Community Resources
From SJCPLSubjectGuides
(Difference between revisions)
| (14 intermediate revisions not shown) | |||
| Line 24: | Line 24: | ||
:[http://movetosouthbend.wordpress.com Move to South Bend] is a blog about interesting places and events in our community. | :[http://movetosouthbend.wordpress.com Move to South Bend] is a blog about interesting places and events in our community. | ||
| - | :[http://www. | + | :[http://www.nrc4neighborhoods.org/ Neighborhood Resources Corporation] |
:Information about property sales can be found on the [http://www.sjcsheriff.com/sheriffsale.htm Sheriff's sales] page. | :Information about property sales can be found on the [http://www.sjcsheriff.com/sheriffsale.htm Sheriff's sales] page. | ||
| Line 30: | Line 30: | ||
:[http://www.southbendon.com SouthBendOn] (Local Economic Development Information) | :[http://www.southbendon.com SouthBendOn] (Local Economic Development Information) | ||
| - | :[http://www. | + | :[http://www.ci.south-bend.in.us/residents/division/neighborhoods South Bend neighborhoods] |
:[http://StJosephChamberINCOC.weblinkconnect.com/CWT/EXTERNAL/WCPAGES/WCDirectory/Directory.aspx?&action=catlist&adkeyword=categorylist St. Joseph County Chamber of Commerce] business directory by category | :[http://StJosephChamberINCOC.weblinkconnect.com/CWT/EXTERNAL/WCPAGES/WCDirectory/Directory.aspx?&action=catlist&adkeyword=categorylist St. Joseph County Chamber of Commerce] business directory by category | ||
| Line 39: | Line 39: | ||
=='''Community Organizations'''== | =='''Community Organizations'''== | ||
| - | :Find [http://www.michianasober.org/ Alcoholics Anonymous] and [http:// | + | :Find [http://www.michianasober.org/ Alcoholics Anonymous] and [http://www.naindiana.org/ShowArea.php?iAreaID_req=3 Narcotics Anonymous] meetings around Michiana. |
:[http://bridgeofhopesjc.com/ Bridge of Hope St. Joseph County] is an organization that helps single mothers to find housing and to develop financial self-sufficiency. | :[http://bridgeofhopesjc.com/ Bridge of Hope St. Joseph County] is an organization that helps single mothers to find housing and to develop financial self-sufficiency. | ||
| Line 45: | Line 45: | ||
:[http://www.sjcbridges.org/about.htm Bridges Out of Poverty] is a group of organizations working together to help people move from poverty to self-sufficiency. | :[http://www.sjcbridges.org/about.htm Bridges Out of Poverty] is a group of organizations working together to help people move from poverty to self-sufficiency. | ||
| - | :Try [http://www.charitynavigator.org/ Charity Navigator | + | :Try [http://www.charitynavigator.org/ Charity Navigator] to find out how a charity uses the donations they receive. |
:[http://mykroc.org/family.php Family Resource Center] at the Ray and Joan Kroc Corps Community Center offers a food pantry, emergency financial assistance, family enrichment programs and scholarships. | :[http://mykroc.org/family.php Family Resource Center] at the Ray and Joan Kroc Corps Community Center offers a food pantry, emergency financial assistance, family enrichment programs and scholarships. | ||
| Line 55: | Line 55: | ||
:[http://www.makeadifferencemichiana.org/ Make a Difference Michiana] is a website that connects Michiana nonprofit organizations. | :[http://www.makeadifferencemichiana.org/ Make a Difference Michiana] is a website that connects Michiana nonprofit organizations. | ||
| - | :[http://sholo.org | + | :[http://sholo.org ShoLo] Shop Local "is a collaborative effort between locally-owned, independent businesses, service providers, and consumers to build and revitalize a thriving local economy." |
:The local [http://stjoe-redcross.org Red Cross] will provide information about donating blood. | :The local [http://stjoe-redcross.org Red Cross] will provide information about donating blood. | ||
| Line 65: | Line 65: | ||
::(They can also be reached by dialing 211 or (574) 232-8201 ext. 233) | ::(They can also be reached by dialing 211 or (574) 232-8201 ext. 233) | ||
::*United Way's [http://www.referweb.net/uwsj/ 2-1-1 Community Resource Directory] allows you to search for services and resources. | ::*United Way's [http://www.referweb.net/uwsj/ 2-1-1 Community Resource Directory] allows you to search for services and resources. | ||
| + | |||
=='''Arts Groups'''== | =='''Arts Groups'''== | ||
| Line 72: | Line 73: | ||
:[http://www.southbendart.org/ South Bend Museum of Art] | :[http://www.southbendart.org/ South Bend Museum of Art] | ||
| - | :[http://www.southolddance.org/ | + | :[http://www.southolddance.org/ Southold Dance Theater] |
:[http://www.wvpe.org/index.php#/ WVPE/National Public Radio] | :[http://www.wvpe.org/index.php#/ WVPE/National Public Radio] | ||
| Line 89: | Line 90: | ||
:[http://www.gaymichiana.org/index.html GayMichiana.org] | :[http://www.gaymichiana.org/index.html GayMichiana.org] | ||
| + | |||
| + | :[http://www.girlsontherunmichiana.org Girls on the Run] | ||
:[http://www.michianaglbtcenter.org/ GLBT Resource Center of Michiana] | :[http://www.michianaglbtcenter.org/ GLBT Resource Center of Michiana] | ||
| Line 108: | Line 111: | ||
:[http://www.cfh.net/ Center for the Homeless] 813 S. Michigan St., South Bend, IN 46601 (574) 282-8700 | :[http://www.cfh.net/ Center for the Homeless] 813 S. Michigan St., South Bend, IN 46601 (574) 282-8700 | ||
| - | :[http://www. | + | :[http://www.ci.south-bend.in.us/government/content/housing-programs Community Development South Bend] provides programs for mortgage, housing and home repair assistance for Individuals. |
:[http://www.homelessshelterdirectory.org Homeless shelters] in the U.S. | :[http://www.homelessshelterdirectory.org Homeless shelters] in the U.S. | ||
| Line 117: | Line 120: | ||
| - | =='''Religious/Ethnic Groups'''== | + | =='''Religious/Ethnic/Country Groups'''== |
:[http://www.michianabahais.org/contact.html Bahai Center in South Bend] | :[http://www.michianabahais.org/contact.html Bahai Center in South Bend] | ||
| Line 126: | Line 129: | ||
:[http://www.indianablackexpo.com Indiana Black Expo] | :[http://www.indianablackexpo.com Indiana Black Expo] | ||
| + | |||
| + | :[http://www.malawimatters.org/ Malawi Matters] | ||
:[http://michianamuslims.org/ Islamic Society of Michiana] | :[http://michianamuslims.org/ Islamic Society of Michiana] | ||
Revision as of 22:46, 26 December 2012
Contents |
SJCPL Resources
- Visit SJCPL's Community Connection to search for local organizations.
Community Information and Events
- 365 South Bend is a blog about the many activities, restaurants, hangouts and more that South Bend has to offer.
- Arts events from In the Bend (formerly Arts Everywhere)
- WNDU has a Community Calendar of local events.
- Downtown South Bend (DTSB) has information about events, stores, restaurants, nightlife and more in South Bend's downtown.
- The Indiana Commission on Local Government Reform has been created to develop recommendations for reforming and restructuring local government.
- In the Bend: local events from the South Bend Tribune
- Local news stories and information can be found on the Local News Sources page.
- Move to South Bend is a blog about interesting places and events in our community.
- Information about property sales can be found on the Sheriff's sales page.
- SouthBendOn (Local Economic Development Information)
- St. Joseph County Chamber of Commerce business directory by category
Community Organizations
- Find Alcoholics Anonymous and Narcotics Anonymous meetings around Michiana.
- Bridge of Hope St. Joseph County is an organization that helps single mothers to find housing and to develop financial self-sufficiency.
- Bridges Out of Poverty is a group of organizations working together to help people move from poverty to self-sufficiency.
- Try Charity Navigator to find out how a charity uses the donations they receive.
- Family Resource Center at the Ray and Joan Kroc Corps Community Center offers a food pantry, emergency financial assistance, family enrichment programs and scholarships.
- The St. Joseph County Bar Association's Lawyer Referral service helps people find an attorney and lists programs that offer free legal assistance.
- Michiana Green Pages "A new way of living and doing business has arrived in Michiana; one that creates healthy, safe, and thriving communities. By living and buying green you will be nurturing and celebrating the choices that sustain us all."
- Make a Difference Michiana is a website that connects Michiana nonprofit organizations.
- ShoLo Shop Local "is a collaborative effort between locally-owned, independent businesses, service providers, and consumers to build and revitalize a thriving local economy."
- The local Red Cross will provide information about donating blood.
- Here is a list of Tax Exempt or non-profit organizations in St. Joseph County or Indiana.
- United Way of St. Joseph County
- The United Way's Information and Referral Service has information on locating services throughout St. Joseph and Marshall Counties.
- (They can also be reached by dialing 211 or (574) 232-8201 ext. 233)
- United Way's 2-1-1 Community Resource Directory allows you to search for services and resources.
Arts Groups
Services for the Elderly
- REAL Services Agency on Aging (Services for the Elderly), (574) 284-2644 or (800) 552-7928 (Indiana only)
Gender-focused Groups
Health Services
Housing Resources
- Center for the Homeless 813 S. Michigan St., South Bend, IN 46601 (574) 282-8700
- Community Development South Bend provides programs for mortgage, housing and home repair assistance for Individuals.
- Homeless shelters in the U.S.
- Hope Ministries - 432 S. Lafayette Blvd., South Bend, IN 46601 (574) 288-4842