Foreign Births

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 3: Line 3:
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | '''SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES'''
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | '''SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES'''
-
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://ancestrylibrary.proquest.com/ Ancestry.com]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use in Library only &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Ancestry.pdf Help sheet]
+
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://ancestrylibrary.proquest.com/ Ancestry Library Edition]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use in Library only &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Ancestry.pdf Help sheet]
-
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=306&DBId=15108#sform Chicago Tribune (1858-1985)]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card
+
*[http://www.familysearch.org/ Family Search]
-
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www.heritagequestonline.com HeritageQuest Online]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Heritage_Quest.pdf Help sheet]
+
-
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://www.newenglandancestors.org/ New England Ancestors]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use in Library only &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/New_England_Ancestors.pdf Help sheet]
+
-
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=318&TS=1144846645&clientId=18373&VType=PQD&VName=PQD&VInst=PROD&pmid=7732&PageNum=1 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf Help sheet]
+
-
 
+
-
'''ST. JOSEPH COUNTY LINKS'''
+
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/1875Atlas/ 1875 Atlas Online]
+
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/1936Atlas/ 1936 Platbook Online]
+
-
*[http://www.hlcm.org/htlm/archives.html Lindahl Children's Museum Archives]
+
-
*[http://www.mphpl.org/genealogy.htm Mishawaka-Penn-Harris Public Library]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/Obits/Search_Form.php Obituary Index]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;[http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/Obits/Search_Form.php Obituary Index]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;[http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf Help sheet]
-
*[http://www.rootsweb.com/~instjose St. Joseph County GenWeb]
+
*[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/sjchd/health_dpt.htm St. Joseph County Health Department]<br /> - [http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/sjchd/death_certificates.htm Death Certificates]
-
*[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/index1.htm St. Joseph County Government]
+
*[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/w2welcom.htm Vital Records]
-
*[http://www.libraryforlife.org/servicenotes/index.php Service Notes Index]
+
-
*[http://www.rootsweb.com/~insbags/ South Bend Area Genealogical Society]
+
-
*[http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=318&TS=1144846645&clientId=18373&VType=PQD&VName=PQD&VInst=PROD&pmid=7732&PageNum=1 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf Help sheet]
+
-
*[http://www.walkerton.org/society.shtml Walkerton Area Historical Society]
+
-
'''INDIANA LINKS'''
 
-
*[http://www.acpl.lib.in.us/genealogy/index.html Allen County Public Library]
 
-
*[http://www.rootsweb.com/~inelkhar/ecgs.htm Elkhart County Genealogical Society]
 
-
*[http://www.indgensoc.org/ Indiana Genealogical Society]
 
-
*[http://www.ingenweb.org/ Indiana GenWeb]
 
-
*[http://www.in.gov/icpr/archives/databases Indiana State Archives Databases]
 
-
*[http://www.statelib.lib.in.us/www/isl/whoweare/genealogy.html Indiana State Library - Genealogy]
 
-
*[http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/indiana.htm Indiana Vital Records]
 
-
*[http://fizkid.tripod.com/ Indiana's South Pacific World War II Dead]
 
-
 
-
'''NATIONAL LINKS'''
 
-
*[http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/ Bureau of Land Management]
 
-
*[http://www.castlegarden.org/ Castle Garden]
 
-
*[http://www.cyndislist.com/ Cyndi's List]
 
-
*[http://www.deathindexes.com/ Death Indexes]
 
-
*[http://www.ellisislandrecords.org/ Ellis Island]
 
-
*[http://www.familysearch.org/ Family Search]
 
-
*[http://www.archives.gov/genealogy National Archives Genealogy]
 
-
*[http://www.pgsa.org/ Polish Genealogical Society of America]
 
-
*[http://www.kansasheritage.org/pbp/gen/g_intro.html Potawatomi Genealogy]
 
-
*[http://www.rootsweb.com/ RootsWeb]
 
-
*[http://ssdi.genealogy.rootsweb.com/ Social Security Death Index]
 
-
*[http://www.usgenweb.org/ USGenWeb]
 
|}
|}
Line 50: Line 14:
By [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]]
By [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]]
-
Coming soon!
+
Finding birth dates for relatives born outside of the United States can be a tricky business.  You might immediately think you'll have to travel to your ancestors' birth country, or write to an archive there to get a record.  Although that may be a possibility (or may not, depending on the time period in question and the state of the country's recordkeeping system), there are some easier strategies to try first--right here at home!<br /><br />
 +
 
 +
The first question to ask is whether your relative died in America.  If not, did they die in Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, or Wales?  Then try looking in [http://proxy.sjcpl.lib.in.us:2048/login?url=http://ancestrylibrary.proquest.com/ Ancestry], because Ancestry has a lot of records from those countries.  If your relative died in any other foreign country, try the nearest LDS Family History Center.  Here in St. Joseph County the closest one is in Mishawaka.  The Mormon Family History Centers have access to microfilms of vital records from all over the world, and you do not have to be Mormon to use them.<br /><br />
 +
 
 +
If the person you are looking for <i>did</i> die here, then you have several alternatives.  The easiest situation is if you know what American state and county your relative died in.  In this case, you can try to obtain a death certificate and obituary.  "Wait," you may say, "I'm interested in when this person <i>was born</i>, not when they <i>died</i>."  But, almost all death certificates, and many obituaries, will give the person's birth date or at least an age.  If your relative died here in St. Joseph County, then you can look for the date of your relative's obituary in our [http://www.sjcpl.org/Obits/Search_Form.php Obituary Index] (deaths since 1913) or in our set of [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/Yeisen+vital+statistics+index&SORT=D/Yeisen+vital+statistics+index&SORT=D&submit3=Search&SUBKEY=eisen%20vital%20statistics%20index/1%2C2%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=Yeisen+vital+statistics+index&SORT=D&1%2C1%2C Eisen's <i>Vital Statistics Index to St. Joseph County, Indiana, Newspapers, 1831-1912</i>].  The Library has local newspapers on microfilm, so you can come in and find the obituary once you have the date it was published.  To obtain a death certificate, you can simply go to the [http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/sjchd/death_certificates.htm St. Joseph County Health Department] on the 8th floor of the City-County Building at the corner of Lafayette and Jefferson in downtown South Bend.<br /><br />
 +
 
 +
If your relative died in another county in Indiana, you can most likely still get an obituary and a death certificate.  To get an obituary, just find which [http://www.statelib.lib.in.us/www/ISL/lib/publib.html Indiana public library] serves the county your relative died in, and then contact that library to find out if they have an obituary index to their local newspaper.  If they don't, you still have the option to get a death certificate.  You can order a copy from the [http://www.in.gov/isdh/bdcertifs/birth_and_death_certificates.htm State Department of Health] or directly from the [http://www.in.gov/isdh/links/local_dep/ county health department].<br /><br />
 +
 
[[Genealogy | Back to the Genealogy page]]
[[Genealogy | Back to the Genealogy page]]

Revision as of 23:30, 12 October 2006

SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES


Finding Birth Dates for Foreign-Born Relatives

By Libby Feil

Finding birth dates for relatives born outside of the United States can be a tricky business. You might immediately think you'll have to travel to your ancestors' birth country, or write to an archive there to get a record. Although that may be a possibility (or may not, depending on the time period in question and the state of the country's recordkeeping system), there are some easier strategies to try first--right here at home!

The first question to ask is whether your relative died in America. If not, did they die in Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, or Wales? Then try looking in Ancestry, because Ancestry has a lot of records from those countries. If your relative died in any other foreign country, try the nearest LDS Family History Center. Here in St. Joseph County the closest one is in Mishawaka. The Mormon Family History Centers have access to microfilms of vital records from all over the world, and you do not have to be Mormon to use them.

If the person you are looking for did die here, then you have several alternatives. The easiest situation is if you know what American state and county your relative died in. In this case, you can try to obtain a death certificate and obituary. "Wait," you may say, "I'm interested in when this person was born, not when they died." But, almost all death certificates, and many obituaries, will give the person's birth date or at least an age. If your relative died here in St. Joseph County, then you can look for the date of your relative's obituary in our Obituary Index (deaths since 1913) or in our set of Eisen's Vital Statistics Index to St. Joseph County, Indiana, Newspapers, 1831-1912. The Library has local newspapers on microfilm, so you can come in and find the obituary once you have the date it was published. To obtain a death certificate, you can simply go to the St. Joseph County Health Department on the 8th floor of the City-County Building at the corner of Lafayette and Jefferson in downtown South Bend.

If your relative died in another county in Indiana, you can most likely still get an obituary and a death certificate. To get an obituary, just find which Indiana public library serves the county your relative died in, and then contact that library to find out if they have an obituary index to their local newspaper. If they don't, you still have the option to get a death certificate. You can order a copy from the State Department of Health or directly from the county health department.


Back to the Genealogy page



Last updated by: Libby Feil, October 12, 2006

Personal tools