Antiques & Collectibles

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(One intermediate revision not shown)
Line 27: Line 27:
Price guide are generally buyers' guides, not sellers' guides, suggesting what you would have to pay to purchase an object.<br>Sellers should expect to receive much less than the value listed.
Price guide are generally buyers' guides, not sellers' guides, suggesting what you would have to pay to purchase an object.<br>Sellers should expect to receive much less than the value listed.
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C|Skovels|Ff%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A|Orightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Kovels']
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C|Skovels|Ff%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A|Orightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Kovels']
-
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C|Smillers+collectibles|Orightresult|U1?lang=eng&suite=pearl Miller's Collectibles]
+
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C__Smillers+collectibles__Ff%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A__Orightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Miller's Collectibles]
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C%7CSschroeders%7CFf%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A%7CFf%3Afacetmediatype%3Ab%3Ab%3ABOOK%3A%3A%7COrightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Schroeder's]
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C%7CSschroeders%7CFf%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A%7CFf%3Afacetmediatype%3Ab%3Ab%3ABOOK%3A%3A%7COrightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Schroeder's]
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C|Swarmans|Ff%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A|Orightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Warman's]
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C|Swarmans|Ff%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A|Orightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Warman's]
Line 125: Line 125:
Caution: Authentication is generally by sellers, not experts.
Caution: Authentication is generally by sellers, not experts.
-
 
-
*[http://s1.amazon.com/exec/varzea/subst/home/home.html/102-1175775-9701744 Amazon.com Auctions]
 
*[http://www.ebay.com/ eBay]
*[http://www.ebay.com/ eBay]

Revision as of 18:29, 10 January 2013

Definitions
Antique
An object of aesthetic or historical value
made over 100 years ago.
Collectible
An artistic or historical treasure less than
100 years old.
A mass-produced or "limited edition" object.
An object that gains value because of its
association with a famous person or event.
(Source: Antique Speak)

Contents


SJCPL Resources

Magazines on Antiques & Collectibles


Standard Identification & Price Guides

Price guide are generally buyers' guides, not sellers' guides, suggesting what you would have to pay to purchase an object.
Sellers should expect to receive much less than the value listed.


Browsing the Library's Collection

(Dewey Decimal Numbers)

  • 700 The Arts
    • 730 Plastic Arts, Sculpture
      • 736 Carvings
      • 737 Coins, Paper Money
      • 738 Ceramics, Porcelain
      • 739 Metalwork
    • Drawing & Decorative Arts
      • 741 Drawings
      • 745 Decorative Arts
        • 745.1 Antiques & Collectibles
      • 746 Textiles
      • 748 Glass
      • 749 Furniture
    • 750 Paintings
    • 760 Prints
      • 769 Stamps, Sports Cards, Posters
    • 770 Photographs
    • 781.64 Sound recordings (CD's, vinyl records, etc)


Local Information

Local Museums


Local Clubs

For descriptions and contact information, search Community Connection.

  • Antique Automobile Club of America, St. Joseph Valley Region
  • Antique Study Group
  • Northern Indiana Philatelic Society
  • Questers Chapters


Area Antique Shows & Auctions

  • St. Joseph County Fairgrounds, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. (Schedule)
  • Click here for an interesting article about antique shops along Indiana's Historic National Road


Websites

General Information


Special Interest Sites


Online Auctions

Caution: Authentication is generally by sellers, not experts.


Find an Appraiser

Personal tools