History-Genealogy Websites

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Recommended Local History & Genealogy Websites)
Line 98: Line 98:
{|  style="background:silver"
{|  style="background:silver"
|-  
|-  
-
|  [http://old.sjcpl.org/databases/servicenotes/servicenotes.html Service Notes Index]  Search an index to the Service Notes that were printed in the South Bend Tribune during the World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War eras.  
+
|  [http://www.libraryforlife.org/servicenotes/index.php Service Notes Index]  Search an index to the Service Notes that were printed in the South Bend Tribune during the World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War eras.  
|}
|}
[http://ssdi.genealogy.rootsweb.com/ Social Security Death Index]  Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number.  
[http://ssdi.genealogy.rootsweb.com/ Social Security Death Index]  Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number.  

Revision as of 13:14, 9 June 2006

Recommended Local History & Genealogy Websites

Allen County Public Library - Historical Genealogy Department Search the catalog of the Allen County Public Library at Fort Wayne, the second-largest genealogy library in the world. Look at their online databases, including vital statistics indexes and cemetery transcriptions for the Allen County area.

Ancestry Search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.

Bureau of Land Management - Government Land Office Search the BLM's database of federal government land records, going back to the 1800s.

Castle Garden Search a database of immigration records for people who entered this country through New York City between 1855 and 1892.

Charts and Forms View and print out blank pedigree charts, family group sheets, census forms, research calendars, and source summaries.

Chicago Tribune (1858-1985) Search this database of articles and pages from the Chicago Tribune, going back as far as the 1850s and continuing through 1985. Available from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.

Cyndi's List Look through a comprehensive, searchable collection of hundreds of thousands of genealogy-related links.

Death Indexes Search this directory of online death indexes, obituaries, death records, cemetery records, and more.

Elkhart County Genealogical Society Find out about the Society and its library, events, and publications.

Elkhart County Historical Society Museum Find out about the Society and its museum in Bristol, one of the top ten local history museums in Indiana.

Ellis Island Foundation Search immigration records for people who entered the country through New York City between 1892 and 1924.

FamilySearch, from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints Access the Mormon Church's library catalog to see what microfilms you can have delivered to your nearest Family History Center. Search the 1880 United States Census. Find your ancestors in the International Genealogical Index or Ancestral File.

Hannah Lindahl Children's Museum - Archives Find out about the resources in the Children's Museum's Archives, including school records and online photographs.

HeritageQuest Online Search databases covering most available United States censuses, digitized local history and genealogy books, PERSI (the PERiodical Source Index to genealogy magazines) and digitized Revolutionary War pension and bounty land records. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.

Indiana Genealogical Society Find information on the Indiana Genealogical Society. Post and search research queries.

Indiana GenWeb Find online information about Indiana genealogy. Search indexes to vital records, see cemetery transcriptions, get research help, and more. Look at information about Indiana as a whole or about particular counties.

Indiana Historical Society Find information on the Indiana Historical Society.

Indiana Magazine of History Online Index Search an index to the Indiana Magazine of History, from 1905 to 2004. Find a reference to an interesting article, then come to the Local History & Genealogy Room to read it.

Indiana State Archives - Databases Search the Indiana State Archives' online databases, including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records.

Indiana State Library - Genealogy Division Search the ISL's online databases, including indexes to pre-1851 Indiana marriage records and nineteenth-century Indianapolis newspapers. Choose reels of microfilmed newspapers from their collection, and borrow them through interlibrary loan here at the St. Joseph County Public Library.

Indiana Vital Records Find out how to order Indiana birth, death, marriage and divorce records.

Indiana's World War II Dead in the South Pacific Browse a volunteer-run web site about Indiana's World War II servicemen who died in the South Pacific. The site features photographs of the Manila American Cemetery in the Philippines, along with lists of the soldiers and sailors honored there.

IUSB Archives Visit the Archives of Indiana State University at South Bend to read more about local notable James Lewis Casaday and the theater-related collection IUSB holds.

Library of Congress - Local History & Genealogy Find tips on genealogy and local history research and locate sources. Get access to the Library of Congress's famous American Memory web site, with more than 5 million digital photographs, diaries, song scores, pamphlets, and other materials.

Local History & Genealogy Room of the St. Joseph County Public Library See the historical and genealogical databases we have put online, use subscription databases in the library or from home with a St. Joseph County Public Library card, and see what we have in our collection.

Making of Modern Michigan Search through digital images, diaries, newspaper clippings, indexes and more. Find a Michigan ancestor or town in this digital library project, created by a coalition of Michigan public libraries.

Mishawaka-Penn-Harris Public Library - Heritage Room See what resources MPPL's genealogy and local history department has. Search through the Hannah Lindahl Children's Museum and MPPL Online Archive, which includes many photographs.

National Archives - Genealogy Find information on doing genealogical research, locating and ordering records, and more.

New England Ancestors Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.

Northern Indiana Center for History Find information on South Bend's Center for History. Read about the people, places, and events that have shaped St. Joseph County history.

Notre Dame University - Archives Search the collections of Notre Dame's Archives, including Notre Dame records and local manuscript collections.

Obituary Index This free online database is an index to obituaries that appeared in the South Bend Tribune for people who died in St. Joseph County from 1913 to the present.

Polish Genealogical Society of America Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.

Potawatomi Genealogy Find out how to search for Potawatomi ancestors, on this site created by volunteers from the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation in Kansas. Read about the Potawatomi people and language.

RootsWeb Find and share information with other genealogists. Search free databases, including World Connect family trees and vital statistics indexes. Post to message boards or join e-mail lists. View thousands of genealogy-related web pages hosted on the site.

St. Joseph County GenWeb See how to obtain vital records in St. Joseph County, find information about your Polish immigrant ancestors, and search free local databases.

St. Joseph County Government Get contact information for the County Clerk and County Archives, where you can find guardianship, marriage, divorce, and probate records; the County Health Department, where you can get birth and death records; and the County Recorder, where you can locate land records.

Saint Mary's College - Archives See how to find photographs, scrapbooks, and manuscripts about St. Mary's College.

Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.

Service Notes Index Search an index to the Service Notes that were printed in the South Bend Tribune during the World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War eras.

Social Security Death Index Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number.

South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS) Browse the home page of the South Bend Genealogical Society. Search an online index to St. Joseph County marriages from 1924 to 1957. View historic and modern photographs of the South Bend and Mishawaka area, along with maps and other databases.

South Bend Tribune's Online Archives Available though Indiana Newspapers going back to 1991. Available from home with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card.

USGenWeb Look at web sites and search databases for the whole country, various regions, particular states, and many counties on this volunteer-run web site.

Walkerton Area Historical Society Search for local information on Southern St. Joseph County, as well as photographs of the area.

WorldCat Search this catalog of materials held in more than 7,600 libraries in the United States and the rest of the world, including public, academic, state, and national libraries; archives; and historical societies.



Last updated by: Libby Feil, June 7, 2006

Personal tools