Education
From SJCPLSubjectGuides
(Difference between revisions)
| (7 intermediate revisions not shown) | |||
| Line 4: | Line 4: | ||
*[http://www.careers-internet.org/ Careers Internet Database (Username: 440w, Password: future)] | *[http://www.careers-internet.org/ Careers Internet Database (Username: 440w, Password: future)] | ||
| + | |||
| + | *[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=197 Ed2Go] offers SJCPL library card holders free short-term certificate classes in many different fields. | ||
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=105 Gale Testing and Education Database] contains sample tests for many professions and for the SAT, ACT, GED, GRE, MCAT, LSAT and more. | *[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=105 Gale Testing and Education Database] contains sample tests for many professions and for the SAT, ACT, GED, GRE, MCAT, LSAT and more. | ||
| Line 31: | Line 33: | ||
*Please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Computer_Classes Computer classes subject guide] for information on community classes. | *Please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Computer_Classes Computer classes subject guide] for information on community classes. | ||
| - | *[http:// | + | *[http://web.sjchamber.org/Colleges-and-Universities Area Colleges & Universities] |
| - | *[http://www.ncinreads.org The Literacy Council of North Central Indiana | + | *[http://www.ncinreads.org The Literacy Council of North Central Indiana] |
| Line 120: | Line 122: | ||
*[http://www.nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator College Navigator]: Note--click on "more search options" and, under "extended learning opportunities" check off "distance only" | *[http://www.nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator College Navigator]: Note--click on "more search options" and, under "extended learning opportunities" check off "distance only" | ||
| + | |||
| + | *[http://www.onlinedegrees.org OnlineDregrees.org] | ||
*[http://www.usnews.com/education/online-education Online Education from U.S. News] | *[http://www.usnews.com/education/online-education Online Education from U.S. News] | ||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| Line 133: | Line 135: | ||
*[http://education-portal.com/articles/Colleges_and_Universities_that_Offer_Free_Courses_Online.html Education-Portal.com] | *[http://education-portal.com/articles/Colleges_and_Universities_that_Offer_Free_Courses_Online.html Education-Portal.com] | ||
| + | |||
| + | *[http://ocw.mit.edu/index.htm MIT OpenCourse Ware] | ||
*[http://oedb.org/library/beginning-online-learning/200-free-online-classes-to-learn-anything Online Education Database] | *[http://oedb.org/library/beginning-online-learning/200-free-online-classes-to-learn-anything Online Education Database] | ||
Latest revision as of 19:51, 29 April 2013
Contents |
SJCPL Education Information
Library Resources
- Ed2Go offers SJCPL library card holders free short-term certificate classes in many different fields.
- Gale Testing and Education Database contains sample tests for many professions and for the SAT, ACT, GED, GRE, MCAT, LSAT and more.
- For a list of education magazines available at SJCPL, please see our Magazine Titles by Subject guide.
- Please search for local scholarships in Community Connection or look at our local scholarships binder on the Education table in the reference area of the Main Library.
Library Services
- Ask a Librarian at St. Joseph County Public Library for research assistance.
- Our Reference Department offers beginning level computer classes.
- Our Literacy & Outreach Services Department offers math tutoring, GED classes, and English language conversation.
Local Education Resources
- Please see our Computer classes subject guide for information on community classes.
Indiana Education Resources
General Resources
- Indiana Department of Education reading lists: scroll down to Related Documents
ISTEP+ Resources
Scholarships and Financial Aid
Internet Resources
Citing Sources
College & Career Planning Databases and Websites
Home Schooling
- For home schooling resources, please see SJCPL's Homeschooling subject guide
Language Learning
- Please see our Language Subject Guide for a wide variety of language learning resources.
National/International Education Resources
Online Degree Programs
- College Navigator: Note--click on "more search options" and, under "extended learning opportunities" check off "distance only"
Online Non-Credit Classes (Free)
- Udemy: many classes are free on this site, but some require payment.
Resources for Teachers
- The Library of Congress offers lesson plans for using their online primary source materials.
- Nat. Endowment for the Humanities Includes lesson plans for humanities subjects.
- Understanding Science teaching resources page
Scholarship and Financial Aid Websites
Special Needs