Business
From SJCPLSubjectGuides
(→Starting and Running a Small Business) |
|||
| (20 intermediate revisions not shown) | |||
| Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
{| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right" | {| border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" align="right" | ||
|- | |- | ||
| - | |bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | | + | |bgcolor="#e0e0e0" | |
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
'''Other Links''' | '''Other Links''' | ||
*[http://bloomberg.com/ Bloomberg Market Data] | *[http://bloomberg.com/ Bloomberg Market Data] | ||
| Line 40: | Line 22: | ||
__TOC__ | __TOC__ | ||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | |||
| - | + | == SJCPL Business Resources == | |
| - | + | '''Books''' | |
| - | + | Business [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/c?SEARCH=650&searchscope=2 650] | |
| - | + | Business enterprises [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/c?SEARCH=338.7&searchscope=2 338.7] | |
| - | + | ||
| - | + | Business in the home [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/c?SEARCH=658.041&searchscope=2 658.041] | |
| - | + | ||
| - | + | Business letters [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/c?SEARCH=651.74&searchscope=2 651.74] | |
| - | + | ||
| - | + | Business plans [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/c?SEARCH=658.4012&searchscope=2 658.4012] | |
| - | + | ||
| - | * | + | |
| - | * | + | |
| + | '''Databases''' | ||
| + | |||
| + | Access our business databases [http://www.sjcpl.org/databases/#business here.] | ||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | '''Business Magazines''' | ||
| + | |||
| + | A listing of our current business [http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Business magazines.] | ||
| + | |||
| + | == Local Business Resources == | ||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | '''Local Business Links''' | ||
| + | |||
| + | *[http://www.sjchamber.org/ Chamber of Commerce of St. <br>Joseph County] | ||
| + | *[http://www.ibrc.indiana.edu/ Indiana Business Research <br>Center] | ||
| + | *[http://in.gov/sos/business/ Indiana Business Services from <br>the Secretary of State] | ||
| + | *[http://www.in.gov/labor/ Indiana Dept. of Labor] | ||
| + | *[http://www.dollartimes.com/calculators/inflation.htm/ Dollar Times] | ||
| + | *[http://www.iedc.in.gov/ Indiana Economic <br>Development Corporation] | ||
| + | *[http://www.southbendbcg.com/ North Central Indiana Small Business Development Center] | ||
| + | *[http://www.ivytech.edu/business Ivy Tech Business] | ||
| + | *[http://www.michiana.bbb.org/ Michiana Better Business <br>Bureau (BBB)] | ||
| + | *[http://www.projectfuture.org/ Project Future] | ||
| + | *[http://searchmichiana.com/ Search Michiana] | ||
| + | *[http://www.sba.gov/in/ Small Business <br>Administration Indiana] | ||
| + | *[http://www.southbendin.gov/business/economic_development Economic Development] | ||
| + | *[http://www.southbendtribune.com/bizbio/index.html South Bend Tribune Business <br>Biography & Profile] | ||
| + | ==Company Information== | ||
| + | |||
| + | Use this database to search company information: [http://www.sec.gov/edgar/searchedgar/webusers.htm SEC - Edgar Database] | ||
==Starting and Running a Small Business== | ==Starting and Running a Small Business== | ||
| - | + | ||
| - | + | ||
| - | + | ||
'''Starting a Business:''' | '''Starting a Business:''' | ||
*[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=how+to+set+up+your+own+small+business&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search How to Set Up Your Own Small Business] | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=how+to+set+up+your+own+small+business&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search How to Set Up Your Own Small Business] | ||
| Line 72: | Line 80: | ||
*Franchising & incorporating your business | *Franchising & incorporating your business | ||
*Writing business plans & grants | *Writing business plans & grants | ||
| - | + | ||
| - | + | ||
| - | + | ||
| - | + | ||
| - | + | ||
| - | + | ||
| - | + | ||
| - | + | ||
'''Other opportunities for learning about developing a small business:''' | '''Other opportunities for learning about developing a small business:''' | ||
| Line 85: | Line 86: | ||
*Contact the Small Business Development Center for more information about starting a small business at (574) 282-4350. | *Contact the Small Business Development Center for more information about starting a small business at (574) 282-4350. | ||
| - | *[http://www.cfda.gov/ Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance] | + | *[http://www.cfda.gov/ Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance] Is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. |
==Industry & Marketing Books== | ==Industry & Marketing Books== | ||
{| cellpadding=10 | {| cellpadding=10 | ||
| - | + | ||
| - | + | ||
'''Industry & Business Directories:''' | '''Industry & Business Directories:''' | ||
| Line 109: | Line 109: | ||
'''Business Newspapers''' | '''Business Newspapers''' | ||
*[http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Business Business Newspaper] | *[http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Business Business Newspaper] | ||
| + | |||
| + | ==Personal Financial Planning & Investing== | ||
| + | Browsing our shelves (Dewey Decimal System call numbers): Investing ~ 332. | ||
| + | |||
| + | The library has many resources to help you plan your financial future. So whether you're just starting out on your own and need advice about how to budget and save for your future, or finishing up your career and considering retirement, visit SJCPL in person or online for assistance. | ||
| + | |||
| + | *Did you know that you can download your personal credit report from each of the three major credit reporting companies for free every year? Check out [http://www.annualcreditreport.com the website] to get started. | ||
| + | |||
| + | '''Investment Information:''' | ||
| + | |||
| + | Stocks:''' | ||
| + | *Value Line Ratings & Reports | ||
| + | *Value Line Small and Mid-Cap Edition | ||
| + | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=morningstar+stockinvestor&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Morningstar StockInvestor] | ||
| + | Bonds, Mutual Funds & Other Investment Guides:''' | ||
| + | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=Y&searcharg=mergent+and+bond+and+record&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Mergent's Bond Record] | ||
| + | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=Y&searcharg=mergent+and+dividend+and+record&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0&submit3=Search Mergent's Dividend Record] | ||
| + | *[http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/search/?searchtype=t&searcharg=morningstar+mutual+funds&SORT=D&SORT=R&submit3.x=50&submit3.y=11&submit3=Search Morningstar Mutual Funds] | ||
| + | *Mergent's Investment Guides | ||
| + | *Mergent's Manuals & News Reports | ||
Revision as of 21:06, 16 March 2012
Contents |
SJCPL Business Resources
Books
Business 650
Business enterprises 338.7
Business in the home 658.041
Business letters 651.74
Business plans 658.4012
Databases
Access our business databases here.
Business Magazines
A listing of our current business magazines.
Local Business Resources
Local Business Links
- Chamber of Commerce of St.
Joseph County - Indiana Business Research
Center - Indiana Business Services from
the Secretary of State - Indiana Dept. of Labor
- Dollar Times
- Indiana Economic
Development Corporation - North Central Indiana Small Business Development Center
- Ivy Tech Business
- Michiana Better Business
Bureau (BBB) - Project Future
- Search Michiana
- Small Business
Administration Indiana - Economic Development
- South Bend Tribune Business
Biography & Profile
Company Information
Use this database to search company information: SEC - Edgar Database
Starting and Running a Small Business
Starting a Business:
- How to Set Up Your Own Small Business
- Indiana Chamber of Commerce & Nolo guides
- Franchising & incorporating your business
- Writing business plans & grants
Other opportunities for learning about developing a small business:
- IUSB's School of Business and Economics.
- Contact the Small Business Development Center for more information about starting a small business at (574) 282-4350.
- Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public.