Homework

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

Revision as of 17:44, 10 May 2007 by Helena (Talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search
Homework Databases

Magazine Databases

Citing Sources

Dictionaries

Homework Subject Guides

Writing Resources

Other Homework Websites

Contents

Ask or IM a Librarian

<div class="floatleft">AskSJCPL</div>


The St. Joseph County Public Library has a variety of ways to ask for assistance from our helpful staff of Librarians. Go to Ask a Librarian to find out how.





Online Databases

The Library has many online databases available to help you with your homework and research needs. Go to Research Resources to access all of our databases. Databases are available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


For homework specfic databases, try the links below.

Homework Databases

Biography Resource Center - Help Sheet
Search for people based on birth or death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a custom search.


CQ Researcher - Help Sheet
Database offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of today’s most important controversial issues. This database is perfect for debates, reports, or research.


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Help Sheet
A dynamic online library of current events topics, which like the print series, includes facts and informed opinions.


World Book Online - Help Sheet
Includes current topics, a dictionary, and links to web pages, magazine articles, pictures and maps.

Magazine Databases

eLibrary - Help Sheet
Full-text articles from various sources -- magazines, newspapers and books. You can search by images, maps, TV & radio scripts, magazines, and books.


Magazines through Inspire
Indiana's INSPIRE provides full text for over 1,820 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.


Did you know that online databases provide sources that don't count as the Internet?

If you need 5 sources for that report, but only 2 can be from the Internet. No worries! Use our online databases. They're just books that have been put online to make life easier for you!


Encyclopedias

The library has encyclopedias available to checkout, however encyclopedias listed as Reference are available for research within the library only. Below is list of encyclopedias available at SJCPL.


Online Encyclopedias



Homework & Research Resources on our Shelves

books

Below are just some of the resources available for your homework and research needs. Most of the sources below are unable to be checked out, but can be used within the library for research. If you would like a website on a particular subject, see the list of links in the upper right corner of the page under "Homework Subject Guides."




Biography

Contemporary Black Biography
Reference series provides biographical profiles of important persons of African heritage. Resource covers personalities from the news, selected 20th-century notables, or individuals who are not yet household names.


Current Biography
Provides objective biographies of prominent individuals from national and international affairs, the sciences, the arts, sports, business, and industry. Includes photographs and index of individuals by profession and occupation. The library carries this resource back to 1940.


Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists
Provides biographies of approximately 1,300 scientists active in this century in the natural, physical and applied sciences, including traditional as well as more recently established fields such as computer science, ecology, engineering and environmental science.


English

Contemporary Authors
Students will find biographical information on more than 120,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters


Contemporary Literary Criticism
Series profiles novelists, poets, playwrights and other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Series includes authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.


Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
Series presents substantial excerpts from the best criticism on the major literary figures and nonfiction writers, including novelists, poets, playwrights and literary theorists, who died between 1900& 1999.


History

American Decades
Examines the changes in American civilization from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present.


American Decades Primary Sources
Presents a collection of primary historical documents that cover the history of the United States in the twentieth century.


Day by Day the 40's-90's
A series of decade-by-decade chronologies of world events designed to provide students with a quick reference to specific events as they happened or were brought to light, and more generally to provide a feel for what it was like to live during the period. Each volume covers world events, cultural life, science, US economy and the environment, nature and technology, and US foreign policy and defense.


Science

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Covers all types of animals in geographic areas around the world.


McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Features more then seven thousand entries covering topics, terms, and concepts of math, science, and technology.


For books to help you with your science fair projects, click on Science Projects for a list of books.


Homework Help @ the Library


  • Children's Services has materials available for homework assignments for kids from preschool age up to 8th grade. For more information, take a look at the our Kid's Place webiste. You can also give them a call at (574) 282-4607, or IM at asksjcplcs.




Homework Hotline

<div class="floatleft">Homework Hotline</div>

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology's Homework Hotline provides FREE math and science homework help to Indiana students in grades 6-12. Students may call the Homework Hotline from 7 p.m. to 10 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time) toll free at 1-877-ASK-ROSE. It's a free service and a free call!

Personal tools