About Local & Family History Services

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 10: Line 10:
===Visit us in person===
===Visit us in person===
-
Our department is on the second floor of the [http://www.sjcpl.org St. Joseph County Public Library]'s [http://www.libraryforlife.org/aboutsjcpl/branches/main/mainlibrary.html Main Library], 304 S. Main St., South Bend, IN. <br /><br />
+
Our department is on the second floor of the [http://www.sjcpl.org St. Joseph County Public Library]'s [http://www.libraryforlife.org/main/ Main Library], 304 S. Main St., South Bend, IN. <br /><br />
Here is a [http://maps.google.com/maps?q=Indiana&f=s&utm_campaign=en&utm_source=en-ha-na-us-syn-gm&utm_medium=ha&utm_term=indiana%20maps map] of South Bend.  <br />
Here is a [http://maps.google.com/maps?q=Indiana&f=s&utm_campaign=en&utm_source=en-ha-na-us-syn-gm&utm_medium=ha&utm_term=indiana%20maps map] of South Bend.  <br />
Here is another map showing Main Library's location in South Bend:<br />
Here is another map showing Main Library's location in South Bend:<br />
Line 35: Line 35:
Visit our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ website.] <br /><br />
Visit our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ website.] <br /><br />
Find out what we have in our collection:  go to our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ website] and scroll down to "Our Collection."<br /><br />
Find out what we have in our collection:  go to our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ website] and scroll down to "Our Collection."<br /><br />
-
See our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#databases databases and digital collections].  If you have a valid SJCPL library card, those databases marked with a library card symbol will also be available to you free from home.  (You can [http://www.libraryforlife.org/librarycard/librarycard.html register for an SJCPL library card online] or obtain a non-resident SJCPL fee card by contacting [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]].)<br /><br />
+
See our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#databases databases and digital collections].  If you have a valid SJCPL library card, those databases marked with a library card symbol will also be available to you free from home.  (You can [http://stjos.sjcpl.lib.in.us/screens/getacard.html register for an SJCPL library card online] or obtain a non-resident SJCPL fee card by contacting [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]].)<br /><br />
-
Check to see what [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/programs.html classes, programs, and events] are coming up.<br /><br />
+
Check to see what [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ classes, programs, and events] are coming up.<br /><br />
-
View detailed resource [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/introduction.html guides] on various topics.<br /><br />
+
View detailed [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#howtoguides resource guides] on various topics.<br /><br />
See our list of [http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/History-Genealogy_Websites recommended historical and genealogical websites.] <br /><br />
See our list of [http://www.sjcpl.org/subjectguides/index.php/History-Genealogy_Websites recommended historical and genealogical websites.] <br /><br />
-
Read our online newsletter and find out other [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/news.html news.] <br /><br />
+
Read our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/lhresources.html#pastenewsletters e-newsletters] to find out news. <br /><br />
==Services==
==Services==
===Events, classes, and programs===
===Events, classes, and programs===
-
Check the schedule for our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/programs.html classes and programs] about local history, family history/genealogy, and related topics. <br /><br />
+
Check the schedule for our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/ classes and programs] about local history, family history/genealogy, and related topics. <br /><br />
===Obituary and local history searches===
===Obituary and local history searches===
-
Our department can answer some questions for out-of-area and homebound patrons, for a fee.  Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/aboutsjcpl/departments/localhistory/query/images/queryform.pdf Obituary and Local History Search form] has guidelines and instructions.  <br /><br />
+
Our department can answer some questions for out-of-area and homebound patrons, for a fee.  Our [http://www.libraryforlife.org/localhistory/queryform.pdf Obituary and Local History Search form] has guidelines and instructions.  <br /><br />
==Local & Family History Staff==
==Local & Family History Staff==
Line 64: Line 64:
Created by:  [[User:Sara | Sara Allen]] and [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], February 21, 2009<br />
Created by:  [[User:Sara | Sara Allen]] and [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], February 21, 2009<br />
-
Last updated by: [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], March 27, 2009
+
Last updated by: [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], April 17, 2009
[[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]
[[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]

Revision as of 02:18, 18 April 2009

Contents

About Local & Family History Services

Hours

Monday-Wednesday, 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Thursday, 12:00 noon - 9:00 p.m.
Friday-Saturday, 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Sunday, closed

Contact information

Visit us in person

Our department is on the second floor of the St. Joseph County Public Library's Main Library, 304 S. Main St., South Bend, IN.

Here is a map of South Bend.
Here is another map showing Main Library's location in South Bend:
Mqmapgend.gif

Parking is free in the lot that adjoins the Library.

Contact us from home

Phone: (574) 282-4621

E-mail: local.history@sjcpl.org

IM (chat):
AIM asksjcpllh
Hotmail asksjcpllh@hotmail.com
Yahoo! asksjcpllh

Mailing address:
St. Joseph County Public Library
Local & Family History Services
304 S. Main St.
South Bend, IN 46601

Use our website

Visit our website.

Find out what we have in our collection: go to our website and scroll down to "Our Collection."

See our databases and digital collections. If you have a valid SJCPL library card, those databases marked with a library card symbol will also be available to you free from home. (You can register for an SJCPL library card online or obtain a non-resident SJCPL fee card by contacting Libby Feil.)

Check to see what classes, programs, and events are coming up.

View detailed resource guides on various topics.

See our list of recommended historical and genealogical websites.

Read our e-newsletters to find out news.

Services

Events, classes, and programs

Check the schedule for our classes and programs about local history, family history/genealogy, and related topics.

Obituary and local history searches

Our department can answer some questions for out-of-area and homebound patrons, for a fee. Our Obituary and Local History Search form has guidelines and instructions.

Local & Family History Staff

Libby Feil, Manager & Librarian
l.feil@sjcpl.org

Sara Allen, Assistant Manager & Librarian
s.allen@sjcpl.org

Kevin Wadzinski, Paraprofessional Librarian
k.wadzinski@sjcpl.org




Created by: Sara Allen and Libby Feil, February 21, 2009
Last updated by: Libby Feil, April 17, 2009

Personal tools