Civil War

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(History Databases)
(36 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 4: Line 4:
===SJCPL Civil War Books===
===SJCPL Civil War Books===
-
===Useful Web Sites about the Civil War===
+
=Useful Web Sites about the Civil War=
-
[http://www.civilwar.si.edu/ Civil War at the Smithsonian]
+
[http://www.civilwar.si.edu/ Civil War at the Smithsonian] From the Smithsonian collection, includes photos, documents and a timeline of the Civil War.
-
[http://www.memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/civil_war_maps/ Civil War Maps from the Library of Congress]
+
[http://www.memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/civil_war_maps/ Civil War Maps from the Library of Congress]Contains approximately 2,240 Civil War maps and charts and 76 atlases and sketchbooks that are held within the Geography and Map Division, 200 maps from the Library of Virginia, and 400 maps from the Virginia Historical Society.
 +
 
 +
[http://civilwar150.longwood.edu/ That a Nation Might Live.] A podcast series commemorating Civil War's Sesquicentennial one week at a time by Longwood University.
 +
 
 +
[http://www.civil-war.net/ Civil War Home Page.] One of the largest and most comprehensive collections. Includes photos and maps.
 +
 
 +
[http://www.civilwar.org/education/ Civil War Trust.] Excellent for primary sources. Includes detailed information about specific battles.
 +
 
 +
[http://www.nps.gov/hps/abpp/battles/bystate.htm Civil War Sites Advisory Commission-Civil War Battle Summaries] Breakdown of the historically significant battle sites and summaries of the events of each battle by state or campaign.
 +
 
 +
[http://www.sonofthesouth.net/ The Civil War-Harper's Weekly] This privately held website features comples digital images of the all the Harper's Weekly publications from Jan.5, 1861-Dec. 30, 1865.
 +
 
 +
[http://www.radford.edu/~sbisset/civilwar.htm Civil War for 5th Graders.] This helpful website was intended to be a useful tool for teachers educating their students. It comes with a fun treasure hunt page of information to discover across the website.
 +
 
 +
==Indiana during the Civil War==
 +
 
 +
[http://www.in.gov/icpr/2521.htm Indiana Commission on Public Records/Civil War.] From the Indiana State Library's digital archive collection. A searchable database indexes the over 200,000 Indiana men who served in the Civil War.
 +
 
 +
[http://www.in.gov/history/CivilWar.htm Indiana Historical Bureau.] Indiana's Civil War Commemoration. Online resources to encourage Hoosiers to explore Indiana's involvement in the Civil War.
==Abraham Lincoln==
==Abraham Lincoln==
Line 14: Line 32:
[http://www.alplm.org/ Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum]
[http://www.alplm.org/ Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum]
-
[http://publications.newbery.org/lincoln/reading/ Lincoln at 200]
+
[http://publications.newberry.org/lincoln/ Lincoln at 200]
 +
 
 +
[http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/collections/stern-lincoln/ Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana.] Library of Congress' comprehensive collection documenting the life of Abraham Lincoln.
 +
 
 +
==History Databases==
 +
Several databases are available through the SJCPL website. All can be accessed through computers in all SJCPL locations. Most can be accessed from home by using your SJCPL library card.
 +
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=189 Fold3] <br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card. Access Military records, photographs, battlefield maps, and pension files. Great source for Civil War records.

Revision as of 15:16, 15 January 2013

Contents

SJCPL Civil War and History Magazines

Civil War Times Illustrated, 2002-2012

SJCPL Civil War Books

Useful Web Sites about the Civil War

Civil War at the Smithsonian From the Smithsonian collection, includes photos, documents and a timeline of the Civil War.

Civil War Maps from the Library of CongressContains approximately 2,240 Civil War maps and charts and 76 atlases and sketchbooks that are held within the Geography and Map Division, 200 maps from the Library of Virginia, and 400 maps from the Virginia Historical Society.

That a Nation Might Live. A podcast series commemorating Civil War's Sesquicentennial one week at a time by Longwood University.

Civil War Home Page. One of the largest and most comprehensive collections. Includes photos and maps.

Civil War Trust. Excellent for primary sources. Includes detailed information about specific battles.

Civil War Sites Advisory Commission-Civil War Battle Summaries Breakdown of the historically significant battle sites and summaries of the events of each battle by state or campaign.

The Civil War-Harper's Weekly This privately held website features comples digital images of the all the Harper's Weekly publications from Jan.5, 1861-Dec. 30, 1865.

Civil War for 5th Graders. This helpful website was intended to be a useful tool for teachers educating their students. It comes with a fun treasure hunt page of information to discover across the website.

Indiana during the Civil War

Indiana Commission on Public Records/Civil War. From the Indiana State Library's digital archive collection. A searchable database indexes the over 200,000 Indiana men who served in the Civil War.

Indiana Historical Bureau. Indiana's Civil War Commemoration. Online resources to encourage Hoosiers to explore Indiana's involvement in the Civil War.

Abraham Lincoln

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum

Lincoln at 200

Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana. Library of Congress' comprehensive collection documenting the life of Abraham Lincoln.

History Databases

Several databases are available through the SJCPL website. All can be accessed through computers in all SJCPL locations. Most can be accessed from home by using your SJCPL library card.

  • Fold3
        Use with Library card. Access Military records, photographs, battlefield maps, and pension files. Great source for Civil War records.
Personal tools