| General Resources | Business Resources | Literature | Magazines |
| Biography Resources | Community Information | Local & Family History | Newspapers |
-
As a Foundation Directory Cooperating Collection resource, the Foundation Directory:
- Offers funding resources for organizations
- Only available at the Main Library
- Search Tips
-
As a Foundation Directory Cooperating Collection resource, Grants to Individuals:
- Offers funding resources exclusively for individuals
- Only available at the Main Library
- Search Tips
-
As a Foundation Directory Cooperating Collection resource, Philanthropy In/Sight:
- Offers interactive maps to view philanthropical world impact
- Only available at the Main Library
- Search Tips

(will not work in IE on Macintosh OSX)
-
Do-it-yourselfers can count on reliable
automobile answers concerning:
- Repair
- Bulletins/Recalls
- Maintenance
- Search Tips

- Job & industry information
- Advice on applying for a job & acing an interview
- Sample resumes and cover letters
(This database will no longer be available after 2/29/12)
Interested in a new
career? This database provides:
-
Review the latest developments in the workforce:
- Career reports
- Username: 440w, Password: future
- Search Tips
- Find information on current
issues, by seeing:
- Pro and con essays
- Editorials
- Images
- Statistics
- Search Tips

- Research issues in the scientific
world:
- Overview articles and links to detailed news coverage
- Glossaries
- Science-related biographies
- Search Tips

- Search more than 200,000
full-text articles, including:
- News stories organized by timeline, topic, or country
- Links to international newspapers
- Photos, maps, charts, and graphs
- Search Tips
- Indiana's
Virtual Library
- Magazine and Journal articles
- Websites
- Images
- Informe! (Spanish language magazines and pamphlets)
- And more
- Search Tips

- Gale
Databases within Indiana's Virtual Library
- Magazine and Journal articles
- Cross-searchable
- Search Tips

- Find information on:
- U.S. and international authors
- Search authors by nationality, birth/death, subject/genre, & career
- Search Tips

- Gale
Health & Wellness Resource Center includes:
- Journals
- Pamphlets
- Videos
- Search Tips

- Busqué:
- Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos
- Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad, y otras materias
- Search Tips

- View a variety of
literature:
- Full-text poems and poetry citations
- Short stories, speeches, and plays
- Biographies, images, and more
- Search Tips

- Peruse this customized
journal collection:
- Created for military personnel
- Offers subject matter for all ages
- Search Tips

- Search
for:
- Disease & drug overviews
- Care plans
- Physiology diagrams
- Search Tips

- Offers:
- Experiments
- News
- Articles
- Search Tips

- Find guidance
for:
- How to start, finance, or manage your small business
- Gives sample business plans, how-to guides, articles, and websites
- Search Tips

- Create a username & password to practice
the following:
- GED, SAT
- Civil Service
- Citizenship
- And more
- Search Tips

-
Gale Virtual Reference Library contains:
- Ebooks
- Encyclopedias
- Reference Material
- Search Tips

- Contains facts and
opinions about current events topics, with:
- Articles
- Statistics
- Images
- Primary sources
- Websites
- Search Tips

- Local government
- Genealogy and other hobbies
- Local community organizations
- Homeschooling and homework
Use the menu to jump to the Subject Guide you need. *If you don't see a page that you'd like, tell us and we may add it!

Access standard forms:
- Real estate contracts & Landlord-tenant agreements
- Wills
- Bankruptcy forms
- Divorce forms
- Search Tips

- Search
for influential
people by:
- Name
- Birth or death year
- Nationality or ethnicity
- Occupation or gender
- Search Tips

-
Access:
- Industry Profiles
- Statistics
- Analysis
- Search Tips

-
Explore:
- Company Profiles
- Marketing Data
- Radius Searches
- Search Tips

- Find guidance
for:
- How to start, finance, or manage your small business
- Gives sample business plans, how-to guides, articles, and websites
- Search Tips

A searchable database of the weekly business publication of the South Bend Tribune back to 1992.
Search Tips
Click here to read the current edition.
- View information
on community clubs, service organizations, and support groups:
- Contact information
- Links to websites as available
- Summaries of services
- Created and maintained by the St. Joseph County Public Library

Clickable tract maps of St. Joseph County allow you to get statistics from the 1980, 1990 and 2000 census.

An online
database of animated, talking picture books which you can read, or
have read to you.
- Find information on:
- U.S. and international authors
- Search authors by nationality, birth/death, subject/genre, & career
- Search Tips

- View a variety of
literature:
- Full-text poems and poetry citations
- Short stories, speeches, and plays
- Biographies, images, and more
- Search Tips

A searchable,
browsable digital version of the 1875
Illustrated Historical Atlas of St. Joseph County, Indiana,
including plat maps, biographies, and engravings.

A searchable, browsable digital version of the 1910 Official Souvenir, 9th Annual Convention, Indiana State Association, B.P.O.E., South Bend, Indiana, featuring text and illustrations of people, businesses, and the community.

A searchable, browsable digital version of the ca. 1910 A Manhood Factory in the Center of South Bend's Greatest Industries, featuring text and illustrations of people, the YMCA, and the community.

A
searchable, browsable digital version of the 1936
Index Map of St. Joseph County, Indiana, showing all
landowners in the unincorporated areas of the county at that time.

![]()
From the New England
Historic Genealogical Society, more than 250 databases of town,
church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to
New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern
Canada.

How to use (pdf)
This
site presents comprehensive genealogy resources including federal
and state census images, military records, immigration and passenger
list records, indexes of vital statistics, and more.

How to use (pdf)
This
site features unique resources such as Revolutionary War pension
files; Freedmen's Bank records; searchable genealogy and history books;
and PERSI, The Periodical Source Index. It also includes many federal
censuses.

More than 40
searchable databases related to Indiana history, including indexes
to county, church, military, and school records.
Ask your
SJCPL librarian to put in a user name and password to give you access to
this site.

How to use (pdf)
An index
to obituaries that appeared in the South Bend Tribune, from
1913 through the present, for people with ties to St. Joseph County.

An index
to Service Notes printed in the South Bend Tribune during
the World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War eras.

How to use (pdf)
View,
navigate, print, and download historic birds'-eye view maps of
Indiana.
Genealogy resources selected by SJCPL
librarians.

Indiana's INSPIRE
provides full text for over 1,820 general reference, business, consumer
health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. Full text back
files go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract
back files go as far back as January of 1984.

Search Tips

Search Tips

Search Tips

Search Tips

Search Tips

- For better search results on the SBT archives, use 'and' between the search terms.
- Search Tips
![]() | ![]() | |
| Available on any computer anywhere | Available on any computer with a valid St.
Joseph County Public Library card | Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public
Library |


