History-Genealogy Websites

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(National Research)
(Added link to IndianaMAP under Land & Property Research)
 
(31 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 7: Line 7:
[http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/r?ammem/gmd:@field(NUMBER+@band(g4094s+pm002030)) 1874 Map of South Bend] <br /> Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, [http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html American Memory collection.] <br />
[http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/r?ammem/gmd:@field(NUMBER+@band(g4094s+pm002030)) 1874 Map of South Bend] <br /> Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, [http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html American Memory collection.] <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=54 1875 St. Joseph County Atlas] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1875 <i>Illustrated Historical Atlas of St. Joseph County, Indiana</i>, including plat maps, biographies, and engravings. <br />
+
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=124 1875 St. Joseph County Atlas] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1875 <i>Illustrated Historical Atlas of St. Joseph County, Indiana</i>, including plat maps, biographies, and engravings. <br />
----
----
[http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/r?ammem/gmd:@field(NUMBER+@band(g4094s+pm002040)) 1890 Map of South Bend] <br /> Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, [http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html American Memory collection.] <br />
[http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/r?ammem/gmd:@field(NUMBER+@band(g4094s+pm002040)) 1890 Map of South Bend] <br /> Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, [http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html American Memory collection.] <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=52 ca. 1910 South Bend YMCA Book] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of <i>A Manhood Factory in the Center of South Bend's Greatest Industries</i>, featuring text and illustrations of people, the YMCA, and the community. <br />
+
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=131 ca. 1910 South Bend YMCA Book] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of <i>A Manhood Factory in the Center of South Bend's Greatest Industries</i>, featuring text and illustrations of people, the YMCA, and the community. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=49 1910 South Bend and Mishawaka Elks Convention Book] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of <i>Official Souvenir, 9th Annual Convention, Indiana State Association, B.P.O.E., South Bend, Indiana</i>, featuring text and illustrations of people, businesses, and the community. <br />
+
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=130 1910 South Bend and Mishawaka Elks Convention Book] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of <i>Official Souvenir, 9th Annual Convention, Indiana State Association, B.P.O.E., South Bend, Indiana</i>, featuring text and illustrations of people, businesses, and the community. <br />
----
----
[http://www.archive.org/stream/polksouthbendind00polk#page/n7/mode/2up 1921 South Bend & Mishawaka City Directory] <br /> Search or browse through a digital version of <i> Polk's South Bend & Mishawaka City Directory</i> for 1921.  Searchable by personal or business name or by reverse lookup by street name and house number. <br />
[http://www.archive.org/stream/polksouthbendind00polk#page/n7/mode/2up 1921 South Bend & Mishawaka City Directory] <br /> Search or browse through a digital version of <i> Polk's South Bend & Mishawaka City Directory</i> for 1921.  Searchable by personal or business name or by reverse lookup by street name and house number. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=55 1936 St. Joseph County Plat Book] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1936 <i>Index Map of St. Joseph County, Indiana</i>, which shows all landowners in the unincorporated areas of the county at that time. <br />
+
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=125 1936 St. Joseph County Plat Book] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1936 <i>Index Map of St. Joseph County, Indiana</i>, which shows all landowners in the unincorporated areas of the county at that time. <br />
----
----
[http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/Finding_Birth_Families Adoption Information] <br /> Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth families for adoptees. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching this important event. <br />
[http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/Finding_Birth_Families Adoption Information] <br /> Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth families for adoptees. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching this important event. <br />
Line 47: Line 47:
[http://www.nd.edu/~archives Notre Dame University - Archives] <br />  Search the collections of Notre Dame's Archives, including Notre Dame records and local manuscript collections. <br />
[http://www.nd.edu/~archives Notre Dame University - Archives] <br />  Search the collections of Notre Dame's Archives, including Notre Dame records and local manuscript collections. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=36 Obituary Index] <br /> This free online database is an index to obituaries that appeared in the ''South Bend Tribune'' for people who died in St. Joseph County from 1913 to the present. <br />
+
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=126 Obituary Index] <br /> This free online database is an index to obituaries that appeared in the ''South Bend Tribune'' for people who died in St. Joseph County from 1913 to the present. <br />
----
----
[http://www.pgsa.org/ Polish Genealogical Society of America] <br /> Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery and the St. Joseph Polish Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.  <br />
[http://www.pgsa.org/ Polish Genealogical Society of America] <br /> Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery and the St. Joseph Polish Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.  <br />
Line 65: Line 65:
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=53 Service Notes Index] <br /> Search an index to the Service Notes that were printed in the ''South Bend Tribune'' during the World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War eras.  <br />
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=53 Service Notes Index] <br /> Search an index to the Service Notes that were printed in the ''South Bend Tribune'' during the World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War eras.  <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.rootsweb.com/~insbags/ South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS)] <br /> Browse the home page of the South Bend Area Genealogical Society. Search an online index to St. Joseph County marriages from 1924 to 1957. View historic and modern photographs of the South Bend and Mishawaka area, along with maps and many other databases and indexes.  <br />
+
[http://www.rootsweb.com/~insbags/ South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS)] <br /> Browse the home page of the South Bend Area Genealogical Society. Search an online index to St. Joseph County marriages from 1922 to February 1989. View historic and modern photographs of the South Bend and Mishawaka area, along with maps and many other databases and indexes.  <br />
----  
----  
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=30 <i>South Bend Tribune</i>'s Online Archives] <br />  Search this online database of ''South Bend Tribune'' articles published since March 1998. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card. <br />
+
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=114 <i>South Bend Tribune</i>'s Online Archives] <br />  Search this online database of ''South Bend Tribune'' articles published since March 1998. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card. <br />
----
----
[http://southlawn.palmerfuneralhomes.com/genealogy.htm Southlawn Cemetery] <br /> Search for individual's names and burial plot locations in Southlawn Cemetery in South Bend. <br />
[http://southlawn.palmerfuneralhomes.com/genealogy.htm Southlawn Cemetery] <br /> Search for individual's names and burial plot locations in Southlawn Cemetery in South Bend. <br />
Line 147: Line 147:
===National Research===
===National Research===
 +
[http://www.1940census.archives.gov/ 1940 Census (National Archives)] <br /> Browse through the 1940 United States census images for the very first time on April 2, 2012. Since there is not yet an index, you may need assistance using the website and finding your ancestors. Come see us in Local & Family History Services for expert help. One way to find family without an index is by address. If you can research your family's 1940 address through old documents, family records, 1940 city directories, or old letters, you will be able to search the area around that address for your family. <br />
 +
----
 +
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=127 American Ancestors, formerly New England Ancestors] <br /> Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.  <br />
 +
----
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=42  Ancestry Library Edition]  <br /> Search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library. <br />
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=42  Ancestry Library Edition]  <br /> Search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library. <br />
----
----
[http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/ Bureau of Land Management - General Land Office] <br /> Search the BLM's database of federal government land records, going back to the 1800s.  <br />
[http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/ Bureau of Land Management - General Land Office] <br /> Search the BLM's database of federal government land records, going back to the 1800s.  <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.castlegarden.org/ Castle Garden] <br /> Search a database of immigration records for people who entered this country through New York City between 1855 and 1892.  <br />
+
[Castle Garden] <br /> Search a database of immigration records for people who entered this country through New York City between 1855 and 1892. [*January 2012: Caution, this website seems to be infected with a computer virus or other problem. Do not use until this is fixed!] <br />
----
----
[http://www.ancestry.com/learn/ContentCenters/contentCenter.aspx?page=trees&sp=forms Charts and Forms]  <br /> View and print out blank pedigree charts, family group sheets, census forms, research calendars, and source summaries. <br />
[http://www.ancestry.com/learn/ContentCenters/contentCenter.aspx?page=trees&sp=forms Charts and Forms]  <br /> View and print out blank pedigree charts, family group sheets, census forms, research calendars, and source summaries. <br />
Line 173: Line 177:
[http://www.linkpendium.com/ Linkpendium] <br /> View thousands of links to genealogy websites for the United States, the United Kingdom and surnames. <br />
[http://www.linkpendium.com/ Linkpendium] <br /> View thousands of links to genealogy websites for the United States, the United Kingdom and surnames. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.archives.gov/genealogy National Archives - Genealogy]  <br /> Find information on doing genealogical research, locating and ordering records, and more.  <br />
+
[http://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/index.html National Archives - Genealogy]  <br /> Find information on doing genealogical research, locating and ordering records, and more.  <br />
-
----
+
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=24 New England Ancestors] <br /> Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.  <br />
+
----
----
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=51 NewspaperARCHIVE] <br /> View online newspapers from across the United States for many time periods.  Searchable by personal name, keyword, location, date, and title. The archive includes some newspapers from Anderson, Cambridge City, Chester, Ft. Wayne, Gary, Hammond, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Logansport, Montpelier, and Valparaiso, Indiana; from various Michigan cities, including Benton Harbor, Holland, Saint Joseph, and Traverse City; and from 31 Illinois cities, including Chicago’s suburbs.  Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card.<br />
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=51 NewspaperARCHIVE] <br /> View online newspapers from across the United States for many time periods.  Searchable by personal name, keyword, location, date, and title. The archive includes some newspapers from Anderson, Cambridge City, Chester, Ft. Wayne, Gary, Hammond, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Logansport, Montpelier, and Valparaiso, Indiana; from various Michigan cities, including Benton Harbor, Holland, Saint Joseph, and Traverse City; and from 31 Illinois cities, including Chicago’s suburbs.  Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card.<br />
Line 185: Line 187:
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital] <br />  View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card. <br />
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital] <br />  View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card. <br />
----
----
-
[http://ssdi.genealogy.rootsweb.com/ Social Security Death Index (SSDI)] <br /> Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number. <br />
+
[https://familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://hr-search-api:8080/searchapi/search/collection/1202535 Social Security Death Index (SSDI)] <br /> Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number. <br />
----
----
[http://www.usgenweb.org/ USGenWeb] <br />  Look at genealogical web sites (with record transcriptions, addresses of libraries/archives, lookups, queries, history, and more) for each state and most counties on this volunteer-run web site. Also view national projects such as the [http://www.usgwtombstones.org/index.html Tombstone Transcription Project.] <br />  
[http://www.usgenweb.org/ USGenWeb] <br />  Look at genealogical web sites (with record transcriptions, addresses of libraries/archives, lookups, queries, history, and more) for each state and most counties on this volunteer-run web site. Also view national projects such as the [http://www.usgwtombstones.org/index.html Tombstone Transcription Project.] <br />  
Line 193: Line 195:
===Vital Records, Local===
===Vital Records, Local===
-
[http://www.burgenland-bunch.org/homepage.htm Burgenland Genealogy] <br /> Search through surnames, village names, queries, maps, censuses and much more data on former residents of the Burgenland, a province in Austria, that is home to Germans, Austrians, Hungarians, and Croats. View a [http://www.burgenland-bunch.org/BH&R/in-home.htm list] of Burgenlanders buried in South Bend. <br />
+
[http://www.the-burgenland-bunch.org/homepage.htm Burgenland Genealogy] <br /> Search through surnames, village names, queries, maps, censuses and much more data on former residents of the Burgenland, a province in Austria, that is home to Germans, Austrians, Hungarians, and Croats. View a [http://www.the-burgenland-bunch.org/BH&R/homelinks/data/in-names.htm list] of Burgenlanders buried in South Bend. <br />
----
----
[http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~instjose/immigration/hungarian/Chris_Kovach/hungarian-chris-kovach.htm Hungarian Records - St. Joseph Co.] <br /> Search for your St. Joseph County Hungarian ancestors in these abstracts of vital records, church records, immigration records, obituaries, funeral home and cemetery records compiled by genealogist Chris Kovach. <br />   
[http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~instjose/immigration/hungarian/Chris_Kovach/hungarian-chris-kovach.htm Hungarian Records - St. Joseph Co.] <br /> Search for your St. Joseph County Hungarian ancestors in these abstracts of vital records, church records, immigration records, obituaries, funeral home and cemetery records compiled by genealogist Chris Kovach. <br />   
Line 199: Line 201:
[http://www.rootsweb.com/~instjose/LadewskiPapers/lucky.htm Lucky Ladewski Papers] <br /> Search through digitized family group sheets for Polish residents of St. Joseph County from the collection amassed by genealogist Gertrude T. (Stachowiak) "Lucky" Ladewski. <br />
[http://www.rootsweb.com/~instjose/LadewskiPapers/lucky.htm Lucky Ladewski Papers] <br /> Search through digitized family group sheets for Polish residents of St. Joseph County from the collection amassed by genealogist Gertrude T. (Stachowiak) "Lucky" Ladewski. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=36 Obituary Index] <br /> This free online database is an index to obituaries that appeared in the ''South Bend Tribune'' for people who died in St. Joseph County or had ties to St. Joseph County from 1913 to the present. <br />
+
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=126 Obituary Index] <br /> This free online database is an index to obituaries that appeared in the ''South Bend Tribune'' for people who died in St. Joseph County or had ties to St. Joseph County from 1913 to the present. <br />
----
----
[http://www.pgsa.org/ Polish Genealogical Society of America] <br /> Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery and St. Joseph Polish Cemetery.  <br />
[http://www.pgsa.org/ Polish Genealogical Society of America] <br /> Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery and St. Joseph Polish Cemetery.  <br />
Line 207: Line 209:
[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/ St. Joseph County Government] <br /> Get contact information for the County Clerk and County Archives, where you can find guardianship, marriage, divorce, and probate records, and the County Health Department, where you can get birth and death records. <br />
[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/ St. Joseph County Government] <br /> Get contact information for the County Clerk and County Archives, where you can find guardianship, marriage, divorce, and probate records, and the County Health Department, where you can get birth and death records. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org:16080/subjectguides/index.php/St._Joseph_Co._Vital_Records St.Joseph County Vital Records]<br /> Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find vital records for St. Joseph County, Indiana. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching births, marriages and deaths. <br />
+
[http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/St._Joseph_Co._Vital_Records St.Joseph County Vital Records]<br /> Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find vital records for St. Joseph County, Indiana. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching births, marriages and deaths. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.rootsweb.com/~insbags/ South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS)] <br /> Browse the home page of the South Bend Area Genealogical Society. Search an online index to St. Joseph County marriages from 1924 to 1957.  <br />
+
[http://www.rootsweb.com/~insbags/ South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS)] <br /> Browse the home page of the South Bend Area Genealogical Society. Search an online index to St. Joseph County marriages from 1922 to February 1988.  <br />
----
----
[http://southlawn.palmerfuneralhomes.com/genealogy.htm Southlawn Cemetery] <br /> Search for individual's names and burial plot locations in Southlawn Cemetery in South Bend. <br />
[http://southlawn.palmerfuneralhomes.com/genealogy.htm Southlawn Cemetery] <br /> Search for individual's names and burial plot locations in Southlawn Cemetery in South Bend. <br />
Line 217: Line 219:
[http://www.ingenweb.org/ Indiana GenWeb] <br /> Search indexes to vital records, see cemetery transcriptions, get research help, and more. Look at information about Indiana as a whole or about particular counties. <br />  
[http://www.ingenweb.org/ Indiana GenWeb] <br /> Search indexes to vital records, see cemetery transcriptions, get research help, and more. Look at information about Indiana as a whole or about particular counties. <br />  
----
----
-
[http://pilot.familysearch.org/recordsearch/start.html#c=1410397;p=collectionDetails;t=searchable Indiana Marriages, 1811-1959] <br /> View transcriptions of Indiana marriage records for the following counties: Decatur, Franklin, Henry and Sullivan.  All counties in Indiana will eventually be added. These records are made available on [http://www.familysearch.org/eng/default.asp FamilySearch,] from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. <br />
+
[https://familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://hr-search-api:8080/searchapi/search/collection/1410397 Indiana Marriages, 1811-1959] <br /> View transcriptions of Indiana marriage records for the following counties: Adams, Allen, Bartholomew, Benton, Blackford, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Clark, Clay, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, De Kalb, Delaware, Dubois, Elkhart, Franklin, Harrison, Henry, Huntington, Marshall, Ohio, Owen, Rush, and Sullivan.  All counties in Indiana will eventually be added. These records are made available on [http://www.familysearch.org/ FamilySearch,] from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.in.gov/library/3076.htm Indiana State Library - Genealogy Division] <br /> Search the ISL's online databases, including indexes to pre-1851 and 1993-2002 Indiana marriage records and nineteenth-century Indianapolis newspapers. Choose reels of microfilmed newspapers from their collection, and borrow them through interlibrary loan here at the St. Joseph County Public Library.  <br />
+
[http://www.in.gov/library/index.htm Indiana State Library - Genealogy Division] <br /> Search the ISL's online databases, including indexes to pre-1851 and 1993-2002 Indiana marriage records and nineteenth-century Indianapolis newspapers. Choose reels of microfilmed newspapers from their collection, and borrow them through interlibrary loan here at the St. Joseph County Public Library.  <br />
----
----
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/indiana.htm Indiana Vital Records]  <br /> Find out how to order Indiana birth, death, marriage and divorce records.  <br />
[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/indiana.htm Indiana Vital Records]  <br /> Find out how to order Indiana birth, death, marriage and divorce records.  <br />
----
----
 +
===Vital Records, National===
===Vital Records, National===
[http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/Finding_Birth_Families Adoption Information] <br /> Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth families for adoptees. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching this important event. <br />
[http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/Finding_Birth_Families Adoption Information] <br /> Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth families for adoptees. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching this important event. <br />
 +
----
 +
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=127 American Ancestors, formerly New England Ancestors]  <br /> Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library. <br />
----
----
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=42  Ancestry Library Edition] <br /> Search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library. <br />
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=42  Ancestry Library Edition] <br /> Search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library. <br />
Line 230: Line 235:
[http://www.deathindexes.com/ Death Indexes] <br /> Search this directory of online death indexes, obituaries, death records, cemetery records, and more.  <br />
[http://www.deathindexes.com/ Death Indexes] <br /> Search this directory of online death indexes, obituaries, death records, cemetery records, and more.  <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.findagrave.com/ Find A Grave] <br /> Search 34 million worldwide grave records by decedent's name, by the name of the cemetery, or browse by a location to see all cemeteries in a certain location. Read transcriptions of tombstone inscriptions, view pictures of the stones, and sometimes, obituaries at this volunteer-maintained site. <br />   
+
[http://www.findagrave.com/ Find A Grave] <br /> Search 62 million worldwide grave records by decedent's name, by the name of the cemetery, or browse by a location to see all cemeteries in a certain location. Read transcriptions of tombstone inscriptions, view pictures of the stones, and sometimes, obituaries at this volunteer-maintained site. <br />   
----
----
[http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/Foreign_Births Finding Birth Dates for Foreign-Born Relatives] <br /> Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth dates for foreign-born relatives.  This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for tracing your family back to the "old country."
[http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/Foreign_Births Finding Birth Dates for Foreign-Born Relatives] <br /> Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth dates for foreign-born relatives.  This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for tracing your family back to the "old country."
-
----
 
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=24 New England Ancestors]  <br /> Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library. <br />
 
----
----
[http://www.rootsweb.com/ RootsWeb] <br /> Find and share information with other genealogists. Search free databases, including World Connect family trees and vital statistics indexes. Post to message boards or join e-mail lists. View thousands of genealogy-related web pages hosted on the site.  <br />
[http://www.rootsweb.com/ RootsWeb] <br /> Find and share information with other genealogists. Search free databases, including World Connect family trees and vital statistics indexes. Post to message boards or join e-mail lists. View thousands of genealogy-related web pages hosted on the site.  <br />
----
----
-
[http://ssdi.genealogy.rootsweb.com/ Social Security Death Index] <br /> Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number. <br />
+
[https://familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://hr-search-api:8080/searchapi/search/collection/1202535 Social Security Death Index] <br /> Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number. <br />
----
----
Line 246: Line 249:
[http://bahsc.org/ Belgian American Historical Society of Chicago] <br /> Explore this site which documents the history of Belgian immigration to the Midwest, and send a query about Belgian surnames.  
[http://bahsc.org/ Belgian American Historical Society of Chicago] <br /> Explore this site which documents the history of Belgian immigration to the Midwest, and send a query about Belgian surnames.  
----
----
-
[http://www.burgenland-bunch.org/homepage.htm Burgenland Genealogy] <br /> Search through surnames, village names, queries, maps, censuses and much more data on former residents of the Burgenland, a province in Austria, that is home to Germans, Austrians, Hungarians, and Croats. View a [http://www.burgenland-bunch.org/BH&R/sb-home.htm list] of Burgenlanders buried in South Bend. <br />
+
[http://www.the-burgenland-bunch.org/homepage.htm Burgenland Genealogy] <br /> Search through surnames, village names, queries, maps, censuses and much more data on former residents of the Burgenland, a province in Austria, that is home to Germans, Austrians, Hungarians, and Croats. View a [http://www.the-burgenland-bunch.org/BH&R/homelinks/data/in-names.htm list] of Burgenlanders buried in South Bend. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.castlegarden.org/ Castle Garden] <br /> Search a database of immigration records for people who entered this country through New York City between 1855 and 1892. <br />
+
[Castle Garden] <br /> Search a database of immigration records for people who entered this country through New York City between 1855 and 1892. [* January 2012: This website seems to be infected with a computer virus or other problem. Do not use until fixed!] <br />
----
----
[http://www.ellisislandrecords.org/ Ellis Island Foundation] <br /> Search immigration records for people who entered the country through New York City between 1892 and 1924. <br />
[http://www.ellisislandrecords.org/ Ellis Island Foundation] <br /> Search immigration records for people who entered the country through New York City between 1892 and 1924. <br />
Line 260: Line 263:
[http://lincolnnet.net/ijgs/ Illiana Jewish Genealogical Society] <br />  Get information on Jewish genealogy in the Illinois-Indiana area, and find out about membership and projects. <br />
[http://lincolnnet.net/ijgs/ Illiana Jewish Genealogical Society] <br />  Get information on Jewish genealogy in the Illinois-Indiana area, and find out about membership and projects. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.in.gov/icpr/2301.htm Indiana State Archives - Online Indexes] <br /> Search the Indiana State Archives' online indexes, including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records.  <br />
+
[http://www.in.gov/icpr/index.htm Indiana State Archives - Online Indexes] <br /> Search the Indiana State Archives' online indexes, including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records.  <br />
----
----
[http://www.rootsweb.com/~instjose/LadewskiPapers/lucky.htm Lucky Ladewski Papers] <br /> Search through digitized papers on Polish residents of St. Joseph County from the collection amassed by genealogist Gertrude T. (Stachowiak) "Lucky" Ladewski. <br />
[http://www.rootsweb.com/~instjose/LadewskiPapers/lucky.htm Lucky Ladewski Papers] <br /> Search through digitized papers on Polish residents of St. Joseph County from the collection amassed by genealogist Gertrude T. (Stachowiak) "Lucky" Ladewski. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.archives.gov/genealogy National Archives - Genealogy]  <br /> Find information on doing genealogical research, locating and ordering immigration records, and more.  <br />
+
[http://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/index.html National Archives - Genealogy]  <br /> Find information on doing genealogical research, locating and ordering immigration records, and more.  <br />
----
----
[http://www.pgsa.org/ Polish Genealogical Society of America] <br /> Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.  <br />
[http://www.pgsa.org/ Polish Genealogical Society of America] <br /> Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.  <br />
Line 278: Line 281:
[http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/r?ammem/gmd:@field(NUMBER+@band(g4094s+pm002030)) 1874 Map of South Bend] <br /> Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, [http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html American Memory collection.] <br />
[http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/r?ammem/gmd:@field(NUMBER+@band(g4094s+pm002030)) 1874 Map of South Bend] <br /> Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, [http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html American Memory collection.] <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=54 1875 St. Joseph County Atlas] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1875 <i>Illustrated Historical Atlas of St. Joseph County, Indiana</i>, including plat maps, biographies, and engravings. <br />
+
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=124 1875 St. Joseph County Atlas] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1875 <i>Illustrated Historical Atlas of St. Joseph County, Indiana</i>, including plat maps, biographies, and engravings. <br />
----
----
[http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/r?ammem/gmd:@field(NUMBER+@band(g4094s+pm002040)) 1890 Map of South Bend] <br /> Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, [http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html American Memory collection.] <br />
[http://memory.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/r?ammem/gmd:@field(NUMBER+@band(g4094s+pm002040)) 1890 Map of South Bend] <br /> Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, [http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html American Memory collection.] <br />
----
----
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=55 1936 St. Joseph County Plat Book] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1936 <i>Index Map of St. Joseph County, Indiana</i>, which shows all landowners in the unincorporated areas of the county at that time. <br />
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=55 1936 St. Joseph County Plat Book] <br /> Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1936 <i>Index Map of St. Joseph County, Indiana</i>, which shows all landowners in the unincorporated areas of the county at that time. <br />
 +
----
 +
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=127 American Ancestors, formerly New England Ancestors] <br /> Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.  <br />
----
----
[http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/ Bureau of Land Management - General Land Office] <br /> Search the BLM's database of federal government land records, going back to the 1800s.  <br />
[http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/ Bureau of Land Management - General Land Office] <br /> Search the BLM's database of federal government land records, going back to the 1800s.  <br />
Line 290: Line 295:
[http://129.79.145.7/arcims/IHAPI/index.html Indiana Historical Aerial Photo Index] <br /> View aerial photos dating from the 1930s to 1980s of Indiana land parcels.  Search function is available by street address, township and range, coordinates or by map number, if known.  Order copies of the maps for a fee. <br />  
[http://129.79.145.7/arcims/IHAPI/index.html Indiana Historical Aerial Photo Index] <br /> View aerial photos dating from the 1930s to 1980s of Indiana land parcels.  Search function is available by street address, township and range, coordinates or by map number, if known.  Order copies of the maps for a fee. <br />  
----
----
-
[http://www.in.gov/icpr/2301.htm Indiana State Archives - Online Indexes] <br /> Search the Indiana State Archives' online indexes, including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records. <br />
+
[http://indianamap.org/ IndianaMAP] <br /> IndianaMAP is the largest publicly available collection of Indiana geographic information system (GIS) map data. <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.macoggis.com/ Michiana Area Council of Governments GIS System] <br /> Research your house and neighborhood using this free public source of homeowner informationSee an aerial picture of your St. Joseph County or Elkhart County home! <br />
+
[http://www.in.gov/icpr/index.htm Indiana State Archives - Online Indexes] <br /> Search the Indiana State Archives' online indexes, including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records.  <br />
----
----
-
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=24 New England Ancestors] <br /> Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.  <br />
+
[http://www.macoggis.com/ Michiana Area Council of Governments GIS System] <br /> Research your house and neighborhood using this free public source of homeowner information. See an aerial picture of your St. Joseph County or Elkhart County home! <br />
----
----
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital] <br />  View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card. <br />
[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital] <br />  View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card. <br />
Line 315: Line 320:
[[About Local & Family History Services | Contact and find out more about Local & Family History Services]]<br />
[[About Local & Family History Services | Contact and find out more about Local & Family History Services]]<br />
-
Created by: [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], October 2005<br />
+
Created by: Libby Feil, October 2005<br />
Revised completely by: [[User:Sara| Sara Allen]], March 2007<br />
Revised completely by: [[User:Sara| Sara Allen]], March 2007<br />
-
Last updated by: [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], February 27, 2010<br />
+
Last updated by: Shari C., April 25, 2013<br />
[[Category:Hobbies]]
[[Category:Hobbies]]
[[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]
[[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]

Latest revision as of 14:16, 25 April 2013

Contents

Recommended Local and Family History Websites

St. Joseph County Research

1866 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1874 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1875 St. Joseph County Atlas
Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1875 Illustrated Historical Atlas of St. Joseph County, Indiana, including plat maps, biographies, and engravings.


1890 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


ca. 1910 South Bend YMCA Book
Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of A Manhood Factory in the Center of South Bend's Greatest Industries, featuring text and illustrations of people, the YMCA, and the community.


1910 South Bend and Mishawaka Elks Convention Book
Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of Official Souvenir, 9th Annual Convention, Indiana State Association, B.P.O.E., South Bend, Indiana, featuring text and illustrations of people, businesses, and the community.


1921 South Bend & Mishawaka City Directory
Search or browse through a digital version of Polk's South Bend & Mishawaka City Directory for 1921. Searchable by personal or business name or by reverse lookup by street name and house number.


1936 St. Joseph County Plat Book
Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1936 Index Map of St. Joseph County, Indiana, which shows all landowners in the unincorporated areas of the county at that time.


Adoption Information
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth families for adoptees. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching this important event.


Finding Birth Dates for Foreign-Born Relatives
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth dates for foreign-born relatives. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for tracing your family back to the "old country."


Hannah Lindahl Children's Museum - Archives
Find out about the resources at the Children's Museum, including an online database of Mishawaka school records and online photographs.


HeritageQuest Online - Online books
Read digital versions of the following books: Marriage Records St Joseph County [index 1830-1882]; South Bend and the Men Who Have Made It; Historic Background of South Bend and St. Joseph County; History of St. Joseph County Indiana (1880); Pictorial and Biographical Memoirs of Elkhart and St. Joseph Counties Indiana and more. Choose the "Search Books" option from the homepage. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card.


Historic New Carlisle
Read about the history of New Carlisle, historic preservation activities in the community, and find links to the museum and a list of some of its collections.


House Research
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to research the history of your house. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for the research process.


Hungarian Records - St. Joseph Co.
Search for your St. Joseph County Hungarian ancestors in these abstracts of vital records, church records, immigration records, obituaries, funeral home and cemetery records compiled by genealogist Chris Kovach.


IUSB Archives
Visit the Archives of Indiana University at South Bend to learn about the history of IUSB, the history of the Torrington Company, local notable James Lewis Casaday and his theater-related collection, and more.


Local & Family History Services of the St. Joseph County Public Library
See the historical and genealogical databases we have put online, use subscription databases in the library or from home with a St. Joseph County Public Library card, and see what we have in our collection.


Lucky Ladewski Papers
Search through digitized papers on Polish residents of South Bend from the collection amassed by genealogist Gertrude T. (Stachowiak) "Lucky" Ladewski.


Michiana Area Council of Governments (MACOG) GIS System
Research your house and neighborhood using this free public source of homeowner information. See an aerial picture of your St. Joseph County or Elkhart County home.


Mishawaka-Penn-Harris Public Library - Heritage Room
See a listing of MPHPL's genealogy and local history resources. Search through the Hannah Lindahl Children's Museum and MPHPL Online Archive, which includes many photographs.


Northern Indiana Center for History
Find information on South Bend's Center for History. Read about the people, places, and events that have shaped St. Joseph County history and Northern Indiana.


Notre Dame University - Archives
Search the collections of Notre Dame's Archives, including Notre Dame records and local manuscript collections.


Obituary Index
This free online database is an index to obituaries that appeared in the South Bend Tribune for people who died in St. Joseph County from 1913 to the present.


Polish Genealogical Society of America
Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery and the St. Joseph Polish Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.


St. Joseph County Cemeteries
Find a list of the cemeteries in St. Joseph County, along with directions.


St. Joseph County GenWeb
See how to obtain vital records in St. Joseph County, find information about your Polish immigrant ancestors, search free local databases, and much more.


St. Joseph County Government
Get contact information for the County Clerk and County Archives, where you can find guardianship, marriage, divorce, and probate records; the County Health Department, where you can get birth and death records; and the County Recorder, where you can locate land records.


St. Joseph County Vital Records
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find vital records for St. Joseph County, Indiana. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching births, marriages and deaths.


Saint Mary's College - Archives
See how to find photographs, scrapbooks, and manuscripts about Saint Mary's College.


Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital
View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Service Notes Index
Search an index to the Service Notes that were printed in the South Bend Tribune during the World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War eras.


South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS)
Browse the home page of the South Bend Area Genealogical Society. Search an online index to St. Joseph County marriages from 1922 to February 1989. View historic and modern photographs of the South Bend and Mishawaka area, along with maps and many other databases and indexes.


South Bend Tribune's Online Archives
Search this online database of South Bend Tribune articles published since March 1998. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card.


Southlawn Cemetery
Search for individual's names and burial plot locations in Southlawn Cemetery in South Bend.


Walkerton Area Historical Society
Search for local information on southern St. Joseph County, as well as photographs of the area.


Indiana Research

Allen County Public Library - Genealogy Center
Search the catalog of the Allen County Public Library at Fort Wayne, the second-largest genealogy library in the world. Look at their online databases, including vital statistics indexes and cemetery transcriptions for the Allen County area.


Bremen Public Library
View historical materials about the community surrounding Bremen, view obituaries from the Bremen Enquirer prior to 1997, and view cemetery records from Bremen city cemeteries.


Elkhart County Genealogical Society
Find out about the Society and its library, events, and publications.


Elkhart County Historical Society Museum
Find out about the Society and its museum in Bristol, one of the top ten local history museums in Indiana.


Elkhart Public Library's Local History Department
Learn about the local history and genealogy collection at the library, search the Obituary Index to the Elkhart Truth (1921-present), and access the Local History Index, a topical index to articles in the Elkhart Truth.


Fulton County Public Library
Read digitized copies of books compiled by Jean and Wendall Tombough for Fulton County and other counties including: cemetery records for Fulton, Marshall, Miami and Kosciusko Counties; Fulton County obituaries; federal censuses; poor farm records; school enumerations; newspaper excerpts; marriage and death indexes; and will abstracts.


Indiana Genealogical Society
Find information about the Indiana Genealogical Society. Post and search research queries.


Indiana GenWeb
Find online information about Indiana genealogy. Search indexes to vital records, see cemetery transcriptions, get research help, and more. Look at information about Indiana as a whole or about particular counties.


Indiana Historical Aerial Photo Index
View aerial photos dating from the 1930s to 1980s of Indiana land parcels. Search function is available by street address, township and range, coordinates or by map number, if known. Order copies of the maps for a fee.


Indiana Historical Society
Find information about the Indiana Historical Society. Search their catalog and collection guides to learn about their vast holdings.


Indiana Magazine of History Online Index
Search an index to the Indiana Magazine of History, from 1905 to 2004. Find a reference to an interesting article, then come to Local & Family History Services to read it.


Indiana Marriages, 1811-1959
View transcriptions of Indiana marriage records for the following counties: Adams, Allen, Bartholomew, Benton, Blackford, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Clark, Clay, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, De Kalb, Delaware, Dubois, Elkhart, Franklin, Harrison, Henry, Huntington, Marshall, Ohio, Owen, Rush, and Sullivan. All counties in Indiana will eventually be added. These records are made available on FamilySearch, from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.


Indiana State Archives
View information about their collections. Search the Indiana State Archives' online indexes; including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records. Use their new Indiana State Digital Archives, which indexes naturalizations, institution records, Civil War records, county records and more.


Indiana State Library - Genealogy Division
Search the ISL's online databases, including indexes to pre-1851 and 1993-2002 Indiana marriage records and nineteenth-century Indianapolis newspapers. Choose reels of microfilmed newspapers from their collection, and borrow them through interlibrary loan here at the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Indiana Vital Records
Find out how to order Indiana birth, death, marriage and divorce records.


Indiana's World War II Dead in the South Pacific
Browse a volunteer-run web site about Indiana's World War II servicemen who died in the South Pacific. The site features photographs of the Manila American Cemetery in the Philippines, along with lists of the soldiers and sailors honored there.


Plymouth Pilot Obituary Index
Search for obituaries published in the Plymouth Pilot newspaper from July 27, 1922 - April 30, 1979.


Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital
View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


VINE - Vital INformation Exchange
Search for your family names in vital records, local history, and other genealogical sources in this state-wide surname index.


Wakarusa Public Library
View digital documents about the Wakarusa area under the tab, "Historical," including obituaries, photos, maps, texts and more.

Midwestern Region Research

Berrien County Genealogical Society
Located just to our north, Berrien County, Michigan is served by the Berrien County Genealogical Society. Learn how to become a member & when meetings are scheduled, purchase Berrien county resources, submit queries, learn about local record repositories and much more at this site.


Chicago Tribune (1858-1985)
Search this database of articles and pages from the Chicago Tribune, going back as far as the 1850s and continuing through 1985. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card.


Cook County, Illinois Vital Records
View digitized birth certificates from 1878-1922 and marriage records from 1871-1920 and more. These records are made available on FamilySearch, from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.


Illiana Jewish Genealogical Society
Get information on Jewish genealogy in the Illinois-Indiana area, and find out about membership and projects.


Illinois State Archives
Learn about the holdings of the State Archives, read guides and tips on how to use the collections, search online indexes, including military, land and vital records from all over the state.


Kentucky Vital Record Indexes
Look up your Kentucky ancestors in vital record indexes. View death indexes from 1911-1992, marriage indexes from 1973-1993, and divorce indexes from 1973-1993.


Making of Modern Michigan
Search through digital images, diaries, newspaper clippings, indexes and more. Find a Michigan ancestor or town in this digital library project, created by a coalition of Michigan public libraries.


Michigan Vital Records
View digitized birth, marriage and death records from the state of Michigan. View birth registrations from 1867-1902; marriage records from 1868-1925; and death registrations from 1867-1897. These records are made available on FamilySearch, from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.


NewspaperARCHIVE
View online newspapers from across the United States for many time periods. Searchable by personal name, keyword, location, date, and title. The archive includes some newspapers from Anderson, Cambridge City, Chester, Ft. Wayne, Gary, Hammond, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Logansport, Montpelier, and Valparaiso, Indiana; from various Michigan cities, including Benton Harbor, Holland, Saint Joseph, and Traverse City; and from 31 Illinois cities, including Chicago’s suburbs. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Niles District Library - Local History Room
Search the online catalog for books in the Niles Library's Local History Room and learn about other aspects of the collections so you can plan your visit. Search an online obituary index to obituaries from Niles newspaper. Use Footnote.com, a unique and valuable commercial genealogical database available free locally at NDL.


Ohio Death Records
View digitized death certificates for the state of Ohio from 1908-1953. These records are made available on FamilySearch, from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.


Potawatomi Genealogy
Find out how to search for Potawatomi ancestors, on this site created by volunteers from the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation in Kansas. Read about the Potawatomi people and language.


Seeking Michigan
Search for digital photographs, records, books and more related to the history and culture of Michigan. View digitized death certificates from 1897-1920, Civil War Service records, Michigan Polish American collection and much more.


Southwest Michigan Obituary Index
Search an index of over 76,000 obituaries for Allegan, Berrien, Cass, Kalamazoo, and Van Buren counties.


National Research

1940 Census (National Archives)
Browse through the 1940 United States census images for the very first time on April 2, 2012. Since there is not yet an index, you may need assistance using the website and finding your ancestors. Come see us in Local & Family History Services for expert help. One way to find family without an index is by address. If you can research your family's 1940 address through old documents, family records, 1940 city directories, or old letters, you will be able to search the area around that address for your family.


American Ancestors, formerly New England Ancestors
Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Ancestry Library Edition
Search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Bureau of Land Management - General Land Office
Search the BLM's database of federal government land records, going back to the 1800s.


[Castle Garden]
Search a database of immigration records for people who entered this country through New York City between 1855 and 1892. [*January 2012: Caution, this website seems to be infected with a computer virus or other problem. Do not use until this is fixed!]


Charts and Forms
View and print out blank pedigree charts, family group sheets, census forms, research calendars, and source summaries.


Cyndi's List
Look through a comprehensive, searchable collection of hundreds of thousands of genealogy-related links.


Death Indexes
Search this directory of online death indexes, obituaries, death records, cemetery records, and more.


Ellis Island Foundation
Search immigration records for people who entered the country through New York City between 1892 and 1924.


FamilySearch, from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
Access the Mormon Church's library catalog to see what microfilm you can have delivered to your nearest Family History Center. Search the 1880 United States Census. Find your ancestors in the International Genealogical Index or Ancestral File. See free digitized records online. Content is updated often, but currently includes Michigan vital records 1867-1925, Ohio deaths 1908-1953, Cook County, Illinois vital records 1871-1922, West Virginia deaths and marriages, 1853-1970, Philadelphia death certificates, 1803-1915, and much more from all over the world.


Family History Archives Read over 60,000 digitized family and local history books owned by the Family History Library, Allen County Public Library, Brigham Young University Library and more. You may search by family name, author, title, keyword, full-text, and also use a browse function to see all the books in the collection.


Find A Grave
Search 62 million worldwide grave records by decedent's name, by the name of the cemetery, or browse by a location to see all cemeteries in a certain location. Read transcriptions of tombstone inscriptions, view pictures of the stones, and sometimes, obituaries at this volunteer-maintained site.


HeritageQuest Online
Search databases covering most available United States censuses, digitized local history and genealogy books, PERSI (the PERiodical Source Index to genealogy magazines), digitized Revolutionary War pension and bounty land records, and Freedman's Bank files. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card.


Library of Congress - Local History & Genealogy
Find tips on genealogy and local history research and locate sources. Get access to the Library of Congress's famous American Memory web site, with more than 5 million digital photographs, diaries, song scores, pamphlets, and other materials.


Linkpendium
View thousands of links to genealogy websites for the United States, the United Kingdom and surnames.


National Archives - Genealogy
Find information on doing genealogical research, locating and ordering records, and more.


NewspaperARCHIVE
View online newspapers from across the United States for many time periods. Searchable by personal name, keyword, location, date, and title. The archive includes some newspapers from Anderson, Cambridge City, Chester, Ft. Wayne, Gary, Hammond, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Logansport, Montpelier, and Valparaiso, Indiana; from various Michigan cities, including Benton Harbor, Holland, Saint Joseph, and Traverse City; and from 31 Illinois cities, including Chicago’s suburbs. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card.


Polish Genealogical Society of America
Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery and the St. Joseph Polish Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.


RootsWeb
Find and share information with other genealogists. Search free databases, including World Connect family trees and vital statistics indexes. Post to message boards or join e-mail lists. View thousands of genealogy-related web pages hosted on the site.


Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital
View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card.


Social Security Death Index (SSDI)
Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number.


USGenWeb
Look at genealogical web sites (with record transcriptions, addresses of libraries/archives, lookups, queries, history, and more) for each state and most counties on this volunteer-run web site. Also view national projects such as the Tombstone Transcription Project.


WorldCat
Search this catalog of materials held in more than 7,600 libraries in the United States and the rest of the world, including public, academic, state, and national libraries; archives; and historical societies.


Vital Records, Local

Burgenland Genealogy
Search through surnames, village names, queries, maps, censuses and much more data on former residents of the Burgenland, a province in Austria, that is home to Germans, Austrians, Hungarians, and Croats. View a list of Burgenlanders buried in South Bend.


Hungarian Records - St. Joseph Co.
Search for your St. Joseph County Hungarian ancestors in these abstracts of vital records, church records, immigration records, obituaries, funeral home and cemetery records compiled by genealogist Chris Kovach.


Lucky Ladewski Papers
Search through digitized family group sheets for Polish residents of St. Joseph County from the collection amassed by genealogist Gertrude T. (Stachowiak) "Lucky" Ladewski.


Obituary Index
This free online database is an index to obituaries that appeared in the South Bend Tribune for people who died in St. Joseph County or had ties to St. Joseph County from 1913 to the present.


Polish Genealogical Society of America
Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery and St. Joseph Polish Cemetery.


St. Joseph County GenWeb
See how to obtain vital records in St. Joseph County and browse free indexes.


St. Joseph County Government
Get contact information for the County Clerk and County Archives, where you can find guardianship, marriage, divorce, and probate records, and the County Health Department, where you can get birth and death records.


St.Joseph County Vital Records
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find vital records for St. Joseph County, Indiana. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching births, marriages and deaths.


South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS)
Browse the home page of the South Bend Area Genealogical Society. Search an online index to St. Joseph County marriages from 1922 to February 1988.


Southlawn Cemetery
Search for individual's names and burial plot locations in Southlawn Cemetery in South Bend.


Vital Records, Indiana

Indiana GenWeb
Search indexes to vital records, see cemetery transcriptions, get research help, and more. Look at information about Indiana as a whole or about particular counties.


Indiana Marriages, 1811-1959
View transcriptions of Indiana marriage records for the following counties: Adams, Allen, Bartholomew, Benton, Blackford, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Clark, Clay, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, De Kalb, Delaware, Dubois, Elkhart, Franklin, Harrison, Henry, Huntington, Marshall, Ohio, Owen, Rush, and Sullivan. All counties in Indiana will eventually be added. These records are made available on FamilySearch, from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.


Indiana State Library - Genealogy Division
Search the ISL's online databases, including indexes to pre-1851 and 1993-2002 Indiana marriage records and nineteenth-century Indianapolis newspapers. Choose reels of microfilmed newspapers from their collection, and borrow them through interlibrary loan here at the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Indiana Vital Records
Find out how to order Indiana birth, death, marriage and divorce records.


Vital Records, National

Adoption Information
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth families for adoptees. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for researching this important event.


American Ancestors, formerly New England Ancestors
Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Ancestry Library Edition
Search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Death Indexes
Search this directory of online death indexes, obituaries, death records, cemetery records, and more.


Find A Grave
Search 62 million worldwide grave records by decedent's name, by the name of the cemetery, or browse by a location to see all cemeteries in a certain location. Read transcriptions of tombstone inscriptions, view pictures of the stones, and sometimes, obituaries at this volunteer-maintained site.


Finding Birth Dates for Foreign-Born Relatives
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth dates for foreign-born relatives. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for tracing your family back to the "old country."


RootsWeb
Find and share information with other genealogists. Search free databases, including World Connect family trees and vital statistics indexes. Post to message boards or join e-mail lists. View thousands of genealogy-related web pages hosted on the site.


Social Security Death Index
Find individuals in the Social Security Death Index, which runs from 1962 through the present; the free index gives name, date of death, last known address, and social security number.


Ethnic Research

Ancestry Library Edition
Search databases of vital statistics, passenger lists, military service records, all available United States censuses, and more. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Belgian American Historical Society of Chicago
Explore this site which documents the history of Belgian immigration to the Midwest, and send a query about Belgian surnames.


Burgenland Genealogy
Search through surnames, village names, queries, maps, censuses and much more data on former residents of the Burgenland, a province in Austria, that is home to Germans, Austrians, Hungarians, and Croats. View a list of Burgenlanders buried in South Bend.


[Castle Garden]
Search a database of immigration records for people who entered this country through New York City between 1855 and 1892. [* January 2012: This website seems to be infected with a computer virus or other problem. Do not use until fixed!]


Ellis Island Foundation
Search immigration records for people who entered the country through New York City between 1892 and 1924.


Finding Birth Dates for Foreign-Born Relatives
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to find birth dates for foreign-born relatives. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for tracing your family back to the "old country."


HeritageQuest Online
Search the Freedman's Bank records, which are bank account applications for former slaves from 1865-1874. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


Hungarian Records - St. Joseph Co.
Search for your St. Joseph County Hungarian ancestors in these abstracts of vital records, church records, immigration records, obituaries, funeral home and cemetery records compiled by genealogist Chris Kovach.


Illiana Jewish Genealogical Society
Get information on Jewish genealogy in the Illinois-Indiana area, and find out about membership and projects.


Indiana State Archives - Online Indexes
Search the Indiana State Archives' online indexes, including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records.


Lucky Ladewski Papers
Search through digitized papers on Polish residents of St. Joseph County from the collection amassed by genealogist Gertrude T. (Stachowiak) "Lucky" Ladewski.


National Archives - Genealogy
Find information on doing genealogical research, locating and ordering immigration records, and more.


Polish Genealogical Society of America
Search the database of Polish burials in South Bend's Cedar Grove Cemetery or post research queries about Polish ancestors.


Potawatomi Genealogy
Find out how to search for Potawatomi ancestors, on this site created by volunteers from the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation in Kansas. Read about the Potawatomi people and language.


St. Joseph County GenWeb
See how to obtain vital records in St. Joseph County, find information about your immigrant ancestors, and search free local databases.


Land and Property Research

1866 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1874 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1875 St. Joseph County Atlas
Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1875 Illustrated Historical Atlas of St. Joseph County, Indiana, including plat maps, biographies, and engravings.


1890 Map of South Bend
Browse a digital version of this early map of South Bend, found on the Library of Congress website, American Memory collection.


1936 St. Joseph County Plat Book
Search or browse through SJCPL's digital version of the 1936 Index Map of St. Joseph County, Indiana, which shows all landowners in the unincorporated areas of the county at that time.


American Ancestors, formerly New England Ancestors
Search the New England Historic Genealogical Society's extensive databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library.


Bureau of Land Management - General Land Office
Search the BLM's database of federal government land records, going back to the 1800s.


House Research
Read a how-to article by SJCPL librarians on how to research the history of your house. This article contains links to helpful websites and pointers for the research process.


Indiana Historical Aerial Photo Index
View aerial photos dating from the 1930s to 1980s of Indiana land parcels. Search function is available by street address, township and range, coordinates or by map number, if known. Order copies of the maps for a fee.


IndianaMAP
IndianaMAP is the largest publicly available collection of Indiana geographic information system (GIS) map data.


Indiana State Archives - Online Indexes
Search the Indiana State Archives' online indexes, including naturalization, land, court, and children's home records.


Michiana Area Council of Governments GIS System
Research your house and neighborhood using this free public source of homeowner information. See an aerial picture of your St. Joseph County or Elkhart County home!


Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital
View, navigate, print, and download historic maps of Indiana cities, showing streets and buildings. Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library, and from your home computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library Card.


St. Joseph County Government
Get contact information for the County Recorder, where you can locate land records.


South Bend Area Genealogical Society (SBAGS)
Browse the home page of the South Bend Area Genealogical Society. View historic and modern photographs of the South Bend and Mishawaka area, along with maps and other databases.


Research Tools

Copyright Explanation
If you are thinking of publishing your own family history book, and are wondering whether you can use particular documents, consult this frequently updated information from noted copyright expert Peter Hirtle at Cornell University.


Perpetual calendar
Need to know what day of the week a particular date fell on? Visit this site, type in the year you are interested in, and see the calendar for that year.


Translation
Having trouble reading that old family document in a foreign language? Try Babel Fish to translate Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish into English. But beware: the translation is very literal and basic.




Contact and find out more about Local & Family History Services
Created by: Libby Feil, October 2005
Revised completely by: Sara Allen, March 2007
Last updated by: Shari C., April 25, 2013

Personal tools