Gardening

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Gardening Tips)
(46 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
{| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right"
{| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right"
|-
|-
-
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | '''Local Gardening Links'''
+
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | '''Regional Links'''
-
*[http://www.fernwoodbotanical.org/ Fernwood Botanical Gardens]
+
 
-
*[http://fivepointgardens.com/ Five Point Gardens]
+
*[http://www.meijergardens.org/ Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park]
*[http://www.meijergardens.org/ Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park]
-
*[http://www.gingervalley.com/index-asp.htm Ginger Valley]
 
-
*[http://www.sbpark.org/conservatory/conservatory.html Potawatomi Greenhouse and Conservatories]
 
*[http://www.hort.purdue.edu/ext/ConHort.html Purdue University's Consumer Horticulture]
*[http://www.hort.purdue.edu/ext/ConHort.html Purdue University's Consumer Horticulture]
-
*[http://www.mishawakacity.com/ShiojiriPark.asp Shiojiri Niwa Japanese Garden]
 
-
'''Other Links'''
+
'''National and International Links'''
-
*[http://www.bbc.co.uk/gardening/ BBC Gardening]
+
*[http://www.gardenweb.com/ GardenWeb - The Internet's Garden Community]
*[http://www.gardenweb.com/ GardenWeb - The Internet's Garden Community]
*[http://www.kidsgardening.com/ KidsGardening.com]
*[http://www.kidsgardening.com/ KidsGardening.com]
Line 17: Line 12:
*[http://www.orchidmall.com/ Orchid Mall]
*[http://www.orchidmall.com/ Orchid Mall]
*[http://www.organicgardening.com/ Organic Gardening]
*[http://www.organicgardening.com/ Organic Gardening]
-
*[http://victoryseeds.com/ The Victory Seed Company]
+
*[http://www.seedsavers.org/ Seed Savers Exchange (heirloom seeds)]
 +
*[http://victoryseeds.com/ The Victory Seed Company (heirloom seeds)]
|}
|}
 +
='''SJCPL Gardening Resources'''=
-
 
+
===Gardening Call Numbers===
-
 
+
{| border="3" style="text-align:center;"
-
 
+
|Topic
-
 
+
|Call Number
-
 
+
-
=='''SJCPL Gardening Resources'''==
+
-
 
+
-
===New Gardening books on our Shelves===
+
-
{| cellpadding=10
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/a?searchtype=t&searcharg=tending+your+garden&SORT=D&submit.x=0&submit.y=0&submit=Submit[[Image:tendingyour garden.gif|left|Tending your garden]]]
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tamerican+horticultural+society/tamerican+horticultural+society/1,24,29,B/frameset&FF=tamerican+horticultural+society+a+z+encyclopedia+of+garden+plants&2,,2 [[Image:horticultsoc.gif|left|American Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants]]]
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=Kids+container+gardening&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search [[Image:kidscontainer.gif|left|Kids' Container Gardening]]]
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/Xgardening&l=&m=&p=&b=&SORT=D&Da=2004&Db=/Xgardening&l=&m=&p=&b=&SORT=D&Da=2004&Db=/13%2C51%2C51%2CB/frameset&FF=Xgardening%26l%3D%26m%3D%26p%3D%26b%3D%26SORT%3DD%26Da%3D2004%26Db%3D&20%2C20%2C [[Image:squarefoot.gif|left|Square Foot Gardening]]]
+
|-
|-
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tyou+grow+girl/tyou+grow+girl/1%2C1%2C1%2CB/frameset&FF=tyou+grow+girl&1%2C0%2C You Grow Girl]
+
|General gardening
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tamerican+horticultural+society/tamerican+horticultural+society/1,24,29,B/frameset&FF=tamerican+horticultural+society+a+z+encyclopedia+of+garden+plants&2,,2 A-Z Encyclopedia<br>of Garden Plants]
+
|635
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=Kids+container+gardening&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Kids' Container<br>Gardening]
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/Xgardening&l=&m=&p=&b=&SORT=D&Da=2004&Db=/Xgardening&l=&m=&p=&b=&SORT=D&Da=2004&Db=/13%2C51%2C51%2CB/frameset&FF=Xgardening%26l%3D%26m%3D%26p%3D%26b%3D%26SORT%3DD%26Da%3D2004%26Db%3D&20%2C20%2C Square Foot<br>Gardening]
+
-
|}
+
-
{| cellpadding=10
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=easy+orchids&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search[[Image:Easyorchids.gif|left|Easy Orchids]]]
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tgarden+maker%27s+manuel/tgarden+makers+manuel/-2%2C0%2C0%2CB/frameset&FF=tgarden+makers+manual&1%2C1%2C/indexsort=-[[Image:Gardenmanual.gif|left|The Garden Maker's Manual]]]
+
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/Xgardening&l=&m=&p=&b=&SORT=D&Da=2004&Db=/Xgardening&l=&m=&p=&b=&SORT=D&Da=2004&Db=/25%2C51%2C51%2CB/frameset&FF=Xgardening%26l%3D%26m%3D%26p%3D%26b%3D%26SORT%3DD%26Da%3D2004%26Db%3D&35%2C35%2C [[Image:moosewoodgarden.gif|left|The Moosewood Restaurant Kitchen Garden]]]
+
|-
|-
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=easy+orchids&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Easy Orchids]
+
|Organic gardening
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/tgarden+maker%27s+manuel/tgarden+makers+manuel/-2%2C0%2C0%2CB/frameset&FF=tgarden+makers+manual&1%2C1%2C/indexsort=-  The Garden<br>Maker's Manual]
+
|635.0484
-
|[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/Xgardening&l=&m=&p=&b=&SORT=D&Da=2004&Db=/Xgardening&l=&m=&p=&b=&SORT=D&Da=2004&Db=/25%2C51%2C51%2CB/frameset&FF=Xgardening%26l%3D%26m%3D%26p%3D%26b%3D%26SORT%3DD%26Da%3D2004%26Db%3D&35%2C35%2C The Moosewood Restaurant<br>Kitchen Garden]
+
|-
-
|}
+
|Lawn care
-
<hr/>
+
|635.9647
 +
|-
 +
|Water gardens
 +
|635.9674
 +
|-
 +
|Landscaping
 +
|712.6
 +
|-
 +
|}<br />
 +
 
===Gardening Magazine Subscriptions===
===Gardening Magazine Subscriptions===
{| cellpadding=5
{| cellpadding=5
-
|
+
[http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Gardening Gardening magazines by title]
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=backhome+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=49&submit3.y=9&submit3=Search Backhome]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=better+homes+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Better Homes and Gardens]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=Chicagoland+Gardening+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=24&submit3.y=7&submit3=Search Chicagoland Gardening]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=english+garden+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=19&submit3.y=8&submit3=Search The English Garden]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=fine+gardening+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=9&submit3.y=14&submit3=Search Fine Gardening]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=flower+garden+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=10&submit3.y=13&submit3=Search Flower & Garden]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=garden+design+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=9&submit3.y=11&submit3=Search Garden Design]
+
-
||
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=garden+gate+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=32&submit3.y=12&submit3=Search Garden Gate]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=herb+companion+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=34&submit3.y=12&submit3=Search The Herb Companion]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=horticulture+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=14&submit3.y=13&submit3=Search Horticulture, The Art of American Gardening]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=house+garden+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=19&submit3.y=11&submit3=Search House & Garden]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=organic+gardening+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=23&submit3.y=11&submit3=Search OG (formerly Organic Gardening)]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=w&searcharg=weekend+gardener+periodical&SORT=R&submit3.x=23&submit3.y=9&submit3=Search Weekend Gardener]
+
-
|}
+
-
<hr/>
+
-
===Gardening Tips===
+
-
{| cellpadding=10
+
-
'''After the frost'''
+
-
[[Image:purple_coneflower.jpg|thumb|Description|right|]]
+
-
 
+
-
Now that the first frost has come and gone, garden clean-up begins. While some frost hardy vegetables continue to flourish, gardeners can pull up sunflower and corn stalks, uproot the basil, green bean and tomato plants. Once the ground is cleared, it is a good time to till in soil amendments like leaves and composted manure.
+
-
 
+
-
Fall is the time to plant also. Bulbs, shrubs and trees can all go in the ground while it is not frozen, and grass seed can be sown. Take care with fall pruning, though. Grassy plants can be cut back, but woody shrubs and trees often set buds in the fall. Save hard pruning for spring.
+
-
 
+
-
Once you are done planting and cutting back, tender plants like roses, bleeding heart and hibiscus can be covered with rose cones or a layer of mulch. Leaf mulch and straw work well to protect plants from winter kill. They also add humus to the soil as they break down.
+
 +
<p>
 +
[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C|Sgardening|Ff%3Afacetmediatype%3Ap%3Ap%3AMAGAZINE%2525252FNEWSP%3A%3A|Ff%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A|Orightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Library catalog search results]
|}
|}
 +
<hr/>
-
=='''Community Garden Resources'''==
+
='''Making a Garden'''=
==='''Farmer's Market'''===
==='''Farmer's Market'''===
{|
{|
-
|Visit the Farmer's Market for fresh, seasonal produce and garden plants.
+
|Visit the [http://www.southbendfarmersmarket.com/ Farmer's Market] for fresh, seasonal produce and garden plants.
1105 Northside Boulevard
1105 Northside Boulevard
<br>South Bend, IN  46615
<br>South Bend, IN  46615
Line 101: Line 68:
The [http://www.hort.purdue.edu/mg/ Purdue Master Gardener Program] provides residents of Indiana with training in a variety of horticultural subjects.  Participants in the program then volunteer to serve as gardening educators in their communities.  [http://www.ces.purdue.edu/stjoseph/ Local contact information] is available on the web.
The [http://www.hort.purdue.edu/mg/ Purdue Master Gardener Program] provides residents of Indiana with training in a variety of horticultural subjects.  Participants in the program then volunteer to serve as gardening educators in their communities.  [http://www.ces.purdue.edu/stjoseph/ Local contact information] is available on the web.
|}
|}
-
<br/>
+
 
 +
===Community Gardens of Michiana===
 +
{| cellpadding=10
 +
Are you interested in starting a garden in your neighborhood, or participating in one that's already going? Contact [http://www.sbcg.org Community Gardens of Michiana] for more information! 
 +
|}
 +
='''Visiting a Garden'''=
 +
 
 +
*[http://www.angelofhopemichiana.org/mission.htm Angel of Hope Memorial Garden (for those who have lost a child)]
 +
*[http://www.carriagehousedining.com/pgs/garden.html Carriage House Dining Room kitchen garden]
 +
*[http://www.fernwoodbotanical.org/ Fernwood Botanical Gardens]
 +
*[http://www.gingervalley.com Ginger Valley garden center water gardens]
 +
*[http://centerforhistory.org/see-and-do/historic-houses/historic-oliver-gardens Historic Oliver gardens]
 +
*[http://sbpark.org/parks/potawatomi-park/conservatory/ Potawatomi Greenhouse and Conservatories]
 +
*[http://www.cscsisters.org/spirituality/Pages/labyrinth.aspx Saint Mary's College labyrinth garden]
 +
*[http://www3.saintmarys.edu/departments/biology/facilities-nature-area Saint Mary's College nature area]
 +
*[http://mishawaka.in.gov/shiojiriniwa Shiojiri Niwa Japanese Garden]
 +
 
<hr/>
<hr/>
===Definitions & History===
===Definitions & History===
{| cellpadding=10
{| cellpadding=10
-
The Wikipedia has some fascinating information about [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gardening gardening and its history]
+
The Wikipedia has some fascinating information about [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gardening gardening and its history.]
|}
|}
-
[[Category:Hobbies]]
+
[[Category:Recreation & Fitness]]
-
 
+
-
 
+
-
Last updated: --[[User:Mamorico|Michael]] 1:42, 7 January 2006 (EST)
+

Revision as of 21:09, 13 November 2012

Regional Links

National and International Links

Contents

SJCPL Gardening Resources

Gardening Call Numbers

Topic Call Number
General gardening 635
Organic gardening 635.0484
Lawn care 635.9647
Water gardens 635.9674
Landscaping 712.6


Gardening Magazine Subscriptions

Gardening magazines by title

Library catalog search results


Making a Garden

Farmer's Market

Visit the Farmer's Market for fresh, seasonal produce and garden plants.

1105 Northside Boulevard
South Bend, IN 46615

Open Year-round

Tuesday & Thursday, 7:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.
Friday, 8:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m. (May through September)
Saturday, 7:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.

Purdue Master Gardener

The Purdue Master Gardener Program provides residents of Indiana with training in a variety of horticultural subjects. Participants in the program then volunteer to serve as gardening educators in their communities. Local contact information is available on the web.

Community Gardens of Michiana

Are you interested in starting a garden in your neighborhood, or participating in one that's already going? Contact Community Gardens of Michiana for more information!

Visiting a Garden


Definitions & History

The Wikipedia has some fascinating information about gardening and its history.

Personal tools