Homework

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Math & Science)
(47 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
-
=='''Databases'''==
+
=='''SJCPL Resources'''==
-
*Many of our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/databases/ databases] are available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card. The databases include full-text magazine and newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, biographical information and more.
+
 
 +
'''Ask a Librarian'''
 +
 
 +
*[http://www.libraryforlife.org/contact/ Contact Us] at St. Joseph County Public Library for assistance.
 +
 
 +
'''Books'''
 +
 
 +
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C%7CSscience+projects%7CFf%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A%7COrightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Science Fair Books] in our collection.
 +
 
 +
'''Online Articles and Information'''
 +
 
 +
*Many of our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/databases databases] are available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card. The databases include full-text magazine and newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, biographical information and more. You may find these databases especially helpful for homework:
 +
 
 +
::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=62 Inspire]: Student Research Center or Kids Search
 +
 
 +
::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=138 Facts on File World New Digest]: includes an encyclopedia and an almanac
 +
 
 +
::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=13 Gale Biography Resource Center]
 +
 
 +
::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=109 Gale Virtual Reference Library]
 +
 
 +
::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=106 Gale LitFinder]: fulltext poems, short stories, speeches, plays, author information
 +
 
 +
::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=96 Gale Contemporary Authors]
 +
 
 +
::[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=108 Science in Context]
 +
 
 +
'''Tutoring Programs'''
 +
 
 +
*Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/los/ Literacy & Outreach Services Department] has a variety of tutoring options.
 +
 
=='''Internet Resources'''==
=='''Internet Resources'''==
-
===Citing Sources===
+
'''Biography'''
-
*[http://citationmachine.net/ Son of a Citation Machine]
+
 
 +
*[http://www.americanpresidents.org/ American Presidents]
 +
 
 +
'''Citing Sources'''
 +
 
*[http://www2.liu.edu/cwis/cwp/library/workshop/citation.htm Citation Style for Research Papers]
*[http://www2.liu.edu/cwis/cwp/library/workshop/citation.htm Citation Style for Research Papers]
-
===Dictionaries===
+
*[http://citationmachine.net/  Son of a Citation Machine]
 +
 
 +
'''Dictionaries'''
 +
 
*[http://www.m-w.com/netdict.htm Merriam-Webster English <br> Dictionary & Thesaurus]
*[http://www.m-w.com/netdict.htm Merriam-Webster English <br> Dictionary & Thesaurus]
-
*[http://www.onelook.com/ OneLook Dictionary & <br> Reverse Dictionary]
 
-
===Encyclopedias===
+
*[http://www.onelook.com/ OneLook Dictionary & <br> Reverse Dictionary]
 +
 
 +
'''Encyclopedias'''
 +
 
*[http://www.britannica.com Encyclopedia Britannica]
*[http://www.britannica.com Encyclopedia Britannica]
-
===Homework Help===
+
*[http://www.pantheon.org/ Encyclopedia Mythica]
 +
 
 +
*[http://www.eoearth.org Encyclopedia of Earth]
 +
 
 +
*[http://eol.org Encyclopedia of Life]
 +
 
 +
'''Homework Help'''
 +
 
 +
*[http://www.discoveryeducation.com/students/index.cfm?campaign=DE&CFID=3185748&CFTOKEN=94769817 Discovery Education]
 +
 
*[http://www.infoplease.com/homework/ Homework Center] from Infoplease Almanac.
*[http://www.infoplease.com/homework/ Homework Center] from Infoplease Almanac.
 +
*[http://www.kcls.org/homework_help Homework Help] from the King County Library System.
*[http://www.kcls.org/homework_help Homework Help] from the King County Library System.
-
*[http://askrose.org/home.php Homework Hotline]
+
 
 +
*[http://askrose.org/students Homework Hotline]
 +
 
*[http://www.homeworkspot.com/high/english/ HomeworkSpot]: includes resources for English, foreign languages, math, science, social studies and more.
*[http://www.homeworkspot.com/high/english/ HomeworkSpot]: includes resources for English, foreign languages, math, science, social studies and more.
 +
*For more language learning resources, please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Language Language Subject Guide].
*For more language learning resources, please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Language Language Subject Guide].
-
===Literary Criticism===
+
'''Literary Criticism'''
-
*[http://www.sparknotes.com/ SparkNotes]
+
 
*[http://www.cliffsnotes.com/WileyCDA/ Cliffs Notes]
*[http://www.cliffsnotes.com/WileyCDA/ Cliffs Notes]
-
===Math & Science===
+
*[http://www.sparknotes.com/ SparkNotes]
 +
 
 +
'''Math & Science'''
 +
 
 +
*[http://www.algebrahelp.com/ Algebra Help]
 +
 
*[http://mathforum.org/dr.math/ Ask Dr. Math]
*[http://mathforum.org/dr.math/ Ask Dr. Math]
-
*[http://planetmath.org/ PlanetMath.org]
+
 
 +
*[http://scienceworld.wolfram.com/ Eric Weisstein's World of Science]
 +
 
*[http://education.nationalgeographic.com/education/st/?ar_a=4 National Geographic Education]
*[http://education.nationalgeographic.com/education/st/?ar_a=4 National Geographic Education]
-
*[http://mathworld.wolfram.com/ Wolfram MathWorld]
+
 
 +
*[http://planetmath.org/ PlanetMath.org]
 +
 
*[http://undsci.berkeley.edu Understanding Science]
*[http://undsci.berkeley.edu Understanding Science]
-
===Social Studies and History===
+
*[http://mathworld.wolfram.com/ Wolfram MathWorld]
 +
 
 +
'''Social Studies and History'''
 +
 
*[http://www.50states.com/ 50 States]
*[http://www.50states.com/ 50 States]
-
*[https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/ The CIA World Factbook]
+
 
*[http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html The American Memory Site]
*[http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html The American Memory Site]
 +
 +
*[http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml Census Township Finder]
 +
 +
*[https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/ The CIA World Factbook]
 +
 +
*[http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/ Country Studies] from the Library of Congress
 +
*[http://www.fedstats.gov/mapstats/ Federal MapStats]
*[http://www.fedstats.gov/mapstats/ Federal MapStats]
 +
 +
*[http://www.nationmaster.com/index.php NationMaster]
 +
*[http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/  Statistical Abstract of the United States]
*[http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/  Statistical Abstract of the United States]
 +
*[http://www.stats.indiana.edu/ Stats Indiana]
*[http://www.stats.indiana.edu/ Stats Indiana]
-
*[http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml Census Township Finder]
+
 
*[http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/ucr Uniform Crime Reports] Crime statistics from the FBI
*[http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/ucr Uniform Crime Reports] Crime statistics from the FBI
-
===Writing===
+
'''Study Skills'''
-
*[http://www.bartleby.com/141/ Elements of Style]
+
-
=='''Books'''==
+
*[http://howtostudy.org/ How to Study]
-
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C%7CSscience+projects%7CFf%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A%7COrightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Science Fair Books] in our collection.
+
'''Writing'''
-
=='''Tutoring Programs'''==
+
*[http://www.bartleby.com/141/ Elements of Style]
-
Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/los/ Literacy & Outreach Services Department] has a variety of tutoring options.
+
-
 
+
-
=='''Ask a Librarian'''==
+
-
[http://www.libraryforlife.org/contact/ Contact Us] at St. Joseph County Public Library for assistance.
 
[[Category: Education]]
[[Category: Education]]

Revision as of 22:18, 26 December 2012

SJCPL Resources

Ask a Librarian

  • Contact Us at St. Joseph County Public Library for assistance.

Books

Online Articles and Information

  • Many of our databases are available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card. The databases include full-text magazine and newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, biographical information and more. You may find these databases especially helpful for homework:
Inspire: Student Research Center or Kids Search
Facts on File World New Digest: includes an encyclopedia and an almanac
Gale Biography Resource Center
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale LitFinder: fulltext poems, short stories, speeches, plays, author information
Gale Contemporary Authors
Science in Context

Tutoring Programs


Internet Resources

Biography

Citing Sources

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Homework Help

  • HomeworkSpot: includes resources for English, foreign languages, math, science, social studies and more.

Literary Criticism

Math & Science

Social Studies and History

Study Skills

Writing

Personal tools