Education

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(48 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 4: Line 4:
*[http://www.careers-internet.org/ Careers Internet Database (Username: 440w, Password: future)]
*[http://www.careers-internet.org/ Careers Internet Database (Username: 440w, Password: future)]
 +
 +
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=197 Learn4Life] offers SJCPL library card holders free short-term certificate classes in many different fields.
 +
 +
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=105 Gale Testing and Education Database] contains sample tests for many professions and for the SAT, ACT, GED, GRE, MCAT, LSAT and more.
*For a list of education magazines available at SJCPL, please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Education Magazine Titles by Subject] guide.
*For a list of education magazines available at SJCPL, please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Education Magazine Titles by Subject] guide.
 +
 +
*Please search for '''local scholarships''' in [http://www2.sjcpl.lib.in.us/cc/findrecords.php?-link=Search%20Community%20Connection%20Records Community Connection] or look at our '''local scholarships binder''' on the Education table in the reference area of the Main Library.
Line 16: Line 22:
*Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/los/ Literacy & Outreach Services Department] offers '''math tutoring''', '''GED classes''', and '''English language conversation'''.
*Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/los/ Literacy & Outreach Services Department] offers '''math tutoring''', '''GED classes''', and '''English language conversation'''.
-
*Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/kids/ Storytimes]
+
*[http://www.libraryforlife.org/kids/ Storytimes]
-
 
+
Line 26: Line 31:
*[http://mustang.doe.state.in.us/SEARCH/s3.cfm?county=71 Area Schools]
*[http://mustang.doe.state.in.us/SEARCH/s3.cfm?county=71 Area Schools]
-
*[http://StJosephChamberINCOC.weblinkconnect.com/CWT/EXTERNAL/WCPAGES/WCDirectory/Directory.aspx?CategoryID=30&Title=Colleges+and+Universities&AdKeyword=Colleges+and+Universities Area Colleges & Universities]
+
*Please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Computer_Classes Computer classes subject guide] for information on community classes.
 +
 
 +
*[http://web.sjchamber.org/Colleges-and-Universities Area Colleges & Universities]
 +
 
 +
*[https://secure.in.gov/apps/fssa/carefinder/index.html Licensed Daycares]
 +
 
 +
*[http://www.ncinreads.org The Literacy Council of North Central Indiana]
-
*[http://www.stjoereads.org/ St. Joseph County Literacy Council]
 
Line 35: Line 45:
'''General Resources'''
'''General Resources'''
-
*[http://dc.doe.in.gov/Standards/AcademicStandards/PrintLibrary/index.shtml Indiana Academic Standards]
+
*[https://learningconnection.doe.in.gov/Standards/PrintLibrary.aspx Indiana Academic Standards]
-
*[http://www.doe.state.in.us/ Indiana Department of Education]
+
*[http://www.doe.in.gov/ Indiana Department of Education]
-
*[http://dc.doe.in.gov/Standards/AcademicStandards/PrintLibrary/readinglist.shtml Indiana Department of Education reading lists]
+
*[https://learningconnection.doe.in.gov/Standards/PrintLibrary.aspx Indiana Department of Education reading lists]:  scroll down to Related Documents
*[http://www.icn.org/ Indiana College Network]
*[http://www.icn.org/ Indiana College Network]
Line 49: Line 59:
'''ISTEP+ Resources'''
'''ISTEP+ Resources'''
-
 
-
*[http://learnoas.ctb.com/ISTEP Experience ISTEP+ online] practice tests
 
*[http://www.doe.in.gov/achievement/assessment/istep-grades-3-8 ISTEP+ blueprints]
*[http://www.doe.in.gov/achievement/assessment/istep-grades-3-8 ISTEP+ blueprints]
-
*[http://askrose.org/students.php?section=istep_practice ISTEP+ practice] from Homework Hotline
+
*[http://www.askrose.org/index.php/students/resources/istep ISTEP+ practice]
 +
 
 +
 
 +
'''Scholarships and Financial Aid'''
 +
 
 +
*[http://www.in.gov/ssaci Indiana State Student Assistance Commission]
 +
 
 +
*[http://www.triptocollege.org/ Indiana Youth Institute Trip to College]
Line 86: Line 101:
'''Language Learning'''
'''Language Learning'''
-
Please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Language Language Subject Guide] for a wide variety of language learning resources.
+
*Please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Language Language Subject Guide] for a wide variety of language learning resources.
Line 102: Line 117:
*[http://www.usnews.com/rankings  US News & World Report Rankings]
*[http://www.usnews.com/rankings  US News & World Report Rankings]
 +
 +
 +
'''Online Degree Programs'''
 +
 +
*[http://www.braintrack.com/online-colleges Braintrack Online Degree Programs]
 +
 +
*[http://www.nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator College Navigator]: Note--click on "more search options" and, under "extended learning opportunities" check off "distance only"
 +
 +
*[http://www.onlinedegrees.org OnlineDregrees.org]
 +
 +
*[http://www.usnews.com/education/online-education Online Education from U.S. News]
Line 107: Line 133:
*[http://www.academicearth.org Academic Earth]
*[http://www.academicearth.org Academic Earth]
 +
 +
*[https://www.coursera.org coursera]
*[http://education-portal.com/articles/Colleges_and_Universities_that_Offer_Free_Courses_Online.html Education-Portal.com]
*[http://education-portal.com/articles/Colleges_and_Universities_that_Offer_Free_Courses_Online.html Education-Portal.com]
-
*[http://oedb.org/library/beginning-online-learning/200-free-online-classes-to-learn-anything Online Education Database]
+
*[http://ocw.mit.edu/index.htm MIT OpenCourse Ware]
 +
 
 +
*[http://oedb.org/library/beginning-online-learning/200-free-online-classes-to-learn-anything Open Education Database]
*[http://www.khanacademy.org/ Khan Academy]
*[http://www.khanacademy.org/ Khan Academy]
Line 118: Line 148:
'''Resources for Teachers'''
'''Resources for Teachers'''
 +
 +
*[http://dp.la Digital Public Library of America]
 +
 +
*[http://www.discoveryeducation.com/teachers/index.cfm?campaign=flyout_teachers Discovery Education]
*[http://www.edutopia.org Edutopia]
*[http://www.edutopia.org Edutopia]
Line 143: Line 177:
*[http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/ FAFSA Online Application]
*[http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/ FAFSA Online Application]
-
 
-
*[http://www.in.gov/ssaci Indiana State Student Assistance Commission]
 
-
 
-
*[http://www.triptocollege.org/ Indiana Youth Institute Trip to College]
 
*[http://www.ed.gov/finaid/landing.jhtml U.S. Dept. of Education Financial Aid]
*[http://www.ed.gov/finaid/landing.jhtml U.S. Dept. of Education Financial Aid]
-
 
-
*Please search for local scholarships in [http://www2.sjcpl.lib.in.us/cc/findrecords.php?-link=Search%20Community%20Connection%20Records Community Connection] or look at our local scholarships binder on the Education table in the reference area of the Main Library.
 

Latest revision as of 20:17, 20 August 2013

Contents

SJCPL Education Information

Library Resources

  • Learn4Life offers SJCPL library card holders free short-term certificate classes in many different fields.
  • Please search for local scholarships in Community Connection or look at our local scholarships binder on the Education table in the reference area of the Main Library.


Library Services

  • Ask a Librarian at St. Joseph County Public Library for research assistance.


Local Education Resources


Indiana Education Resources

General Resources


ISTEP+ Resources


Scholarships and Financial Aid


Internet Resources

Citing Sources


College & Career Planning Databases and Websites


Home Schooling


Language Learning


National/International Education Resources


Online Degree Programs

  • College Navigator: Note--click on "more search options" and, under "extended learning opportunities" check off "distance only"


Online Non-Credit Classes (Free)

  • Udemy: many classes are free on this site, but some require payment.


Resources for Teachers


Scholarship and Financial Aid Websites


Special Needs

Personal tools