Education
From SJCPLSubjectGuides
(Difference between revisions)
(→College & Career Planning Databases and Websites) |
|||
| (46 intermediate revisions not shown) | |||
| Line 4: | Line 4: | ||
*[http://www.careers-internet.org/ Careers Internet Database (Username: 440w, Password: future)] | *[http://www.careers-internet.org/ Careers Internet Database (Username: 440w, Password: future)] | ||
| + | |||
| + | *[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=105 Gale Testing and Education Database] contains sample tests for many professions and for the SAT, ACT, GED, GRE, MCAT, LSAT and more. | ||
*For a list of education magazines available at SJCPL, please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Education Magazine Titles by Subject] guide. | *For a list of education magazines available at SJCPL, please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Education Magazine Titles by Subject] guide. | ||
| + | |||
| + | *Please search for '''local scholarships''' in [http://www2.sjcpl.lib.in.us/cc/findrecords.php?-link=Search%20Community%20Connection%20Records Community Connection] or look at our '''local scholarships binder''' on the Education table in the reference area of the Main Library. | ||
| Line 12: | Line 16: | ||
*[http://www.libraryforlife.org/contact/ Ask a Librarian] at St. Joseph County Public Library for research assistance. | *[http://www.libraryforlife.org/contact/ Ask a Librarian] at St. Joseph County Public Library for research assistance. | ||
| - | *Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/ | + | *Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/reference/ Reference Department] offers beginning level [http://www.libraryforlife.org/classes/ computer classes]. |
| + | |||
| + | *Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/los/ Literacy & Outreach Services Department] offers '''math tutoring''', '''GED classes''', and '''English language conversation'''. | ||
| - | * | + | *[http://www.libraryforlife.org/kids/ Storytimes] |
| - | =='''Local | + | =='''Local Education Resources'''== |
*[http://www.sbcsc.k12.in.us/AR_WEB/index.html Accelerated Reader Lists for South Bend Community School Corporation primary and intermediate centers] | *[http://www.sbcsc.k12.in.us/AR_WEB/index.html Accelerated Reader Lists for South Bend Community School Corporation primary and intermediate centers] | ||
*[http://mustang.doe.state.in.us/SEARCH/s3.cfm?county=71 Area Schools] | *[http://mustang.doe.state.in.us/SEARCH/s3.cfm?county=71 Area Schools] | ||
| + | |||
| + | *Please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Computer_Classes Computer classes subject guide] for information on community classes. | ||
*[http://StJosephChamberINCOC.weblinkconnect.com/CWT/EXTERNAL/WCPAGES/WCDirectory/Directory.aspx?CategoryID=30&Title=Colleges+and+Universities&AdKeyword=Colleges+and+Universities Area Colleges & Universities] | *[http://StJosephChamberINCOC.weblinkconnect.com/CWT/EXTERNAL/WCPAGES/WCDirectory/Directory.aspx?CategoryID=30&Title=Colleges+and+Universities&AdKeyword=Colleges+and+Universities Area Colleges & Universities] | ||
| Line 28: | Line 36: | ||
| - | ==''' | + | =='''Indiana Education Resources'''== |
| - | + | '''General Resources''' | |
| - | *[http:// | + | *[http://doe.in.gov/achievement/standards/indiana-standard-resources Indiana Academic Standards] |
| - | *[http:// | + | *[http://www.doe.in.gov/ Indiana Department of Education] |
| + | *[https://learningconnection.doe.in.gov/Standards/PrintLibrary.aspx Indiana Department of Education reading lists]: scroll down to Related Documents | ||
| - | + | *[http://www.icn.org/ Indiana College Network] | |
| - | *[ | + | *[https://www.driveofyourlife.org/ Indiana Youth Institute Career Search] |
| - | *[http:// | + | *[http://www.learnmoreindiana.org/ Learn More Indiana College and Career Search] |
| - | + | '''ISTEP+ Resources''' | |
| - | *[http://www. | + | *[http://www.doe.in.gov/achievement/assessment/istep-grades-3-8 ISTEP+ blueprints] |
| - | *[http://www. | + | *[http://www.askrose.org/index.php/students/resources/istep ISTEP+ practice] |
| - | |||
| - | + | '''Scholarships and Financial Aid''' | |
| - | *[http:// | + | *[http://www.in.gov/ssaci Indiana State Student Assistance Commission] |
| - | + | *[http://www.triptocollege.org/ Indiana Youth Institute Trip to College] | |
| - | |||
| - | + | =='''Internet Resources'''== | |
| + | '''Citing Sources''' | ||
| - | + | *[http://www2.liu.edu/cwis/cwp/library/workshop/citation.htm Citation Style for Research Papers] | |
| - | * | + | *[http://citationmachine.net/ Son of a Citation Machine] |
| - | + | '''College & Career Planning Databases and Websites''' | |
| - | *[http:// | + | *[http://www.braintrack.com/ BrainTrack College & University Directory] |
| - | *[http://www. | + | *[http://www.educationdegrees.org Educationdegrees.org (Teaching Education & Career Information)] |
| - | *[http:// | + | *[http://www.bls.gov/OCO Occupational Outlook Handbook Online] |
| + | *[http://online.onetcenter.org O*NET Online] | ||
| - | + | *[http://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/cool/ U.S. Dept. of Education College Search] | |
| - | |||
| + | '''Home Schooling''' | ||
| - | + | *For home schooling resources, please see SJCPL's [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Homeschooling Homeschooling subject guide] | |
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | '''Language Learning''' | ||
| + | |||
| + | *Please see our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Language Language Subject Guide] for a wide variety of language learning resources. | ||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | '''National/International Education Resources''' | ||
*[http://www.kids.gov/ Kids.gov] | *[http://www.kids.gov/ Kids.gov] | ||
| Line 97: | Line 114: | ||
| - | + | '''Online Degree Programs''' | |
| + | |||
| + | *[http://www.braintrack.com/online-colleges Braintrack Online Degree Programs] | ||
| + | |||
| + | *[http://www.nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator College Navigator]: Note--click on "more search options" and, under "extended learning opportunities" check off "distance only" | ||
| + | |||
| + | *[http://www.usnews.com/education/online-education Online Education from U.S. News] | ||
| + | |||
| + | *[http://edu.monsterlearning.com Monster Learning] | ||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | '''Online Non-Credit Classes (Free)''' | ||
*[http://www.academicearth.org Academic Earth] | *[http://www.academicearth.org Academic Earth] | ||
| + | |||
| + | *[https://www.coursera.org coursera] | ||
*[http://education-portal.com/articles/Colleges_and_Universities_that_Offer_Free_Courses_Online.html Education-Portal.com] | *[http://education-portal.com/articles/Colleges_and_Universities_that_Offer_Free_Courses_Online.html Education-Portal.com] | ||
| Line 110: | Line 140: | ||
| - | + | '''Resources for Teachers''' | |
| + | |||
| + | *[http://www.discoveryeducation.com/teachers/index.cfm?campaign=flyout_teachers Discovery Education] | ||
*[http://www.edutopia.org Edutopia] | *[http://www.edutopia.org Edutopia] | ||
| Line 133: | Line 165: | ||
| - | + | '''Scholarship and Financial Aid Websites''' | |
*[http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/ FAFSA Online Application] | *[http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/ FAFSA Online Application] | ||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
*[http://www.ed.gov/finaid/landing.jhtml U.S. Dept. of Education Financial Aid] | *[http://www.ed.gov/finaid/landing.jhtml U.S. Dept. of Education Financial Aid] | ||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | + | '''Special Needs''' | |
*[http://intra.isbrockets.org/public/ Indiana School for the Blind] | *[http://intra.isbrockets.org/public/ Indiana School for the Blind] | ||
Revision as of 19:27, 31 October 2012
Contents |
SJCPL Education Information
Library Resources
- Gale Testing and Education Database contains sample tests for many professions and for the SAT, ACT, GED, GRE, MCAT, LSAT and more.
- For a list of education magazines available at SJCPL, please see our Magazine Titles by Subject guide.
- Please search for local scholarships in Community Connection or look at our local scholarships binder on the Education table in the reference area of the Main Library.
Library Services
- Ask a Librarian at St. Joseph County Public Library for research assistance.
- Our Reference Department offers beginning level computer classes.
- Our Literacy & Outreach Services Department offers math tutoring, GED classes, and English language conversation.
Local Education Resources
- Please see our Computer classes subject guide for information on community classes.
Indiana Education Resources
General Resources
- Indiana Department of Education reading lists: scroll down to Related Documents
ISTEP+ Resources
Scholarships and Financial Aid
Internet Resources
Citing Sources
College & Career Planning Databases and Websites
Home Schooling
- For home schooling resources, please see SJCPL's Homeschooling subject guide
Language Learning
- Please see our Language Subject Guide for a wide variety of language learning resources.
National/International Education Resources
Online Degree Programs
- College Navigator: Note--click on "more search options" and, under "extended learning opportunities" check off "distance only"
Online Non-Credit Classes (Free)
- Udemy: many classes are free on this site, but some require payment.
Resources for Teachers
- The Library of Congress offers lesson plans for using their online primary source materials.
- Nat. Endowment for the Humanities Includes lesson plans for humanities subjects.
- Understanding Science teaching resources page
Scholarship and Financial Aid Websites
Special Needs