Antiques & Collectibles

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
==Definitions==
==Definitions==
 +
'''Antique'''
'''Antique'''
:An object of aesthetic or historical value made over 100 years ago.
:An object of aesthetic or historical value made over 100 years ago.
Line 12: Line 13:
==SJCPL Resources==
==SJCPL Resources==
-
=== Standard Identification & Price Guides ===
+
 
 +
'''Standard Identification & Price Guides'''
 +
 
Price guide are generally buyers' guides, not sellers' guides, suggesting what you would have to pay to purchase an object.<br>Sellers should expect to receive much less than the value listed.
Price guide are generally buyers' guides, not sellers' guides, suggesting what you would have to pay to purchase an object.<br>Sellers should expect to receive much less than the value listed.
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C|Skovels|Ff%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A|Orightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Kovels']
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C|Skovels|Ff%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A|Orightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Kovels']
Line 19: Line 22:
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C|Swarmans|Ff%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A|Orightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Warman's]
*[http://encore.sjcpl.lib.in.us/iii/encore/search/C|Swarmans|Ff%3Afacetcollections%3A1%3A1%3AAll%25252BSt.%25252BJoseph%25252BCounty%25252BPublic%25252BLibrary%25252Bcollections%3A%3A|Orightresult?lang=eng&suite=pearl Warman's]
-
===Browsing the Library's Collection===
+
 
 +
'''Browsing the Library's Collection'''
(Dewey Decimal Numbers)
(Dewey Decimal Numbers)
Line 41: Line 45:
**781.64 Sound recordings (CD's, vinyl records, etc)
**781.64 Sound recordings (CD's, vinyl records, etc)
-
=== Magazines on Antiques & Collectibles ===
+
'''Magazines on Antiques & Collectibles'''
Please check our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Antiques Magazines Titles by Subject] page for a list of antiques magazines available at SJCPL.
Please check our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/subjectguides/index.php/Magazine_Titles_by_Subject#Antiques Magazines Titles by Subject] page for a list of antiques magazines available at SJCPL.
 +
==Websites==
==Websites==
 +
 +
'''Local Museums'''
*[http://acdmuseum.org/ Auburn Cord Duesenberg Museum]
*[http://acdmuseum.org/ Auburn Cord Duesenberg Museum]
 +
*[http://centerforhistory.org/ Northern Indiana Center for History]
*[http://centerforhistory.org/ Northern Indiana Center for History]
 +
*[http://www.ruthmere.org Ruthmere Museum]
*[http://www.ruthmere.org Ruthmere Museum]
 +
*[http://www.studebakermuseum.org/ Studebaker National Museum]
*[http://www.studebakermuseum.org/ Studebaker National Museum]
 +
 +
'''General Information'''
'''General Information'''
 +
*[http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/roadshow/ Antiques Roadshow]
*[http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/roadshow/ Antiques Roadshow]
 +
*[http://www.pbs.org/opb/historydetectives/ History Detectives]
*[http://www.pbs.org/opb/historydetectives/ History Detectives]
 +
*[http://www.kovels.com/ Kovels' Online]
*[http://www.kovels.com/ Kovels' Online]
 +
 +
'''Special Interest Sites'''
'''Special Interest Sites'''
 +
*[http://www.abebooks.com/docs/RareBooks/ Abebooks]
*[http://www.abebooks.com/docs/RareBooks/ Abebooks]
 +
*[http://www.numismatics.org/ American Numismatic Society--Coins]
*[http://www.numismatics.org/ American Numismatic Society--Coins]
 +
*[http://www.stamps.org// American Philatelic Society--Stamps]  
*[http://www.stamps.org// American Philatelic Society--Stamps]  
 +
*[http://www.antiquebottles.com/ Antique Bottle Collector's Haven]
*[http://www.antiquebottles.com/ Antique Bottle Collector's Haven]
 +
*[http://www.fohbc.org The Federation of Historic Bottle Collectors]
*[http://www.fohbc.org The Federation of Historic Bottle Collectors]
 +
*[http://antiqueradio.com/ Antique Radio Classified]
*[http://antiqueradio.com/ Antique Radio Classified]
 +
*[http://www.classiccarclub.org/ Classic Car Club of America]
*[http://www.classiccarclub.org/ Classic Car Club of America]
 +
*[http://www.ephemerasociety.org/ Ephemera Society of America]
*[http://www.ephemerasociety.org/ Ephemera Society of America]
'''Online Auctions'''
'''Online Auctions'''
-
Caution: Authentication is generally by <br>sellers, not experts.
+
'''Caution: Authentication is generally by sellers, not experts.'''
 +
 
*[http://s1.amazon.com/exec/varzea/subst/home/home.html/102-1175775-9701744 Amazon.com Auctions]
*[http://s1.amazon.com/exec/varzea/subst/home/home.html/102-1175775-9701744 Amazon.com Auctions]
 +
*[http://www.ebay.com/ eBay]
*[http://www.ebay.com/ eBay]
 +
*[http://www.shopgoodwill.com/ Goodwill Auctions]
*[http://www.shopgoodwill.com/ Goodwill Auctions]
 +
*[http://www.hemmings.com/ Hemmings Motor News]
*[http://www.hemmings.com/ Hemmings Motor News]
 +
*[http://www.ha.com/c/index.zx?ic=althome2-task-www/ Heritage Auctions]  
*[http://www.ha.com/c/index.zx?ic=althome2-task-www/ Heritage Auctions]  
 +
'''Find an Appraiser'''
'''Find an Appraiser'''
 +
*[http://www.appraisersassoc.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=page.viewPage&pageID=557&nodeID=1 Appraisers Association of America]
*[http://www.appraisersassoc.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=page.viewPage&pageID=557&nodeID=1 Appraisers Association of America]
 +
*[https://connect.computility.com/directory/search.php?id=180816b7fed76a0c7e6731de0721e89b International Society of Appraisers]
*[https://connect.computility.com/directory/search.php?id=180816b7fed76a0c7e6731de0721e89b International Society of Appraisers]
Line 80: Line 113:
==Local Clubs==
==Local Clubs==
For descriptions and contact information, search [http://www2.sjcpl.lib.in.us/cc/findrecords.php?-link=Search%20Community%20Connection%20Recordsp Community Connection.]
For descriptions and contact information, search [http://www2.sjcpl.lib.in.us/cc/findrecords.php?-link=Search%20Community%20Connection%20Recordsp Community Connection.]
 +
*Antique Automobile Club of America, St. Joseph Valley Region
*Antique Automobile Club of America, St. Joseph Valley Region
*Antique Study Group
*Antique Study Group
Line 85: Line 119:
*Questers Chapters
*Questers Chapters
-
==Area Antique Shows & Auctions ==
+
==Area Antique Shows & Auctions==
 +
 
*St. Joseph County Fairgrounds, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.  ([http://www.4hfair.com/calendar.html Schedule])
*St. Joseph County Fairgrounds, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.  ([http://www.4hfair.com/calendar.html Schedule])
 +
*[http://www.shipshewanafleamarket.com/ Shipshewana Auction & Flea Market]
*[http://www.shipshewanafleamarket.com/ Shipshewana Auction & Flea Market]
 +
*[http://byways.org/stories/74927 Click here] for an interesting article about antique shops along Indiana's Historic National Road
*[http://byways.org/stories/74927 Click here] for an interesting article about antique shops along Indiana's Historic National Road
[[Category:Hobbies]]
[[Category:Hobbies]]

Revision as of 14:34, 8 February 2012

Contents

Definitions

Antique

An object of aesthetic or historical value made over 100 years ago.

Collectible

An artistic or historical treasure less than 100 years old.
A mass-produced or "limited edition" object.
An object that gains value because of its association with a famous person or event.

(Source: Antique Speak, the Antiques Roadshow glossary)


SJCPL Resources

Standard Identification & Price Guides

Price guide are generally buyers' guides, not sellers' guides, suggesting what you would have to pay to purchase an object.
Sellers should expect to receive much less than the value listed.


Browsing the Library's Collection

(Dewey Decimal Numbers)

  • 700 The Arts
    • 730 Plastic Arts, Sculpture
      • 736 Carvings
      • 737 Coins, Paper Money
      • 738 Ceramics, Porcelain
      • 739 Metalwork
    • Drawing & Decorative Arts
      • 741 Drawings
      • 745 Decorative Arts
        • 745.1 Antiques & Collectibles
      • 746 Textiles
      • 748 Glass
      • 749 Furniture
    • 750 Paintings
    • 760 Prints
      • 769 Stamps, Sports Cards, Posters
    • 770 Photographs
    • 781.64 Sound recordings (CD's, vinyl records, etc)

Magazines on Antiques & Collectibles

Please check our Magazines Titles by Subject page for a list of antiques magazines available at SJCPL.


Websites

Local Museums


General Information


Special Interest Sites

Online Auctions Caution: Authentication is generally by sellers, not experts.

Find an Appraiser


Local Clubs

For descriptions and contact information, search Community Connection.

  • Antique Automobile Club of America, St. Joseph Valley Region
  • Antique Study Group
  • Northern Indiana Philatelic Society
  • Questers Chapters

Area Antique Shows & Auctions

  • St. Joseph County Fairgrounds, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. (Schedule)
  • Click here for an interesting article about antique shops along Indiana's Historic National Road
Personal tools