History-Genealogy Websites

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

Revision as of 20:41, 30 May 2007 by Maire (Talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Recommended Local and Family History Websites

St. Joseph County Research

1866 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1874 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1875 St. Joseph County Atlas
Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1875 Illustrated Historical Atlas of St. Joseph County, Indiana, including plat maps, biographies, and engravings.


1890 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1936 St. Joseph County Platbook
Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1936 Index Map of St. Joseph County, Indiana, which shows all landowners in the unincorporated areas of the county at that time.


Adoption Information
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth families for adoptees. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching this important event.


Finding Birth Dates for Foreign-Born Relatives
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth dates for foreign-born relatives. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for tracing your family back to the "old country."


Hannah Lindahl Children's Museum - Archives
Find out about the resources in the Children's Museum's Archives, including Mishawaka school records and online photographs.


HeritageQuest Online - Online books
Read digital versions of the following books: Marriage Records St Joseph County [index 1830-1882]; South Bend and the Men Who Have Made It; Historic Background of South Bend and St. Joseph County; History of St. Joseph County Indiana (1880); Pictorial and Biographical Memoirs of Elkhart and St. Joseph Counties Indiana and more. Choose the "Search Books" option from the homepage. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


House Research
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to research the history of your house. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for the research process.


IUSB Archives
Visit the Archives of Indiana University at South Bend to read more about local notable James Lewis Casaday and the theater-related collection IUSB holds.


Local & Family History Services of the St. Joseph County Public Library
See the historical and genealogical databases we have put online, use subscription databases in the library or from home with a St. Joseph County Public Library card, and see what we have in our collection.


Lucky Ladewski Papers
Search through digitized papers on Polish residents of South Bend from the collection amassed by genealogist Gertrude T. (Stachowiak) "Lucky" Ladewski.


Michiana Area Council of Governments GIS System
Research your house and neighborhood using this free public source of homeowner information. See an aerial picture of your St. Joseph County or Elkhart County home!


Mishawaka-Penn-Harris Public Library - Heritage Room
See what resources MPHPL's genealogy and local history department has. Search through the Hannah Lindahl Children's Museum and MPHPL Online Archive, which includes many photographs.


Northern Indiana Center for History
Find information on South Bend's Center for History. Read about the people, places, and events that have shaped St. Joseph County history.


Notre Dame University - Archives
Search the collections of Notre Dame's Archives, including Notre Dame records and local manuscript collections.


Obituary Index
This free online database is an index to obituaries that appeared in the South Bend Tribune for people who died in St. Joseph County from 1913 to the present.


Polish Genealogical Society of America
Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.


St. Joseph County Cemeteries
Find a list of all the cemeteries in St. Joseph County, along with directions.


St. Joseph County GenWeb
See how to obtain vital records in St. Joseph County, find information about your Polish immigrant ancestors, and search free local databases.


St. Joseph County Government
Get contact information for the County Clerk and County Archives, where you can find guardianship, marriage, divorce, and probate records; the County Health Department, where you can get birth and death records; and the County Recorder, where you can locate land records.


Saint Mary's College - Archives
See how to find photographs, scrapbooks, and manuscripts about Saint Mary's College.


Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital
View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Service Notes Index
Search an index to the Service Notes that were printed in the South Bend Tribune during the World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War eras.


South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS)
Browse the home page of the South Bend Area Genealogical Society. Search an online index to St. Joseph County marriages from 1924 to 1957. View historic and modern photographs of the South Bend and Mishawaka area, along with maps and other databases.


South Bend Tribune's Online Archives
Search this online database of South Bend Tribune articles published since 1998. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Walkerton Area Historical Society
Search for local information on southern St. Joseph County, as well as photographs of the area.


Indiana Research

Allen County Public Library - Historical Genealogy Department
Search the catalog of the Allen County Public Library at Fort Wayne, the second-largest genealogy library in the world. Look at their online databases, including vital statistics indexes and cemetery transcriptions for the Allen County area.


Elkhart County Genealogical Society
Find out about the Society and its library, events, and publications.


Elkhart County Historical Society Museum
Find out about the Society and its museum in Bristol, one of the top ten local history museums in Indiana.


Fulton County Public Library
Read digitized copies of books compiled by Jean and Wendall Tombough for Fulton County and other counties including: cemetery records for Fulton, Marshall, Miami and Kosciusko Counties; Fulton County obituaries; federal censuses; poor farm records; school enumerations; newspaper excerpts; marriage and death indexes; and will abstracts.


Indiana Genealogical Society
Find information on the Indiana Genealogical Society. Post and search research queries.


Indiana GenWeb
Find online information about Indiana genealogy. Search indexes to vital records, see cemetery transcriptions, get research help, and more. Look at information about Indiana as a whole or about particular counties.


Indiana Historical Society
Find information on the Indiana Historical Society.


Indiana Magazine of History Online Index
Search an index to the Indiana Magazine of History, from 1905 to 2004. Find a reference to an interesting article, then come to Local & Family History Services to read it.


Indiana State Archives - Databases
Search the Indiana State Archives' online databases, including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records.


Indiana State Library - Genealogy Division
Search the ISL's online databases, including indexes to pre-1851 and 1993-2002 Indiana marriage records and nineteenth-century Indianapolis newspapers. Choose reels of microfilmed newspapers from their collection, and borrow them through interlibrary loan here at the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Indiana Vital Records
Find out how to order Indiana birth, death, marriage and divorce records.


Indiana's World War II Dead in the South Pacific
Browse a volunteer-run web site about Indiana's World War II servicemen who died in the South Pacific. The site features photographs of the Manila American Cemetery in the Philippines, along with lists of the soldiers and sailors honored there.


Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital
View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


VINE - Vital INformation Exchange
Search for your family names in vital records, local history, and other genealogical sources in this state-wide surname index.


Midwestern Region Research

Chicago Tribune (1858-1985)
Search this database of articles and pages from the Chicago Tribune, going back as far as the 1850s and continuing through 1985. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Illiana Jewish Genealogical Society
Get information on Jewish genealogy in the Illinois-Indiana area, and find out about membership and projects.


Making of Modern Michigan
Search through digital images, diaries, newspaper clippings, indexes and more. Find a Michigan ancestor or town in this digital library project, created by a coalition of Michigan public libraries.


NewspaperARCHIVE
View online newspapers from across the United States for many time periods. Searchable by personal name, keyword, location, date, and title. Indiana newspapers are not included; but the archive does include newspapers for St. Joseph, Michigan, 1868-1889 and 1943-1962; Benton Harbor, Michigan, 1926-1977; and DuPage County, Illinois, 1901-1995.


Niles District Library - Local History Room
Search the online catalog for books in the Niles Library's Local History Room, search their online obituary index to Niles area newspapers, and learn about other aspects of the collections so you can plan your visit.


Potawatomi Genealogy
Find out how to search for Potawatomi ancestors, on this site created by volunteers from the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation in Kansas. Read about the Potawatomi people and language.


Southwest Michigan Obituary Index
Search an index of over 76,000 obituaries for Allegan, Berrien, Cass, Kalamazoo, and Van Buren counties.


National Research

Ancestry Library Edition
From any branch of the Library, search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Bureau of Land Management - Government Land Office
Search the BLM's database of federal government land records, going back to the 1800s.


Castle Garden
Search a database of immigration records for people who entered this country through New York City between 1855 and 1892.


Charts and Forms
View and print out blank pedigree charts, family group sheets, census forms, research calendars, and source summaries.


Chicago Tribune (1858-1985)
With your Library card, search this database of articles and pages from the Chicago Tribune, going back as far as the 1850s and continuing through 1985. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Cyndi's List
Look through a comprehensive, searchable collection of hundreds of thousands of genealogy-related links.


Death Indexes
Search this directory of online death indexes, obituaries, death records, cemetery records, and more.


Ellis Island Foundation
Search immigration records for people who entered the country through New York City between 1892 and 1924.


FamilySearch, from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
Access the Mormon Church's library catalog to see what microfilms you can have delivered to your nearest Family History Center. Search the 1880 United States Census. Find your ancestors in the International Genealogical Index or Ancestral File.


HeritageQuest Online
Search databases covering most available United States censuses, digitized local history and genealogy books, PERSI (the PERiodical Source Index to genealogy magazines), digitized Revolutionary War pension and bounty land records, and Freedman's Bank files. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Library of Congress - Local History & Genealogy
Find tips on genealogy and local history research and locate sources. Get access to the Library of Congress's famous American Memory web site, with more than 5 million digital photographs, diaries, song scores, pamphlets, and other materials.


National Archives - Genealogy
Find information on doing genealogical research, locating and ordering records, and more.


New England Ancestors
Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


NewspaperARCHIVE
View online newspapers from across the United States for many time periods. Searchable by personal name, keyword, location, date, and title. Indiana newspapers are not included; but the archive does include newspapers for St. Joseph, Michigan, 1868-1889 and 1943-1962; Benton Harbor, Michigan, 1926-1977; and DuPage County, Illinois, 1901-1995.


Polish Genealogical Society of America
Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.


RootsWeb
Find and share information with other genealogists. Search free databases, including World Connect family trees and vital statistics indexes. Post to message boards or join e-mail lists. View thousands of genealogy-related web pages hosted on the site.


Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital
View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Social Security Death Index
Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number.


USGenWeb
Look at web sites and search databases for the whole country, various regions, particular states, and many counties on this volunteer-run web site.


WorldCat
Search this catalog of materials held in more than 7,600 libraries in the United States and the rest of the world, including public, academic, state, and national libraries; archives; and historical societies.


Vital Records, Local

Lucky Ladewski Papers
Search through digitized family group sheets for Polish residents of St. Joseph County from the collection amassed by genealogist Gertrude T. (Stachowiak) "Lucky" Ladewski.


Obituary Index
This free online database is an index to obituaries that appeared in the South Bend Tribune for people who died in St. Joseph County from 1913 to the present.


Polish Genealogical Society of America
Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery.


St. Joseph County GenWeb
See how to obtain vital records in St. Joseph County and browse free indexes.


St. Joseph County Government
Get contact information for the County Clerk and County Archives, where you can find guardianship, marriage, divorce, and probate records, and the County Health Department, where you can get birth and death records.


South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS)
Browse the home page of the South Bend Area Genealogical Society. Search an online index to St. Joseph County marriages from 1924 to 1957.


Vital Records, Indiana

Indiana GenWeb
Search indexes to vital records, see cemetery transcriptions, get research help, and more. Look at information about Indiana as a whole or about particular counties.


Indiana State Library - Genealogy Division
Search the ISL's online databases, including indexes to pre-1851 and 1993-2002 Indiana marriage records and nineteenth-century Indianapolis newspapers. Choose reels of microfilmed newspapers from their collection, and borrow them through interlibrary loan here at the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Indiana Vital Records
Find out how to order Indiana birth, death, marriage and divorce records.


Vital Records, National

Adoption Information
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth families for adoptees. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching this important event.


Ancestry Library Edition
Search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Death Indexes
Search this directory of online death indexes, obituaries, death records, cemetery records, and more.


Finding Birth Dates for Foreign-Born Relatives
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth dates for foreign-born relatives. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for tracing your family back to the "old country."


New England Ancestors
Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


RootsWeb
Find and share information with other genealogists. Search free databases, including World Connect family trees and vital statistics indexes. Post to message boards or join e-mail lists. View thousands of genealogy-related web pages hosted on the site.


Social Security Death Index
Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number.


Ethnic Research

Ancestry Library Edition
Search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Belgian American Historical Society of Chicago
Explore this site which documents the history of Belgian immigration to the Midwest, and send a query about Belgian surnames.


Castle Garden
Search a database of immigration records for people who entered this country through New York City between 1855 and 1892.


Ellis Island Foundation
Search immigration records for people who entered the country through New York City between 1892 and 1924.


Finding Birth Dates for Foreign-Born Relatives
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth dates for foreign-born relatives. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for tracing your family back to the "old country."


HeritageQuest Online
Search the Freedman's Bank records, which are bank account applications for former slaves from 1865-1874. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Illiana Jewish Genealogical Society
Get information on Jewish genealogy in the Illinois-Indiana area, and find out about membership and projects.


Indiana State Archives - Databases
Search the Indiana State Archives' online databases, including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records.


Lucky Ladewski Papers
Search through digitized papers on Polish residents of St. Joseph County from the collection amassed by genealogist Gertrude T. (Stachowiak) "Lucky" Ladewski.


National Archives - Genealogy
Find information on doing genealogical research, locating and ordering immigration records, and more.


Polish Genealogical Society of America
Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.


Potawatomi Genealogy
Find out how to search for Potawatomi ancestors, on this site created by volunteers from the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation in Kansas. Read about the Potawatomi people and language.


St. Joseph County GenWeb
See how to obtain vital records in St. Joseph County, find information about your immigrant ancestors, and search free local databases.


Land and Property Research

1866 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1874 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1875 St. Joseph County Atlas
Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1875 Illustrated Historical Atlas of St. Joseph County, Indiana, including plat maps, biographies, and engravings.


1890 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1936 St. Joseph County Platbook
Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1936 Index Map of St. Joseph County, Indiana, which shows all landowners in the unincorporated areas of the county at that time.


Bureau of Land Management - Government Land Office
Search the BLM's database of federal government land records, going back to the 1800s.


Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
Search for towns, cemeteries, churches, schools, historical buildings or features, waterways, and more in a database covering the entire United States. After finding hits, you can view them on any number of free government mapping sites, such as aerial view, topographic, and others.


House Research
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to research the history of your house. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for the research process.


Indiana State Archives - Databases
Search the Indiana State Archives' online databases, including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records.


Michiana Area Council of Governments GIS System
Research your house and neighborhood using this free public source of homeowner information. See an aerial picture of your St. Joseph County or Elkhart County home!


New England Ancestors
Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital
View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


St. Joseph County Government
Get contact information for the County Recorder, where you can locate land records.


South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS)
Browse the home page of the South Bend Area Genealogical Society. View historic and modern photographs of the South Bend and Mishawaka area, along with maps and other databases.


Last updated by: Sara Allen, April 17, 2007

Personal tools