Legal Information

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Using Legal Resources at the Library)
Line 3: Line 3:
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | '''Local Law Info'''
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | '''Local Law Info'''
-
*Indiana [https://secure.in.gov/serv/cji_sor Sex Offenders Registry]
+
*[https://secure.in.gov/serv/cji_sor Indiana Sex Offenders Registry]
*[http://bop.gov/ Federal Bureau of Prisons]
*[http://bop.gov/ Federal Bureau of Prisons]
*[http://www.in.gov/indcorrection/ Indiana Dept. of Corrections]  
*[http://www.in.gov/indcorrection/ Indiana Dept. of Corrections]  
Line 47: Line 47:
*[http://ojjdp.ncjrs.org/ojstatbb/dat.html Crime Statistics]
*[http://ojjdp.ncjrs.org/ojstatbb/dat.html Crime Statistics]
*[http://albany.edu/sourcebook/ Sourcebook of Criminal Justice <br>Statistics]
*[http://albany.edu/sourcebook/ Sourcebook of Criminal Justice <br>Statistics]
-
*[http://www.fbi.gov/homepage.htm FBI - Federal Bureau of <br>Investigation]
 
*[http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/NACJD/ National Archive of Criminal <br>Justice Data]
*[http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/NACJD/ National Archive of Criminal <br>Justice Data]
*[http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/crime/ Uniform Crime Reports by <br>County]
*[http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/crime/ Uniform Crime Reports by <br>County]
 +
 +
'''Prisoner Resources'''
 +
 +
*[http://www.aclu.org/Prisons/ ACLU on Prisons]
 +
*[http://innocenceproject.org/ Innocence Project]
|}
|}
__TOC__
__TOC__
-
==Using Legal Resources @ the Library==
+
== Using Legal Resources @ the Library ==
The Library offers an assortment of reference sources to help you with your legal information needs.
The Library offers an assortment of reference sources to help you with your legal information needs.
Line 72: Line 76:
If you need information on pro-bono legal services or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the [http://www.sjcba.org St. Joseph County Bar Association] which is in the lower level of the old Court House (on Main St.).
If you need information on pro-bono legal services or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the [http://www.sjcba.org St. Joseph County Bar Association] which is in the lower level of the old Court House (on Main St.).
-
 
-
== General Law Resources ==
 
-
{|
 
-
|[[Image:legalforms.gif|200px|left|Thomson Gale Legal Forms]]]
 
-
|
 
-
|The [http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/sout61408?db=TGLF Thomson Gale Legal Forms] database provides a selection of printable forms for a variety of topics  including real estate, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord/tenant and many others. Also included in this database is a directory of lawyers and a dictionary of legal terms.  '''Available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.'''
 
-
|}
 
-
 
=== Browsing our shelves ===
=== Browsing our shelves ===
-
;Some titles available in the library.  (Dewey Decimal System call numbers<nowiki>:</nowiki> Law ~ 340-349):
+
;Some titles available in the library.: (Dewey Decimal System call numbers<nowiki>:</nowiki> Law ~ 340-349)
-
 
+
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tblacks+law+dictionary/tblacks+law+dictionary/1%2C2%2C3%2CB/frameset&FF=tblacks+law+dictionary&1%2C1%2C Black's Law Dictionary]
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tblacks+law+dictionary/tblacks+law+dictionary/1%2C2%2C3%2CB/frameset&FF=tblacks+law+dictionary&1%2C1%2C Black's Law Dictionary]
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=Y&searcharg=%28law+or+legal%29+and+form*&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Legal form templates]
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=Y&searcharg=%28law+or+legal%29+and+form*&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Legal form templates]
:[http://www.inbar.org/content/commitees/sections/YLS/ylspage.htm#LegalStuff Legal Stuff (You Should Know)]
:[http://www.inbar.org/content/commitees/sections/YLS/ylspage.htm#LegalStuff Legal Stuff (You Should Know)]
-
::You, the Law and Alcohol
+
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=martindale-hubbell+law+directory&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory]
-
::Your Criminal Justice System
+
:[http://www.nolo.com/ Nolo Press Legal Forms & Guides]
-
::Marriage and Divorce
+
 
-
::Renting Your Own Apartment
+
 
-
::Your Rights as a Consumer
+
 
-
::Employment Law
+
 
-
::Starting Your Own Business
+
{|
-
::Small Claims Court
+
|[[Image:legalforms.gif|200px|left|Thomson Gale Legal Forms]]]
-
::What to do if You are in an Automobile Accident
+
|}
-
::When You're Dead and Gone
+
The [http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/sout61408?db=TGLF Thomson Gale Legal Forms] database provides a selection of printable forms for a variety of topics  including real estate, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord/tenant and many others. Also included in this database is a directory of lawyers and a dictionary of legal terms.  '''Available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.'''
-
::Who to Call for Help
+
 
-
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=martindale-hubbell+law+directory&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory] - directory of lawyers
+
-
:[http://www.nolo.com/ Nolo Press legal forms & guides]
+
-
==== Prisoner Resources ====
 
-
:[http://www.aclu.org/Prisons/ ACLU on Prisons]
 
-
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=behind+bars+surviving+prison&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Behind Bars: Surviving Prison]
 
-
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=constitutional+rights+of+prisoners&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Constitutional Rights of Prisoners]
 
-
:[http://innocenceproject.org/ Innocence Project]
 
-
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=outsiders+looking+in&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Outsiders Looking In: How to Keep from Going Crazy when Someone You Love Goes to Jail]
 
-
==Local Law Resources==
+
== Local Law Resources ==
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=municipal+code+of+the+city+of+south+bend&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Municipal Code of the City of South Bend] (Print)
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=municipal+code+of+the+city+of+south+bend&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Municipal Code of the City of South Bend] (Print)
Line 136: Line 123:
===Divorce, Child Support, and Protection Orders===
===Divorce, Child Support, and Protection Orders===
*The Reference Department at the Main Library has a book on filing your own divorce in Indiana, called [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=do-it-yourself+indiana+divorce+book&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search The Do-it-Yourself Indiana Divorce Book].
*The Reference Department at the Main Library has a book on filing your own divorce in Indiana, called [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=do-it-yourself+indiana+divorce+book&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search The Do-it-Yourself Indiana Divorce Book].
-
*You can download and fill out forms at the links below:  
+
*You can download and fill out forms from the links below:  
**[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/forms.html Indiana Divorce Forms]
**[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/forms.html Indiana Divorce Forms]
**[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/forms/support_mod.html Modification of Child Support]
**[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/forms/support_mod.html Modification of Child Support]
**[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/formularios/divorcio.html Indiana Divorce Forms in Spanish]
**[http://www.in.gov/judiciary/selfservice/formularios/divorcio.html Indiana Divorce Forms in Spanish]
-
**[http://www.monroe.lib.in.us/forms/divorce.html Monroe County Public Library] has the following forms on its website (download .pdf or Word files), which are often needed by those filing for divorce themselves:
+
**[http://www.monroe.lib.in.us/forms/divorce.html Monroe County Public Library] has the following forms on its website (download .pdf or Word files):
***Form I: Decree of Marriage Dissolution - With Separation Agreement
***Form I: Decree of Marriage Dissolution - With Separation Agreement
***Form K: Separation Agreement
***Form K: Separation Agreement

Revision as of 15:27, 5 May 2007

Local Law Info
Legal Services Program 
of Northern Indiana
Jefferson Center 105 E. Jefferson Blvd. South Bend, IN 46601 (574) 234-8121 1 (800) 288-8121

Legal Forms

Legal Links

Crime Links

Prisoner Resources


Contents

Using Legal Resources @ the Library

The Library offers an assortment of reference sources to help you with your legal information needs.

Library staff CAN:
- Direct you to legal forms and court publications.
- Direct you to law books available at the Library.
- Provide telephone numbers for local lawyer referral services and legal services agencies.
Library staff CANNOT:
- Select or fill out court forms for you.
- Tell you what words to use in your court forms.
- Provide legal advice or legal interpretations.
- Advise you whether or not you should bring your case to court.
- Advise you what to say in court.


If you need information on pro-bono legal services or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the St. Joseph County Bar Association which is in the lower level of the old Court House (on Main St.).

Browsing our shelves

Some titles available in the library.
(Dewey Decimal System call numbers: Law ~ 340-349)
Black's Law Dictionary
Legal form templates
Legal Stuff (You Should Know)
Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory
Nolo Press Legal Forms & Guides



Thomson Gale Legal Forms
]

The Thomson Gale Legal Forms database provides a selection of printable forms for a variety of topics including real estate, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord/tenant and many others. Also included in this database is a directory of lawyers and a dictionary of legal terms. Available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.



Local Law Resources


Indiana Law Resources

Divorce, Child Support, and Protection Orders

NOTE: Any questions about court procedures or requirements or using the forms should be directed to the St. Joseph County Clerk (101 S. Main Street, Basement, South Bend, Indiana 46601; Voice: (574) 235-9635; Fax: (574) 235-9838).

Other counties in Indiana may have different requirements. If you do not live in St. Joseph County, Indiana, you should contact the office of the County Clerk in your county.

SJCPL assumes no responsibilities and accepts no liability for actions taken by users of these documents, including reliance on their contents. For legal advice about your case, you should contact a lawyer.

Wills & Probate


Federal Law Resources

Bankruptcy

Filing for bankruptcy? SJCPL has several books to help you get started, such as the one below. Ask a librarian for help locating bankruptcy resources, or see the links below for bankruptcy forms.

<div class="floatleft">new bankruptcy law and you</div>

New Bankruptcy
Law and You


Other Law Resources

Personnel Issues

The following resources are good places to start your research on labor laws and practices:

Last updated: --Katie 10:44, 3 Dec 2005 (EST)

Personal tools