Community Resources

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(33 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 8: Line 8:
:[http://365southbend.blogspot.com 365 South Bend] is a blog about the many activities, restaurants, hangouts and more that South Bend has to offer.
:[http://365southbend.blogspot.com 365 South Bend] is a blog about the many activities, restaurants, hangouts and more that South Bend has to offer.
-
:The Community Foundation of St. Joseph County sponsors [http://www.artseverywhere.com/ Arts Everywhere], the area's "Ultimate Guide to Arts & Culture."
+
:[http://events.inthebend.com/search?commit=Search&search=true&srad=40&st=event&st_select=event&svt=text&swhat=artseverywhere&swhen=&swhere=South+Bend%2CIN&srss=50 Arts events] from In the Bend (formerly Arts Everywhere)
:[http://www.ci.south-bend.in.us/ City of South Bend]
:[http://www.ci.south-bend.in.us/ City of South Bend]
Line 17: Line 17:
:The [http://indianalocalgovreform.iu.edu/ Indiana Commission on Local Government Reform] has been created to develop recommendations for reforming and restructuring local government.
:The [http://indianalocalgovreform.iu.edu/ Indiana Commission on Local Government Reform] has been created to develop recommendations for reforming and restructuring local government.
 +
 +
:[http://www.southbendtribune.com/entertainment/inthebend In the Bend]: local events from the South Bend Tribune
:Local news stories and information can be found on the [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Local_News_Sources Local News Sources] page.
:Local news stories and information can be found on the [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Local_News_Sources Local News Sources] page.
Line 22: Line 24:
:[http://movetosouthbend.wordpress.com Move to South Bend] is a blog about interesting places and events in our community.
:[http://movetosouthbend.wordpress.com Move to South Bend] is a blog about interesting places and events in our community.
-
:[http://www.southbendin.gov/living/community_development/neighborhood_partnership_centers.asp Neighborhood Partnership Centers]
+
:[http://www.nrc4neighborhoods.org/ Neighborhood Resources Corporation]
:Information about property sales can be found on the [http://www.sjcsheriff.com/sheriffsale.htm Sheriff's sales] page.
:Information about property sales can be found on the [http://www.sjcsheriff.com/sheriffsale.htm Sheriff's sales] page.
-
:[http://www.southbendon.com SouthBendOn] (Local Economic Development Information)
+
:[http://www.ci.south-bend.in.us/residents/division/neighborhoods South Bend neighborhoods]
-
 
+
-
:[http://www.southbendin.gov/neighborhoods South Bend neighborhoods]
+
-
:[http://StJosephChamberINCOC.weblinkconnect.com/CWT/EXTERNAL/WCPAGES/WCDirectory/Directory.aspx?&action=catlist&adkeyword=categorylist St. Joseph County Chamber of Commerce] business directory by category
+
:[http://web.sjchamber.org/search St. Joseph County Chamber of Commerce] business directory by category
:[http://www.visitsouthbend.com/ Visit South Bend]
:[http://www.visitsouthbend.com/ Visit South Bend]
Line 37: Line 37:
=='''Community Organizations'''==
=='''Community Organizations'''==
-
:Find [http://www.michianasober.org/ Alcoholics Anonymous] and [http://portaltools.na.org/portaltools/MeetingLoc Narcotics Anonymous] meetings around Michiana.
+
:Find [http://www.michianasober.org/ Alcoholics Anonymous] and [http://www.naindiana.org/ShowArea.php?iAreaID_req=3 Narcotics Anonymous] meetings around Michiana.
-
:[http://bridgeofhopesjc.com/ Bridge of Hope St. Joseph County] is an organization that helps single mothers to find housing and to develop financial self-sufficiency.
+
:[http://maternityhomewithaheart.org/?page_id=809 Bridge of Hope at Hannah's House]
:[http://www.sjcbridges.org/about.htm Bridges Out of Poverty] is a group of organizations working together to help people move from poverty to self-sufficiency.
:[http://www.sjcbridges.org/about.htm Bridges Out of Poverty] is a group of organizations working together to help people move from poverty to self-sufficiency.
-
:Try  [http://www.charitynavigator.org/ Charity Navigator Rating] to find out how a charity uses the donations they receive.
+
:Try  [http://www.charitynavigator.org/ Charity Navigator] to find out how a charity uses the donations they receive.
:[http://mykroc.org/family.php Family Resource Center] at the Ray and Joan Kroc Corps Community Center offers a food pantry, emergency financial assistance, family enrichment programs and scholarships.
:[http://mykroc.org/family.php Family Resource Center] at the Ray and Joan Kroc Corps Community Center offers a food pantry, emergency financial assistance, family enrichment programs and scholarships.
:The St. Joseph County Bar Association's [http://sjcba.org/referral.htm Lawyer Referral] service helps people find an attorney and lists programs that offer free legal assistance.
:The St. Joseph County Bar Association's [http://sjcba.org/referral.htm Lawyer Referral] service helps people find an attorney and lists programs that offer free legal assistance.
 +
 +
:[http://michianagreenpages.org/ Michiana Green Pages] "A new way of living and doing business has arrived in Michiana; one that creates healthy, safe, and thriving communities. By living and buying green you will be nurturing and celebrating the choices that sustain us all."
:[http://www.makeadifferencemichiana.org/ Make a Difference Michiana] is a website that connects Michiana nonprofit organizations.
:[http://www.makeadifferencemichiana.org/ Make a Difference Michiana] is a website that connects Michiana nonprofit organizations.
 +
 +
:[http://sholo.org ShoLo] Shop Local "is a collaborative effort between locally-owned, independent businesses, service providers, and consumers to build and revitalize a thriving local economy."
:The local [http://stjoe-redcross.org Red Cross] will provide information about donating blood.
:The local [http://stjoe-redcross.org Red Cross] will provide information about donating blood.
Line 67: Line 71:
:[http://www.southbendart.org/ South Bend Museum of Art]
:[http://www.southbendart.org/ South Bend Museum of Art]
-
:[http://www.southolddance.org/ Southhold Dance Theatre]
+
:[http://www.southolddance.org/ Southold Dance Theater]
:[http://www.wvpe.org/index.php#/ WVPE/National Public Radio]
:[http://www.wvpe.org/index.php#/ WVPE/National Public Radio]
Line 75: Line 79:
=='''Services for the Elderly'''==
=='''Services for the Elderly'''==
 +
 +
:[http://www.aarp.org/states/in/ AARP--South Bend Chapter]
:[http://www.realservicesinc.com/ REAL Services] Agency on Aging (Services for the Elderly), (574) 284-2644 or (800) 552-7928 (Indiana only)
:[http://www.realservicesinc.com/ REAL Services] Agency on Aging (Services for the Elderly), (574) 284-2644 or (800) 552-7928 (Indiana only)
Line 82: Line 88:
:[http://www.gaymichiana.org/index.html GayMichiana.org]
:[http://www.gaymichiana.org/index.html GayMichiana.org]
 +
 +
:[http://www.girlsontherunmichiana.org Girls on the Run]
:[http://www.michianaglbtcenter.org/ GLBT Resource Center of Michiana]
:[http://www.michianaglbtcenter.org/ GLBT Resource Center of Michiana]
Line 101: Line 109:
:[http://www.cfh.net/ Center for the Homeless] 813 S. Michigan St., South Bend, IN 46601 (574) 282-8700
:[http://www.cfh.net/ Center for the Homeless] 813 S. Michigan St., South Bend, IN 46601 (574) 282-8700
-
:[http://www.southbendin.gov/living/community_development/housing_programs.asp Community Development South Bend] provides housing and home repair assistance for Individuals.
+
:[http://www.ci.south-bend.in.us/government/content/housing-programs Community Development South Bend] provides programs  for mortgage, housing and home repair assistance for Individuals.
 +
 
 +
:[http://maternityhomewithaheart.org Hannah's House ]
:[http://www.homelessshelterdirectory.org Homeless shelters] in the U.S.  
:[http://www.homelessshelterdirectory.org Homeless shelters] in the U.S.  
Line 110: Line 120:
-
=='''Religious/Ethnic Groups'''==
+
=='''Religious/Ethnic/Country Groups'''==
:[http://www.michianabahais.org/contact.html Bahai Center in South Bend]
:[http://www.michianabahais.org/contact.html Bahai Center in South Bend]
Line 119: Line 129:
:[http://www.indianablackexpo.com Indiana Black Expo]
:[http://www.indianablackexpo.com Indiana Black Expo]
 +
 +
:[http://www.malawimatters.org/ Malawi Matters]
:[http://michianamuslims.org/ Islamic Society of Michiana]
:[http://michianamuslims.org/ Islamic Society of Michiana]

Revision as of 20:44, 10 May 2013

Contents

SJCPL Resources

Visit SJCPL's Community Connection to search for local organizations.


Community Information and Events

365 South Bend is a blog about the many activities, restaurants, hangouts and more that South Bend has to offer.
Arts events from In the Bend (formerly Arts Everywhere)
City of South Bend
WNDU has a Community Calendar of local events.
Downtown South Bend (DTSB) has information about events, stores, restaurants, nightlife and more in South Bend's downtown.
The Indiana Commission on Local Government Reform has been created to develop recommendations for reforming and restructuring local government.
In the Bend: local events from the South Bend Tribune
Local news stories and information can be found on the Local News Sources page.
Move to South Bend is a blog about interesting places and events in our community.
Neighborhood Resources Corporation
Information about property sales can be found on the Sheriff's sales page.
South Bend neighborhoods
St. Joseph County Chamber of Commerce business directory by category
Visit South Bend


Community Organizations

Find Alcoholics Anonymous and Narcotics Anonymous meetings around Michiana.
Bridge of Hope at Hannah's House
Bridges Out of Poverty is a group of organizations working together to help people move from poverty to self-sufficiency.
Try Charity Navigator to find out how a charity uses the donations they receive.
Family Resource Center at the Ray and Joan Kroc Corps Community Center offers a food pantry, emergency financial assistance, family enrichment programs and scholarships.
The St. Joseph County Bar Association's Lawyer Referral service helps people find an attorney and lists programs that offer free legal assistance.
Michiana Green Pages "A new way of living and doing business has arrived in Michiana; one that creates healthy, safe, and thriving communities. By living and buying green you will be nurturing and celebrating the choices that sustain us all."
Make a Difference Michiana is a website that connects Michiana nonprofit organizations.
ShoLo Shop Local "is a collaborative effort between locally-owned, independent businesses, service providers, and consumers to build and revitalize a thriving local economy."
The local Red Cross will provide information about donating blood.
Here is a list of Tax Exempt or non-profit organizations in St. Joseph County or Indiana.
United Way of St. Joseph County
(They can also be reached by dialing 211 or (574) 232-8201 ext. 233)


Arts Groups

South Bend Civic Theatre
South Bend Museum of Art
Southold Dance Theater
WVPE/National Public Radio
WNIT/Public Broadcasting Service


Services for the Elderly

AARP--South Bend Chapter
REAL Services Agency on Aging (Services for the Elderly), (574) 284-2644 or (800) 552-7928 (Indiana only)


Gender-focused Groups

GayMichiana.org
Girls on the Run
GLBT Resource Center of Michiana
League of Women Voters of the South Bend Area
The Michiana Chapter of PFLAG (Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays)


Health Services

AIDS Assist
Local Community Health Care Centers


Housing Resources

Center for the Homeless 813 S. Michigan St., South Bend, IN 46601 (574) 282-8700
Community Development South Bend provides programs for mortgage, housing and home repair assistance for Individuals.
Hannah's House
Homeless shelters in the U.S.
Hope Ministries - 432 S. Lafayette Blvd., South Bend, IN 46601 (574) 288-4842
Subsidized and Section 8 Housing Search


Religious/Ethnic/Country Groups

Bahai Center in South Bend
Carica Milica Circle of Serbian Sisters
La Casa de Amistad
Indiana Black Expo
Malawi Matters
Islamic Society of Michiana
Jewish Federation of St. Joseph Valley
NAACP-South Bend Branch
South Bend Catholic Worker Organization
United Religious Community of St. Joseph County
Personal tools