Jobs

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
{| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right"
{| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right"
|-
|-
-
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" |''' Local Employers '''
+
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" |''' Unemployment Information'''
 +
*[http://www.in.gov/dwd/ Indiana Department of Workforce Development]
 +
*[http://www.gotoworkone.com/home/index.asp WorkOne Northern Indiana]
 +
*[http://www.in.gov/workcomp/ Worker's Compensation Board]
 +
 +
''' Local Employers '''
*[http://www.iusb.edu/~human/ Indiana University South Bend Jobs]
*[http://www.iusb.edu/~human/ Indiana University South Bend Jobs]
 +
*[http://www.mccormick.com/content.cfm?id=12515 McCormick]
*[http://www.qualityoflife.org/employment/ Memorial Health Systems Jobs]
*[http://www.qualityoflife.org/employment/ Memorial Health Systems Jobs]
*[http://old.sjcpl.org/databases/jobs/ St. Joseph County Public Library Jobs]
*[http://old.sjcpl.org/databases/jobs/ St. Joseph County Public Library Jobs]
Line 12: Line 18:
*[http://www.wsbt.com/about/jobs WSBT Jobs]
*[http://www.wsbt.com/about/jobs WSBT Jobs]
-
'''Local Job Search Links'''
 
 +
'''Local Job Search Links'''
*[http://www.chicagotribune.com/classified/jobs/ Chicago Tribune Search]
*[http://www.chicagotribune.com/classified/jobs/ Chicago Tribune Search]
*[http://www.etruth1.com/ejobs/index.tpl Elkhart Truth Search]
*[http://www.etruth1.com/ejobs/index.tpl Elkhart Truth Search]
Line 27: Line 33:
'''General Job Search Links'''
'''General Job Search Links'''
-
 
*[http://www.ajb.dni.us/ America's Job Bank]
*[http://www.ajb.dni.us/ America's Job Bank]
*[http://www.blackcareerzone.com/ Black Career Zone]
*[http://www.blackcareerzone.com/ Black Career Zone]
Line 38: Line 43:
'''Relocation & Cost of Living'''
'''Relocation & Cost of Living'''
-
 
*[http://www.apartments.com/ Apartment Search]
*[http://www.apartments.com/ Apartment Search]
*[http://money.cnn.com/best/bplive/ Best Places to Live]
*[http://money.cnn.com/best/bplive/ Best Places to Live]
Line 48: Line 52:
'''Resumes'''
'''Resumes'''
-
 
*[http://www.southworth.com/page.php?id=137 Free Resume Templates]
*[http://www.southworth.com/page.php?id=137 Free Resume Templates]
*[http://www.10minuteresume.com/ Ten Minute Resume]
*[http://www.10minuteresume.com/ Ten Minute Resume]
'''Careers'''
'''Careers'''
-
 
*[http://www.acinet.org/acinet/ America's Career Info]
*[http://www.acinet.org/acinet/ America's Career Info]
-
**licensed occupations, <br>industry information
 
*[http://www.bls.gov/oco/cg/home.htm Career Guide to Industries]
*[http://www.bls.gov/oco/cg/home.htm Career Guide to Industries]
*[http://www.careerjournal.com/ Career Journal] <br>(from the Wall Street Journal)
*[http://www.careerjournal.com/ Career Journal] <br>(from the Wall Street Journal)
Line 61: Line 62:
*[http://www.in.gov/pla/ Indiana Professional Licensing Agency]
*[http://www.in.gov/pla/ Indiana Professional Licensing Agency]
*[http://www.learnmoreindiana.org/ Learn More Indiana]
*[http://www.learnmoreindiana.org/ Learn More Indiana]
-
*[http://www.bls.gov/oco/ Occupational Outlook Handbook] <br>(read about career requirements)
+
*[http://www.bls.gov/oco/ Occupational Outlook Handbook]
*[http://www.salaryexpert.com/ Salary Expert Calculator]
*[http://www.salaryexpert.com/ Salary Expert Calculator]
*[http://www.salary.com/ Salary Research]
*[http://www.salary.com/ Salary Research]
-
 
|}
|}
-
==New Books==
+
== Job Resources ==
-
 
+
-
{| cellpadding=10
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=perfect+phrases+for+resumes&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search [[Image:perfect phrases.gif|left|perfect phrases for resumes]]]
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=nail+the+resume&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search [[Image:nail the resume.gif|left|nail the resume]]]
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tquick+resume+and+cover+letter+book/tquick+resume+and+cover+letter+book/1%2C2%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tquick+resume+and+cover+letter+book+write+and+use+an+effective+resume+in+only+one+day&1%2C1%2C [[Image:quick resume and cover letter.gif|left|quick resume and cover letter book]]]
+
-
|-
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=perfect+phrases+for+resumes&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Perfect Phrases <br>for Resumes]
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=nail+the+resume&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Nail the Resume]
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tquick+resume+and+cover+letter+book/tquick+resume+and+cover+letter+book/1%2C2%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=tquick+resume+and+cover+letter+book+write+and+use+an+effective+resume+in+only+one+day&1%2C1%2C Quick Resume <br>and Cover <br>Letter Book]
+
-
|}
+
-
 
+
-
Other new books:
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=15+minute+cover+letter&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search 15 Minute Cover Letter]
+
-
 
+
-
 
+
-
==Job Resources==
+
Browsing our shelves (Dewey Decimal System call numbers): Jobs ~ 331.
Browsing our shelves (Dewey Decimal System call numbers): Jobs ~ 331.
-
===Choosing a Good Career===
+
=== Choosing a Career ===
The following books can help you narrow down your choice of career.
The following books can help you narrow down your choice of career.
Line 94: Line 78:
|[[Image:oohcover.gif|left|80px|Occupational Outlook Handbook]]
|[[Image:oohcover.gif|left|80px|Occupational Outlook Handbook]]
||
||
-
*Chronicle Guidance Career Pamphlet File: Located in File Cabinets on the First Floor of the Main Library, near the Business Reference Tables. See a librarian for assistance. Pamphlets may be checked out. Updates are received four times a year.
+
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=d&searcharg=vocational+guidance&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Vocational Guidance Books]
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=occupational+outlook+handbook&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Occupational Outlook Handbook]
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=occupational+outlook+handbook&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Occupational Outlook Handbook]
**Organized by industry.
**Organized by industry.
**Topics: training/education, <br>experience, type of work, <br>salary, future of career.
**Topics: training/education, <br>experience, type of work, <br>salary, future of career.
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=d&searcharg=vocational+guidance&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Vocational Guidance Books]
+
*<u>Chronicle Guidance Career Pamphlet File</u>: Located in File Cabinets on the First Floor of the Main Library, near the Business Reference Tables. See a librarian for assistance. Pamphlets may be checked out. Updates are received four times a year.
|}
|}
-
===Finding a Job & Getting Hired===
 
-
 
-
*[http://jobstar.org/ JobStar] has great advice for job searching.  It includes information and resumes, careers, and how to go about looking for a job.
 
-
*[http://www.rileyguide.com/ Riley's Guide to Starting a Job Search] is another great resource for finding jobs on the Internet.
 
 +
=== Job Search ===
The following books can help you start or narrow your job search, apply for jobs, and get through job interviews.
The following books can help you start or narrow your job search, apply for jobs, and get through job interviews.
Line 113: Line 94:
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=d&searcharg=resumes+employment&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Resume Writing Books]
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=d&searcharg=resumes+employment&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Resume Writing Books]
-
===Relocation Information===
+
 
 +
=== Finding a Job & Getting Hired ===
 +
 
 +
*[http://jobstar.org/ JobStar] has great advice for job searching.  It includes information and resumes, careers, and how to go about looking for a job.
 +
*[http://www.rileyguide.com/ Riley's Guide to Starting a Job Search] is another great resource for finding jobs on the Internet.
 +
 
 +
 
 +
=== Relocation Information ===
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=d&searcharg=cities+and+towns+ratings+united+states&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Best Places to Live Books]
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=d&searcharg=cities+and+towns+ratings+united+states&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Best Places to Live Books]
-
**[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=st.+joseph+county+indiana+infobook&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search St. Joseph County Infobook & Relocation Guide]
+
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=st.+joseph+county+indiana+infobook&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search St. Joseph County Infobook & Relocation Guide]
-
***Copies of this book are available for free at the Main Library.
+
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=elkhart+county+indiana+handbook&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Elkhart County Handbook & Relocation Guide]
-
**[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=elkhart+county+indiana+handbook&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Elkhart County Handbook & Relocation Guide]
+
-
==Unemployment Information==
+
== Unemployment Information ==
{| cellpadding=10
{| cellpadding=10

Revision as of 13:29, 2 July 2007

Unemployment Information

Local Employers


Local Job Search Links

General Job Search Links

Relocation & Cost of Living

Resumes

Careers


Contents

Job Resources

Browsing our shelves (Dewey Decimal System call numbers): Jobs ~ 331.

Choosing a Career

The following books can help you narrow down your choice of career.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
  • Vocational Guidance Books
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    • Organized by industry.
    • Topics: training/education,
      experience, type of work,
      salary, future of career.
  • Chronicle Guidance Career Pamphlet File: Located in File Cabinets on the First Floor of the Main Library, near the Business Reference Tables. See a librarian for assistance. Pamphlets may be checked out. Updates are received four times a year.


Job Search

The following books can help you start or narrow your job search, apply for jobs, and get through job interviews.


Finding a Job & Getting Hired

  • JobStar has great advice for job searching. It includes information and resumes, careers, and how to go about looking for a job.
  • Riley's Guide to Starting a Job Search is another great resource for finding jobs on the Internet.


Relocation Information


Unemployment Information

Migrant Mother by Dorothea Lange
Personal tools