About Local & Family History Services

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Donations)
(12 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
=About Local & Family History Services=
=About Local & Family History Services=
-
 
+
[[Image:Localhistorysjcplreduced.jpg]]<br /><br />
==Local & Family History hours==
==Local & Family History hours==
Monday-Thursday, 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. <br />
Monday-Thursday, 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. <br />
Friday-Saturday, 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. <br />
Friday-Saturday, 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. <br />
Sunday, CLOSED <br /><br />
Sunday, CLOSED <br /><br />
-
The entire SJCPL system is closed on the following holidays:<br />
+
The entire SJCPL system, including Local & Family History. is closed on the following holidays:<br />
New Year's Eve and Day<br />
New Year's Eve and Day<br />
Easter<br />
Easter<br />
Line 41: Line 41:
===Use our website===
===Use our website===
-
Visit our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ website.] <br /><br />
+
Visit our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ website]. <br /><br />
-
Find out what we have in our collection:  go to our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ website] and scroll down to "Our Collection."<br /><br />
+
Find out what we have in our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/guides/brochure.pdf collection].<br /><br />
-
See our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#databases databases and digital collections].  If you have a valid SJCPL library card, those databases marked with a library card symbol will also be available to you free from home.  (You can [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/screens/getacard.html register for an SJCPL library card online] or [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/files/LH_FeeCardRegistrationForm.pdf obtain a non-resident SJCPL fee card].)<br /><br />
+
See our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#databases databases and digital collections].  If you have a valid SJCPL library card, those databases marked with a library card symbol will be available to you free from home.  (You can [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/screens/getacard.html register for an SJCPL library card online] or [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/files/LH_FeeCardRegistrationForm.pdf obtain a non-resident SJCPL fee card].)<br /><br />
-
Check to see what [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ classes, programs, and events] are coming up.<br /><br />
+
Check to see what [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#pastprograms classes, programs, and events] are coming up, and to see notes and slides from past classes.<br /><br />
-
View detailed [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#howtoguides resource guides] on various topics.<br /><br />
+
View detailed [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#howtoguides guides] to our special collections and also [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#howtoguides articles] on history and genealogy research.<br /><br />
See our list of [http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/History-Genealogy_Websites recommended historical and genealogical websites.] <br /><br />
See our list of [http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/History-Genealogy_Websites recommended historical and genealogical websites.] <br /><br />
Read our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#pastenewsletters e-newsletters] to find out news. <br /><br />
Read our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#pastenewsletters e-newsletters] to find out news. <br /><br />
Line 52: Line 52:
===Events, classes, and programs===
===Events, classes, and programs===
-
Check the schedule for our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ classes and programs] about local history, family history/genealogy, and related topics. <br /><br />
+
Check for our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#pastprograms classes and programs] about local history, family history/genealogy, and related topics. <br /><br />
===Obituary and local history searches===
===Obituary and local history searches===
Our department can answer some St. Joseph County questions for out-of-area patrons, for a fee, as well as for homebound local patrons.  Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/queryform.pdf Obituary and Local History Search form] has guidelines and instructions.  <br /><br />
Our department can answer some St. Joseph County questions for out-of-area patrons, for a fee, as well as for homebound local patrons.  Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/queryform.pdf Obituary and Local History Search form] has guidelines and instructions.  <br /><br />
 +
 +
===Speakers===
 +
Our librarians are available to speak to community and school groups about family history or local history topics (schedule permitting), but please do give us 3 weeks advance notice, so we can prepare an excellent presentation for your group. Please call 235-4181 for more information. <br /><br />
 +
 +
===Donations===
 +
We are happy to accept donations of your printed family history (with a local connection). We cannot accept  research notes or notebooks and most computer files. We covet donations of local high school yearbooks, city directories, books by local authors, histories of local organizations or churches, and other like items. Please call 235-4181 for more information. <br /><br />
==Local & Family History Staff==
==Local & Family History Staff==
-
[[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], Manager & Librarian <br />
+
Pat Gable, Acting Manager & Librarian <br /> Contact for administrative questions.
-
[mailto:l.feil@sjcpl.org l.feil@sjcpl.org] <br />
+
[mailto:p.gable@sjcpl.org p.gable@sjcpl.org] <br />
-
[[User:Sara | Sara Allen]], Assistant Manager & Librarian <br />
+
[[User:Sara | Sara Allen]], Assistant Manager & Librarian <br /> Contact for genealogical or historical questions.
[mailto:s.allen@sjcpl.org s.allen@sjcpl.org] <br />
[mailto:s.allen@sjcpl.org s.allen@sjcpl.org] <br />
Line 72: Line 78:
Created by:  [[User:Sara | Sara Allen]] and [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], February 21, 2009<br />
Created by:  [[User:Sara | Sara Allen]] and [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], February 21, 2009<br />
-
Last updated by: [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], December 30, 2009
+
Last updated by: Sara Allen, June 21, 2011.
[[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]
[[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]

Revision as of 14:45, 23 June 2011

Contents

About Local & Family History Services

Localhistorysjcplreduced.jpg

Local & Family History hours

Monday-Thursday, 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday-Saturday, 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, CLOSED

The entire SJCPL system, including Local & Family History. is closed on the following holidays:
New Year's Eve and Day
Easter
Memorial Day
Mother's Day
Independence Day
Labor Day
Thanksgiving
Christmas Eve and Day

Contact information

Visit us in person

Our department is on the second floor of the St. Joseph County Public Library's Main Library, 304 S. Main St., South Bend, IN.

Here is a map of South Bend.
Here is another map showing Main Library's location in South Bend:
Mqmapgend.gif

Parking is free in the lot that adjoins the Library.

Contact us from home

Phone: (574) 282-4621

E-mail: local.history@sjcpl.org

IM (chat):
AIM asksjcpllh
Hotmail asksjcpllh@hotmail.com
Yahoo! asksjcpllh

Mailing address:
St. Joseph County Public Library
Local & Family History Services
304 S. Main St.
South Bend, IN 46601

Use our website

Visit our website.

Find out what we have in our collection.

See our databases and digital collections. If you have a valid SJCPL library card, those databases marked with a library card symbol will be available to you free from home. (You can register for an SJCPL library card online or obtain a non-resident SJCPL fee card.)

Check to see what classes, programs, and events are coming up, and to see notes and slides from past classes.

View detailed guides to our special collections and also articles on history and genealogy research.

See our list of recommended historical and genealogical websites.

Read our e-newsletters to find out news.

Services

Events, classes, and programs

Check for our classes and programs about local history, family history/genealogy, and related topics.

Obituary and local history searches

Our department can answer some St. Joseph County questions for out-of-area patrons, for a fee, as well as for homebound local patrons. Our Obituary and Local History Search form has guidelines and instructions.

Speakers

Our librarians are available to speak to community and school groups about family history or local history topics (schedule permitting), but please do give us 3 weeks advance notice, so we can prepare an excellent presentation for your group. Please call 235-4181 for more information.

Donations

We are happy to accept donations of your printed family history (with a local connection). We cannot accept research notes or notebooks and most computer files. We covet donations of local high school yearbooks, city directories, books by local authors, histories of local organizations or churches, and other like items. Please call 235-4181 for more information.

Local & Family History Staff

Pat Gable, Acting Manager & Librarian
Contact for administrative questions. p.gable@sjcpl.org

Sara Allen, Assistant Manager & Librarian
Contact for genealogical or historical questions. s.allen@sjcpl.org

Kevin Wadzinski, Paraprofessional Librarian
k.wadzinski@sjcpl.org




Created by: Sara Allen and Libby Feil, February 21, 2009
Last updated by: Sara Allen, June 21, 2011.

Personal tools