Business

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(15 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
{| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right"
{| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right"
|-
|-
-
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | '''Business Databases'''
+
|bgcolor="#e0e0e0" |  
-
 
+
-
*[http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/webusers.htm SEC - Edgar Database]
+
'''Other Links'''
'''Other Links'''
Line 28: Line 26:
== SJCPL Business Resources ==
== SJCPL Business Resources ==
 +
'''Books'''
 +
 +
Business                         [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/c?SEARCH=650&searchscope=2 650]
 +
 +
Business enterprises         [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/c?SEARCH=338.7&searchscope=2 338.7]
 +
 +
Business in the home [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/c?SEARCH=658.041&searchscope=2 658.041]
 +
 +
Business letters         [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/c?SEARCH=651.74&searchscope=2 651.74]
 +
 +
Business plans                 [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/c?SEARCH=658.4012&searchscope=2 658.4012]
 +
 +
 +
 +
'''Databases'''
 +
 +
Access our business databases [http://www.sjcpl.org/databases/#business here.]
 +
 +
 +
'''Business Magazines'''
 +
 +
A listing of our current business [http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Business magazines.]
Line 49: Line 69:
*[http://www.southbendin.gov/business/economic_development Economic Development]
*[http://www.southbendin.gov/business/economic_development Economic Development]
*[http://www.southbendtribune.com/bizbio/index.html South Bend Tribune Business <br>Biography & Profile]
*[http://www.southbendtribune.com/bizbio/index.html South Bend Tribune Business <br>Biography & Profile]
 +
 +
==Company Information==
==Company Information==
-
See our business databases to the right for company information.
+
 
 +
Use this database to search company information:  [http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/webusers.htm SEC - Edgar Database]
==Starting and Running a Small Business==
==Starting and Running a Small Business==
-
'''The Reference Department at the Main Library has a number of resources for small business owners and potential owners. Call or stop on by and ask our knowledgeable librarians for help getting started.'''
+
 
-
{| cellpadding=10
+
 
-
|
+
'''Starting a Business:'''
'''Starting a Business:'''
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=how+to+set+up+your+own+small+business&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search How to Set Up Your Own Small Business]
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=how+to+set+up+your+own+small+business&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search How to Set Up Your Own Small Business]
Line 62: Line 84:
*Franchising & incorporating your business
*Franchising & incorporating your business
*Writing business plans & grants
*Writing business plans & grants
-
||
+
 
-
'''Import & Export:'''
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/texport+import/texport+import/1%2C3%2C3%2CB/frameset&FF=texport+import&1%2C1%2C Export Import]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/timporting+into+the+united+states/timporting+into+the+united+states/1%2C2%2C2%2CB/frameset&FF=timporting+into+the+united+states+a+guide+for+commercial+importers&1%2C1%2C Importing into the U.S.]
+
-
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=Y&searcharg=commerce+and+clearing+and+house+and+osha+and+standards&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search CCH OSHA standards]
+
-
*for General Industry
+
-
*for the Construction Industry
+
-
|}
+
'''Other opportunities for learning about developing a small business:'''
'''Other opportunities for learning about developing a small business:'''
Line 76: Line 91:
*Contact the Small Business Development Center for more information about starting a small business at (574) 282-4350.
*Contact the Small Business Development Center for more information about starting a small business at (574) 282-4350.
*[http://www.cfda.gov/ Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance] Is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public.
*[http://www.cfda.gov/ Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance] Is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public.
 +
==Industry & Marketing Books==
==Industry & Marketing Books==
Line 98: Line 114:
'''Business Newspapers'''
'''Business Newspapers'''
*[http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Business Business Newspaper]
*[http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Business Business Newspaper]
 +
 +
==Personal Financial Planning & Investing==
==Personal Financial Planning & Investing==
Line 118: Line 136:
*Mergent's Investment Guides
*Mergent's Investment Guides
*Mergent's Manuals & News Reports
*Mergent's Manuals & News Reports
 +
 +
 +
==Statistics==
 +
 +
'''Labor:'''
 +
*[http://www.bls.gov/home.htm U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics]
 +
 +
[[Category:Business]]

Latest revision as of 19:00, 25 April 2013

Other Links

Contents


SJCPL Business Resources

Books

Business 650

Business enterprises 338.7

Business in the home 658.041

Business letters 651.74

Business plans 658.4012


Databases

Access our business databases here.


Business Magazines

A listing of our current business magazines.


Local Business Resources

Local Business Links


Company Information

Use this database to search company information: SEC - Edgar Database


Starting and Running a Small Business

Starting a Business:

Other opportunities for learning about developing a small business:

  • IUSB's School of Business and Economics.
  • Contact the Small Business Development Center for more information about starting a small business at (574) 282-4350.
  • Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public.


Industry & Marketing Books

Industry & Business Directories:Marketing & Business Ratings:Business MagazinesBusiness Newspapers

Personal Financial Planning & Investing

Browsing our shelves (Dewey Decimal System call numbers): Investing ~ 332.

The library has many resources to help you plan your financial future. So whether you're just starting out on your own and need advice about how to budget and save for your future, or finishing up your career and considering retirement, visit SJCPL in person or online for assistance.

  • Did you know that you can download your personal credit report from each of the three major credit reporting companies for free every year? Check out the website to get started.

Investment Information:

Stocks:

Bonds, Mutual Funds & Other Investment Guides:


Statistics

Labor:

Personal tools