents, including reliance on their contents. For legal advice about your case, you should contact a lawyer.
| |
| - |
| |
| - | ===Wills & Probate===
| |
| - |
| |
| - | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=guiding+those+left+behind+in+indiana&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Guiding Those Left Behind in Indiana]
| |
| - | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=indiana+practice&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Indiana Practice]: Anderson's Probate Forms, 4 volumes (25, 25A, 26, 26A)
| |
| - | *[http://users.michiana.org/probate/ St. Joseph County Probate Court]: <br>1000 South Michigan Street <br>South Bend, IN 46601 <br>Voice: (574) 235-5378 <br>Fax: (574) 235-5382
| |
| - |
| |
| - |
| |
| - | ==Federal Law Resources==
| |
| - |
| |
| - | *[http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html Federal Register]
| |
| - | *[http://www.ussc.gov/2005guid/TABCON05.htm Federal Sentencing Guidelines]
| |
| - | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tindiana+rules+of+court+federal/tindiana+rules+of+court+federal/1%2C1%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tindiana+rules+of+court+federal&2%2C%2C2 Indiana Rules of Court: Federal] - also contains Local Bankruptcy Rules
| |
| - | *[http://straylight.law.cornell.edu/supct/index.html Supreme Court Archives]
| |
| - | *[http://uscis.gov/graphics/index.htm US Citizenship & Immigration Services]
| |
| - | *[http://www.ca7.uscourts.gov/ US Court of Appeals - 7th Circuit]
| |
| - | *[http://www.innd.uscourts.gov/ US District Court - Northern District of Indiana]
| |
| - | *[http://uscode.house.gov/ United States Code] and [http://www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode/ Previous Versions of United States Code]
| |
| - | *[http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/cfr-table-search.html United States Code of Federal Regulations]
| |
| - | *[http://www.law.emory.edu/FEDERAL/usconst.html United States Constitution] (searchable)
| |
| - | *[http://www.copyright.gov/ US Copyright Office]
| |
| - | **[http://www.copyright.gov/forms/ US Copyright Forms]
| |
| - | *[http://www.uspto.gov/ US Patent & Trademark Office]
| |
| - |
| |
| - | ===Bankruptcy===
| |
| - | Filing for bankruptcy? SJCPL has several books to help you get started, such as the one below. Ask a librarian for help locating bankruptcy resources, or see the links below for bankruptcy forms.
| |
| - | {|
| |
| - | |[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=new+bankruptcy+law+and+you&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search [[Image:new bankruptcy law and you.gif|left|new bankruptcy law and you]]]
| |
| - | ||
| |
| - | [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=new+bankruptcy+law+and+you&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search New Bankruptcy <br>Law and You]
| |
| - | |}
| |
| - | *[http://www.innb.uscourts.gov/localforms.htm Northern District of Indiana - Local Bankruptcy Forms]
| |
| - | *[http://www.innb.uscourts.gov/ Northern District of Indiana - Local Bankruptcy Rules] (download .pdf file)
| |
| - | *[http://www.uscourts.gov/bkforms/bankruptcy_forms.html#official Official Bankruptcy Forms]
| |
| - |
| |
| - |
| |
| - | ==Other Law Resources==
| |
| - |
| |
| - | *[http://forms.lp.findlaw.com/ Court Forms]
| |
| - | *[http://www.findlaw.com/casecode/ FindLaw: Federal & State Cases & Codes]
| |
| - | *[http://www.law.cornell.edu/ Legal Information Institute (Cornell)]
| |
| - | *[http://www.findlaw.com/11stategov/mi/laws.html Michigan Legal Information]
| |
| - |
| |
| - | ===Personnel Issues===
| |
| - | The following resources are good places to start your research on labor laws and practices:
| |
| - | *The [http://www.dol.gov/ Department of Labor's] [http://www.dol.gov/elaws/ Employment Law site] is a good resource for employers and employees alike.
| |
| - | *Indiana Guides to Human Resource Management
| |
| - | *Human Resources CCH (Commerce Clearing House Inc.) [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=Y&searcharg=commerce+and+clearing+and+house+and+human+and+resources+and+management&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Products]
| |
| | | | |
| | [[Category:Government]] | | [[Category:Government]] |
| | [[Category:Social Service Agencies]] | | [[Category:Social Service Agencies]] |
| - |
| |
| - | Last updated: --[[User:Katie80|Katie]] 10:44, 3 Dec 2005 (EST)
| |