Genealogy

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 7: Line 7:
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www.heritagequestonline.com HeritageQuest Online]     [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Heritage_Quest.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www.heritagequestonline.com HeritageQuest Online]     [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Heritage_Quest.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www.newenglandancestors.org/ New England Ancestors]     [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/New_England_Ancestors.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www.newenglandancestors.org/ New England Ancestors]     [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/New_England_Ancestors.pdf Help sheet]
 +
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=318&TS=1144846645&clientId=18373&VType=PQD&VName=PQD&VInst=PROD&pmid=7732&PageNum=1 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]   [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf Help sheet]
'''ST. JOSEPH COUNTY LINKS'''
'''ST. JOSEPH COUNTY LINKS'''
-
*[http://fmcwp.sjcpl.org/1875Atlas/ 1875 Atlas Online]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/1875Atlas/ 1875 Atlas Online]
*[http://www.hlcm.org/htlm/archives.html Lindahl Children's Museum Archives]
*[http://www.hlcm.org/htlm/archives.html Lindahl Children's Museum Archives]
-
*[http://www.mppl.lib.in.us/genealogy.htm Mishawaka-Penn-Harris Public Library]
+
*[http://www.mphpl.org/genealogy.htm Mishawaka-Penn-Harris Public Library]
-
*[http://fmcwp.sjcpl.org/fmi/xsl/obits/findrecords.xsl?-view Obituary Index]     [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf Help sheet]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/Obits/Search_Form.php Obituary Index]     [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://www.rootsweb.com/~instjose St. Joseph County GenWeb]
*[http://www.rootsweb.com/~instjose St. Joseph County GenWeb]
*[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/index1.htm St. Joseph County Government]
*[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/index1.htm St. Joseph County Government]
*[http://old.sjcpl.org/databases/servicenotes/servicenotes.html Service Notes Index]
*[http://old.sjcpl.org/databases/servicenotes/servicenotes.html Service Notes Index]
*[http://www.rootsweb.com/~insbags/ South Bend Area Genealogical Society]
*[http://www.rootsweb.com/~insbags/ South Bend Area Genealogical Society]
-
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www2.southbendtribune.com/search/ South Bend Tribune Online Archives]
+
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=318&TS=1144846645&clientId=18373&VType=PQD&VName=PQD&VInst=PROD&pmid=7732&PageNum=1 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]   [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://www.walkerton.org/society.shtml Walkerton Area Historical Society]
*[http://www.walkerton.org/society.shtml Walkerton Area Historical Society]
Line 33: Line 34:
*[http://www.castlegarden.org/ Castle Garden]
*[http://www.castlegarden.org/ Castle Garden]
*[http://www.cyndislist.com/ Cyndi's List]
*[http://www.cyndislist.com/ Cyndi's List]
 +
*[http://www.deathindexes.com/ Death Indexes]
*[http://www.ellisislandrecords.org/ Ellis Island]
*[http://www.ellisislandrecords.org/ Ellis Island]
*[http://www.familysearch.org/ Family Search]
*[http://www.familysearch.org/ Family Search]
Line 49: Line 51:
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www.heritagequestonline.com HeritageQuest Online] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Heritage_Quest.pdf help sheet]
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www.heritagequestonline.com HeritageQuest Online] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Heritage_Quest.pdf help sheet]
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www.newenglandancestors.org/ New England Ancestors] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/New_England_Ancestors.pdf help sheet]
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www.newenglandancestors.org/ New England Ancestors] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/New_England_Ancestors.pdf help sheet]
-
*[http://fmcwp.sjcpl.org/fmi/xsl/obits/findrecords.xsl?-view Obituary Index] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf help sheet]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/Obits/Search_Form.php Obituary Index] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf help sheet]
-
 
+
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=318&TS=1144846645&clientId=18373&VType=PQD&VName=PQD&VInst=PROD&pmid=7732&PageNum=1 South Bend Tribune Online Archives] [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf help sheet]
Line 72: Line 74:
<br />
<br />
-
Last updated by:  [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], December 17, 2005
+
Last updated by:  [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], April 13, 2006
[[Category:Hobbies]]
[[Category:Hobbies]]

Revision as of 14:25, 3 May 2006

SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES

ST. JOSEPH COUNTY LINKS

INDIANA LINKS

NATIONAL LINKS

Contents


Help Sheets for Databases


Articles

Getting Started in Genealogy

By Libby Feil

Weddingphoto.jpg

Weddings and birthdays and burials, oh my! Writing down the dates and places of these important events is the first step in your family history journey. Start with yourself and your immediate family, listing all the places and dates you remember. When were you born? When did you get married? What about your parents? Make notes on all the family members you know, with their full names, their relationship to you, and their dates and places of birth, marriage, divorce, death, and burial. Don't forget important religious events like baptisms, bar and bat mitzvahs, and so on if you know them.


How can you keep track of all this information? You can find blank forms online that will help you get organized. Ancestral or pedigree charts let you record information about yourself and your ancestors (parents, grandparents, and so on). Family group sheets give you a place to record everything you find out about a particular family.


Once you have noted down everything you remember, the next step is to ask your relatives what THEY remember. You may want to try your hand at oral history. The Local History & Genealogy Room has books which can give you suggestions and techniques for carrying out and recording oral history. Try Recording Your Family History: A Guide to Preserving Oral History ..., by William Fletcher; Once Upon A Memory: Your Family Tales and Treasures, by Jean Alessi and Jan Miller; or Keeping Family Stories Alive: A Creative Guide to Taping Your Family Life & Lore, by Vera Rosenbluth.


Ancestorscover.jpg

Now you have a lot of information about your family. You need to make sure that the information you have is correct, and you need to work backwards to find out information about more distant relatives. How do you go about this? You may want to use one of the Library's genealogy handbooks to help you map out a strategy. Try Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide to Family History and Genealogy, Celebrating the Family: the MyFamily.com Guide to Understanding Your Family History, or William Hartley's The Everything Family Tree Book: Finding, Charting, and Preserving Your Family History. And check back soon for more tips and ideas on continuing your genealogy journey!



Last updated by: Libby Feil, April 13, 2006

Personal tools