Legal Information

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Using Legal Resources at the Library)
(General Law Resources)
Line 73: Line 73:
If you need information on pro-bono legal services or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the [http://www.sjcba.org St. Joseph County Bar Association] which is in the lower level of the old Court House (on Main St.).
If you need information on pro-bono legal services or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the [http://www.sjcba.org St. Joseph County Bar Association] which is in the lower level of the old Court House (on Main St.).
-
==General Law Resources==
+
== General Law Resources ==
-
<br>
+
{|
-
[[Image:legalforms.gif]]   '''''NEW!'''''<br>
+
|[[Image:legalforms.gif|200px|left|Thomson Gale Legal Forms]]]
-
[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/sout61408?db=TGLF Thomson Gale Legal Forms]<br>
+
|
-
The Thomson Gale Legal Form database provides a selection of printable forms covering a wide variety of the most popular legal areas. This includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included in this database is a directory of lawyers and a dictionary of legal terms. Scroll to the bottom of the page to access the database. '''Available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.'''  
+
|The [http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/sout61408?db=TGLF Thomson Gale Legal Forms] database provides a selection of printable forms for a variety of topics  including real estate, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord/tenant and many others. Also included in this database is a directory of lawyers and a dictionary of legal terms. '''Available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.'''  
-
<br><br>
+
|}
-
Browsing our shelves (Dewey Decimal System call numbers): Law ~ 340-349.
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tblacks+law+dictionary/tblacks+law+dictionary/1%2C2%2C3%2CB/frameset&FF=tblacks+law+dictionary&1%2C1%2C Black's Law Dictionary]
+
 
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=Y&searcharg=%28law+or+legal%29+and+form*&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Legal form templates]
+
=== Browsing our shelves ===
-
*[http://www.inbar.org/content/commitees/sections/YLS/ylspage.htm#LegalStuff Legal Stuff (You Should Know)] - from the Young Lawyers Section of the Indiana State Bar Association
+
 
-
**You, the Law and Alcohol
+
;Some titles available in the library.  (Dewey Decimal System call numbers<nowiki>:</nowiki> Law ~ 340-349):
-
**Your Criminal Justice System
+
 
-
**Marriage and Divorce
+
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tblacks+law+dictionary/tblacks+law+dictionary/1%2C2%2C3%2CB/frameset&FF=tblacks+law+dictionary&1%2C1%2C Black's Law Dictionary]
-
**Renting Your Own Apartment
+
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=Y&searcharg=%28law+or+legal%29+and+form*&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Legal form templates]
-
**Your Rights as a Consumer
+
:[http://www.inbar.org/content/commitees/sections/YLS/ylspage.htm#LegalStuff Legal Stuff (You Should Know)]
-
**Employment Law
+
::You, the Law and Alcohol
-
**Starting Your Own Business
+
::Your Criminal Justice System
-
**Small Claims Court
+
::Marriage and Divorce
-
**What to do if You are in an Automobile Accident
+
::Renting Your Own Apartment
-
**When You're Dead and Gone
+
::Your Rights as a Consumer
-
**Who to Call for Help
+
::Employment Law
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=martindale-hubbell+law+directory&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory] - directory of lawyers
+
::Starting Your Own Business
-
*[http://www.nolo.com/ Nolo Press legal forms & guides]
+
::Small Claims Court
 +
::What to do if You are in an Automobile Accident
 +
::When You're Dead and Gone
 +
::Who to Call for Help
 +
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=martindale-hubbell+law+directory&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory] - directory of lawyers
 +
:[http://www.nolo.com/ Nolo Press legal forms & guides]
==== Prisoner Resources ====
==== Prisoner Resources ====
-
*[http://www.aclu.org/Prisons/ ACLU on Prisons]
+
:[http://www.aclu.org/Prisons/ ACLU on Prisons]
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=behind+bars+surviving+prison&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Behind Bars: Surviving Prison]
+
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=behind+bars+surviving+prison&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Behind Bars: Surviving Prison]
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=constitutional+rights+of+prisoners&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Constitutional Rights of Prisoners]
+
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=constitutional+rights+of+prisoners&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Constitutional Rights of Prisoners]
-
*[http://innocenceproject.org/ Innocence Project]
+
:[http://innocenceproject.org/ Innocence Project]
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=outsiders+looking+in&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Outsiders Looking In: How to Keep from Going Crazy when Someone You Love Goes to Jail]
+
:[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=outsiders+looking+in&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Outsiders Looking In: How to Keep from Going Crazy when Someone You Love Goes to Jail]
==Local Law Resources==
==Local Law Resources==

Revision as of 16:57, 30 April 2007

Local Law Info
Legal Services Program 
of Northern Indiana
Jefferson Center 105 E. Jefferson Blvd. South Bend, IN 46601 (574) 234-8121 1 (800) 288-8121

Legal Forms

Legal Links

Crime Links


Contents

Using Legal Resources at the Library

The Library offers an assortment of reference sources to help you with your legal information needs.

Library staff CAN:
- Direct you to legal forms and court publications.
- Direct you to law books available at the Library.
- Provide telephone numbers for local lawyer referral services and legal services agencies.
Library staff CANNOT:
- Select or fill out court forms for you.
- Tell you what words to use in your court forms.
- Provide legal advice or legal interpretations.
- Advise you whether or not you should bring your case to court.
- Advise you what to say in court.


If you need information on pro-bono legal services or assistance in choosing an attorney, contact the St. Joseph County Bar Association which is in the lower level of the old Court House (on Main St.).

General Law Resources

Thomson Gale Legal Forms
]
The Thomson Gale Legal Forms database provides a selection of printable forms for a variety of topics including real estate, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord/tenant and many others. Also included in this database is a directory of lawyers and a dictionary of legal terms. Available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Browsing our shelves

Some titles available in the library. (Dewey Decimal System call numbers: Law ~ 340-349)
Black's Law Dictionary
Legal form templates
Legal Stuff (You Should Know)
You, the Law and Alcohol
Your Criminal Justice System
Marriage and Divorce
Renting Your Own Apartment
Your Rights as a Consumer
Employment Law
Starting Your Own Business
Small Claims Court
What to do if You are in an Automobile Accident
When You're Dead and Gone
Who to Call for Help
Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory - directory of lawyers
Nolo Press legal forms & guides

Prisoner Resources

ACLU on Prisons
Behind Bars: Surviving Prison
Constitutional Rights of Prisoners
Innocence Project
Outsiders Looking In: How to Keep from Going Crazy when Someone You Love Goes to Jail

Local Law Resources


Indiana Law Resources

Divorce, Child Support, and Protection Orders

NOTE: Any questions about court procedures or requirements or using the forms should be directed to the St. Joseph County Clerk (101 S. Main Street, Basement, South Bend, Indiana 46601; Voice: (574) 235-9635; Fax: (574) 235-9838).

Other counties in Indiana may have different requirements. If you do not live in St. Joseph County, Indiana, you should contact the office of the County Clerk in your county.

SJCPL assumes no responsibilities and accepts no liability for actions taken by users of these documents, including reliance on their contents. For legal advice about your case, you should contact a lawyer.

Wills & Probate


Federal Law Resources

Bankruptcy

Filing for bankruptcy? SJCPL has several books to help you get started, such as the one below. Ask a librarian for help locating bankruptcy resources, or see the links below for bankruptcy forms.

<div class="floatleft">new bankruptcy law and you</div>

New Bankruptcy
Law and You


Other Law Resources

Personnel Issues

The following resources are good places to start your research on labor laws and practices:

Last updated: --Katie 10:44, 3 Dec 2005 (EST)

Personal tools